The #steemgigs train has been derailed by tag abuse...

in #steemgigs7 years ago (edited)

This is getting ridiculous...

Boston_&_Maine_train_-1138_derailed,_Keene_NH_(2)_(14227631718).jpg

I was going to write another of my 'This week in #steemgigs'posts, but out of the first 50 posts in the feed, I found ONE actual service offer/request... Here it is:
English & Spanish Ghostwriting services by @fiserman
@surpassinggoogle, @steemgigs, PLEASE go give this guy a fat upvote for being one of the very few who are tying to uphold the tag and use it correctly.


The #steemgigs tag was created by @surpassinggoogle to give freelancers a place to offer their services and products, and for people to request products and services from others. Now I can only speak from my understanding of a tag I've curated since the beginning, but I'm fairly sure it was not created for contests, or the Philippines community, maybe I'm wrong. Many are seeing big upvotes from @surpassinggoogle & @steemgigs on the tag, or those who are coming in through your promotion efforts, and disrespecting the tag you have put so much time and effort into.

Any post that has nothing to do with freelancing or the tag itself, is spam on that tag. I'll continue to say that until I'm blue in the face, and what I see today on the #steemgigs tag is literally 98% spam. There is only one person who can truly make a change... cough Terry cough...

When "the nicest asshole on Steemit" tells someone they are using a tag wrong, it's just met with defensive anger. No one wants to be told they don't understand something, no matter how nice it's said...


If you're reading this, and you are one who is posting irrelevant content to the tag, please stop. One of these days, I'm going to have enough steempower to actually do something about all the spam myself, and at that point, I doubt I'll be as nice of an asshole...

Sort:  

Thanks for the shoutout! It's a shame that other freelancers are not participating in #steemgigs.

It's not really that other people aren't using the tag correctly, it's just that so many people are posting stuff that doesn't belong that it becomes very difficult to find things that do.

Sorry about the link. It's been fixed.

I am now learning about your struggle!

I'm really happy that you scolded me, because 1 - I learned something and 2 - I found @battleborn!

Oh, @battleborn is going to be the shit! Dungeons & Dragons like Steemit has never seen! I'd love to hear what you think about it. I have to get down to posting all the characters I have rolled up so I can get the game started!

So let me just try and explain how eager I have been for something like this -

When I won @reseller's RNG Steemit RPG - I roleplayed my victory - with pinache I might add!

I may have roleplayed so well that I scared him off of hosting the random number generated 'roleplaying' contest.

I then took my character wizard into the #motu universe, looking for challenge!

Now, I see you've seen, CHARacter wIZARD is back, just in time to provide @battleborn with some low level quests!

Funny how you're also abusing the same tag - going by what you said.

I'm talking directly about the tag... I'm confused about how you think I'm abusing anything...

The #steemgigs tag was created by @surpassinggoogle to give freelancers a place to offer their services and products, and for people to request products and services from others.

That's what you said right?
Is that what your post is all about?
If no, then you've also abused the tag. It's called logic

The post is ABOUT THE TAG. of course it's going to be on said tag. Please learn a bit about what hashtags are for, then come talk to me about abuse.

Lol. You definitely will never understand what I'm trying to tell you.
If it were to be a court, you would've understood

You're right, I'll probably never understand what your point is, seeing as all the tags on this post are relevant.

I used 5 relevant tags to categorize my post. I'm #writing about my #curation work being made incredibly difficult because of #spam on the #steemgigs and #steemgig tags...

Anger and intolerance are the enemies of correct understanding.

- Mahatma Gandhi

And commenting nothing but a quote makes one look like they have no original thoughts...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91