Moving STEEM.GLOBAL Seed Node to a Larger Server! (Complete!)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemglobal7 years ago (edited)

STEEM.GLOBAL Update: Moving Day!



My Apologies For Neglecting This Task!

As of about an hour ago I've started preparing the STEEM.GLOBAL site and server data to move to a large, more capable hosted server in an effort to restore the service.

Seemingly the 8GB shared VPS server the STEEM.GLOBAL site and wallet was operating on top of no longer have the resources to power the project, thus the needed upgrades have been procured. Will update this post once the server and wallet are back online to allow folks STEEM withdrawals. If you're in a rush to get your STEEM off of the STEEM.GLOBAL wallet and would like me to process it manually while the server move and wallet rebuild/resync is happening please click on the image below and make a comment on that post:

By effectively doubling the RAM of the server to 16 GB and adding 2 more CPU cores to the box it's my hope that I'll be able to move the web server and get the steemd wallet running before I go to sleep. I'd much rather have my seed node and faucet wallet working even if it is a few hours of potentially frustrating work, saves me processing all the withdrawals manually while also helping the network with more seed nodes allowing easier propagation of the STEEM networks blockchain. New server information below!

The new STEEM.GLOBAL server specs are listed below:

  • CPU: Intel 4 Core CPU @ 2.9Ghz

  • RAM: 16 GB ECC RAM

  • DISK: 400 GB SSD

  • NET: 1 Gbit/s

Not a powerhouse box by any means but we'll see if it works. Roughly double the power and storage of the previous server with a faster connection should hopefully be enough to run what I need. The way steemd operates as a program is that a single CPU thread is used to process all of the functionality. Given that this server has 4 cores and multiple threads shouldn't be an issue running the STEEM wallet and web server on top of it.

Will Update This Post Once Operational

I'll be checking on the progress of the STEEM.GLOBAL server move here shortly and update this post once the move is completed and the wallet is back online, available for withdrawals to finish paying out the currently retired faucet as well as once again distributing STEEM network blocks to new clients.

Update 1

The compile went well on STEEM and downloaded the block_log from @gtg. Now trying a --resync on the program to get it caught up and ready to start functioning as a seed node / faucet wallet.

Update 2

Server is running STEEM client succesfuly by the look of it..! I'll be moving the web server over shortly if everything goes proper! Wish me luck folks! I'll update below once the site is operational again!

UPDATE 3

STEEM.GLOBAL is BACK ONLINE and WITHDRAWALS ARE ONLINE!!!

Have a great evening or day! Until next time

PS: There is still one prize left on the @Tippy test post


Click the image above to visit the post and try and win yourself an official @KLYE upvote on a post of your choice! Have a gooder folks.

Good luck and thank you for helping me test things!


VOTE @KLYE FOR WITNESS

steemit.com/~witnesses
Sort:  

You got my upvote!! Good luck!

Thanks Jack!

nice post @klye
follow me and voteup @hattaarshavin

When will you be accepting more faucet sign ups again? Joined a few days ago but haven't seen any news on it yet. NET: 1 Gbit/s drools

I've got to get the server moved, the seed node and wallet going for withdrawals then going to be focusing on finishing @tippy before I get around to building a new faucet on STEEM.GLOBAL..

Hate estimating due dates as I always fail to hit them so I'll ballpark and say before christmas? :D

Totally understand that working as a QA Engineer due dates are BLAH :D Thanks for the feedback Klye look forward to what you build in the coming months

i love bitcoin. please follow me

Please don't ask for follows in people's posts man. cmon! :P

ok I love bitcoin, i also find future coin. In mining

How to set up that?

What are you referring to? The STEEM wallet? Or the site itself? You'll need a linux system, over 8 GB of RAM, a stable net connection, An apache or nginx web server and a custom WP plugin that I wrote for withdrawals through woocommerce of SBD.. If you were referring to the site.

The STEEM wallet setup method can be found here: https://steem.io/documentation/how-to-build/

It's good to see you're making updates and taking care of business! I look forward to seeing how everything works out and I'm sure the new specs can handle it. Thanks for sharing :)

i love bitcoin please follow me

thank , upvote !!

감사합니다.

I upvoted you. Happy.

Thanks for the info and i hope everything workout 100% all the best

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62521.03
ETH 3025.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97