First Time Leaving the US... Canada Here I Come !

in #steemgirls8 years ago

Location: Montréal, Canada



Ready to hit the bars when we passed this beautiful light sculpture outside the Canadian Olympic building


Wow, wow, wow! I have got to tell you this was such an amazing city. Although I have much farther travels on my horizon my itch to leave the country has finally been fulfilled! So, obviously the best part as an 18 year old US citizen was the drinking age. I had a ton of fun bar hopping with my friends, getting my very own bottle of champagne, and trying every yummy drink I cam across.


Very yummy, Moscow mule at Moxie's restaurant. 10/10 would recommend both the place and the drink.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Cosmos at Le Confessional, can you believe there were no legit confessional booths !? The advertisements were very misleading


Culturally, it wasn't an extreme shock by any means, but it was very interesting being able to compare and contrast. A lot of the foods would not be easily found in the US but are must haves once you cross the border, and the main language switches to French (although thankfully most people are bilingual). I think the funniest difference food/drink wise was trying out Bloody Caesars, the Canadian version of Bloody Mary, the difference being it is made using CLAMato juice (clam & tomato) and served with old bay as the seasoning. I've got to say I see how it could appeal to some but I'm much more of a sweet drank type gal ;). The next time I'm there I have got to try poutine, it's a shame I didn't this trip but I'm still slightly unsure of what exactly cheese curds means, hahah. I think by far my favorite part was the art, so many brick walls had beautiful murals and creative graffiti. I love sight seeing and this was an awesome place to walk around and see all the sights. They had the cutest apartments, maybe some day I'll have the pleasure of living in one ! :D


Beautiful murals like this were a frequent sight throughout the city

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Peace and Love,

Miki

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55819.41
ETH 2522.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32