You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Philosophy 101: How to Read Plato?

in #steemgigs7 years ago (edited)

thank for this @gigantomachia. I will find time to finish this and I will get back to you once I do. Also, please send me the links for Heidegger and Gadamer's rereading of Plato. I will give you a response to that too in due time. Appreciate the effort to initiate a discourse.

Sort:  

Hey @tianiclao, no worries. It is easy to get sucked into the tradition for sure. I was "lucky" to have a professor that studied with Gadamer, albeit briefly. That said, most of Heidegger and Gadamer's work is still copyrighted, i.e., you have to actually buy the books. Here is a list of where to start:

Heidegger: "Being and Time", "Contributions to Philosophy", "Plato's Sophist", and "The Origin of the Work of Art". (I think you might really enjoy that last one).

Gadamer: "Truth and Method", "The Enigma of Health", and "Plato's Dialectical Ethics".

Enjoy!

Thanks! I have only finished Heidegger's Being and Time and Contributions to Philosophy. For Gadamer, I only came across "Truth and Method". I will surely find time to read the rest. When I finish, we can engage in a better discourse. I'm looking forward to that, @gigantomachia.

A lot depends on your opinion about Plato's Letters. Many argue they are not authentic, but then these are the same people that want to argue Plato IS giving us his philosophy. I am in the camp that understands them as authentic, in large part because having read all of Plato's works, with a background in reading attic Greek, shows me that there are a LOT of contradictions within what Plato writes if one attempts to suggest there is a consistent philosophy therein.

Good stuff!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66146.36
ETH 3281.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70