I Now Accept SBD as Payment for My Tiny Online Business

in #steemgigs6 years ago (edited)

image

Last year, I discovered a Singapore-based online marketplace app called Carousell. You can easily sell your second hand items (and even new items) there by just posting like you would in Instagram. The interface is really social media friendly and intuitive.

I am selling my pre-loved items from clothes to books and even some electronic gadgets. I did this because I'm trying to become a minimalist. My ultimate dream is to travel the world long term and so I have to let go of the excess stuff if I ever become a nomadic lass.

I am not an entrepreneur and the last time I really sold something was way back in my pre-teen years. My playmate and I (yeah I'm a late bloomer) decided to do a fun business and sell sago't gulaman (Filipino drinks) and halo-halo (our version of snow ice dessert) in our neighborhood during our summer break. It was fun and neighbors bought our products.

CarouselI makes it easy to sell any products. Using this seller mobile app does not require professional business skills. And it's so easy to use that anyone can make a sale. You also do not pay Carousell a fee for posting and there is no middleman so you take home your entire profit.

Some of the items I have sold are:

My pre-loved boxing gloves which I used a few times. I thought I would be regularly boxing but I realized that it wasn't the work out for me as I easily lost A LOT of weight and that wasn't my goal.
image


My pre-loved swimwear which I only used once as it doesn't look good on a petite girl like me. Makes my torso look shorter. So instead of just keeping it inside my cabinet, I turned it into cash.
image


My old ipod nano which is still in really good condition because I have just kept it in storage for a long time. I sold this at 75% off its original price. It's not a lot but better than nothing, right? Plus it's been with me for YEARS!
image


One thing I like about the app is you can only provide reviews to a seller or a buyer if a transaction has been confirmed through the app's chat. This is a great way to validate if the sellers and buyers are legit. So far, I had positive reviews from all of my customers:

image

Oh no, now you know my real nick name! :D

I'm still selling a lot of items ranging from brand new make up (I bought on impulse which is rare) to pre-loved bags and dresses. If you're in the Philippines, just download the Carousell app and search for my username there - ulanph. Being a Steemian, I now accept SBD. This is also a unique way for me to promote Steemit to those checking out my page.

image

Sort:  

Wow! Galing! Madiskarte talaga. Mala-lazada, sis? Payment through bank deposit, credit card, and now including sbd? Full payment muna? Sorry matanong. My mother is asking about drop-shipping. I wonder if it's almost the same?

Hahaha ok lang sis. Mas similar sya to the Shopee app pero ikaw bahala sa payment method. Wala kasi talagang transaction si Carousell in between so sayo lahat pero madali gamitin app as in organized. So madalas pag new buyer and big item, meet up. Pag okay ung reviews OK sakin bank transfer. Up to you talaga.

About drop shipping, I have heard of ipero iba ata yun kasi hindi mo items ung binebenta mo. Pero haven't tried.

Oh! Para talagang marketplace where you mind your own stall. Masilip nga in the future. Baka pwede mga baked products hehe. Easier than joining fb groups and posting there. Kasi either that or I have to research drop shipping. Di ko maharap because of my health and steemit hehe. Thanks sa helpful post and answers!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Awesome. Thanks!

post is very useful, not in vain I read

Thanks @asizz I believe the Carousell app is also available in your country, Indonesia :)

there are of course @wanderlass, maybe me and you can better know each other through fb or whatshap if you wish. @wanderlass sorry if i have the wrong word.😄

I was alone to read your intro and I translated it into Indonesian with google, I am interested and like, maybe because you do not see your face so I'm curious, or maybe because of others, and I like your writing style, polite .. reflects your loving and clever

Thanks for the compliment. This is my only social media account and I have deactivated FB :)

oo .. I am sorry, I do not know, it means we can chating via steemit, through the application of discord of course, whether sister please?

greetings @wanderlass
there's also steembay here in steemit:
https://steemit.com/steembay/@steembay/daily-report-2018-01-14

Greetings @koskl !
Thank you for sharing this, it looks like a cool way to sell. I'll check how it works :)

high tech business girl !!

Hehe you should also put up your graphic design business in exchange for SBD :)

very nice post!!!

You make an online Bussiness in your own, that great thing

Thanks and the app makes it easy to do :)

Wow great items! I didn't know you took boxing too. One of my favorite sport! Good luck on your business!

Thanks! Boxing is really popular here and there are several boxing studios. But the classes involve too much cardio which isn't suitable for me. It's fun though and I can see why you enjoy it :)

I am interested in using carousell apps, here there are also such applications, but the name is different but the same purpose, where to sell and buy used or new items. and I just found out you're a great boxer.

You should try it :) It's a convenient way to earn extra money and you just need your phone.
And I'm not really a boxer hehe i just tried a few times :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97