WHO IS A STEEM WITNESS ? | BENEFITS OF VOTING FOR A WITNESS & HOW TO VOTE FOR A WITNESS

in #steemgigs7 years ago (edited)

If you've been on steemit for a while , im sure you must have come across steem.supply and if you've not heard about it before or used it before, you can check it out here.

Steem.supply is a tool that helps you keep track of your steemit earnings and gives you a tabular presentation of your rewards (both from post and comments). It's cool and easy to use

Steem.supply was made available by @dragosroua, a witness on Steem Blockchain who have been contributing to this great community and giving us daily snapshots of the cryptocurrency market. You can check out his blog here.

BUT WHO IS A WITNESS ?

First of all, there is nothing like STEEMIT WITNESS, It's called STEEM WITNESS.

Simple explanation:A steem witness is a person who runs nodes to create blocks that is needed for steemit.com and also provides prices feeds. Steem uses a process known as DELEGATED PROOF OF STAKE or DPOS to delegate witnesses.

These witnesses are voted by steemit account (you and me) and each account on Steemit can only have a maximum of 30 votes.

How to know which witness to vote for

Well, there are actually no clear specifications that I know of, but most times I vote on witnesses who have greatly contributed to Steemit and has affected a lot of people.

Why should care about voting for witnesses

This whole witness thing is just like politics, (not politics remember, I said "just like") because your vote counts.

The rank of a witness depends on your vote, if you don't vote them in, they won't be there and if you vote the wrong guys in, they'll be among the top bad witnesses.

WHO CAN BECOME A WITNESS?

Well, last time I checked, anyone can become a witness. But there are some qualities you should possess.

You need to be trusted and have some powerful and reliable server with good bandwidth to run the steem node.

There are more to this, but I'll explain in another article, but that's like a simple explanation.

So basically you can vote for any witness, just make you make the right voting choice. I only vote witnesses whose project or tools I use every day.

To vote, just go https://steemit.com/~witnesses and vote on your favourite witness.

list of witnesses i have voted


  1. Jesta creator steemdb
  2. good-karma creator of esteem app
  3. curie Helper of good writers
  4. jerrybanfield the man who brought me back to steemit after i abandoned my account
  5. klye brain behind steem.global
  6. utopian-io Supporter of contributions to open sourecee projects
  7. yabapmatt
  8. joseph
  9. dragosroua creator of steem.supply
  10. blockbrothers

Witnesses i will vote later today

  1. steemgigs
  2. someguy123

Below is a screenshot of top 10 Witnesses

witness.PNG

if you have someone you wanna vote for an the person is not among the top 50, just search for the witness's name as seen in the screenshot below.

vote witnes.PNG

i am sure this write up was simple enough , so Vote Wisely




click the picture below to follow @stach

U5dqttaR1c1yPbeMDmGxTyQpAdR6kMK.gif

click the picture below to register on bitshares

U5drCPbgWm1A7mGee7d92LP4ZatYreh.gif

Sort:  

Wow... I found it very helpful sir. Little mis-spelling or pronunciation of word can have great effect ooo.

First of all, there is nothing like STEEMIT WITNESS, It's called STEEM WITNESS.

Thank you.. I would not have noticed if not for that. Now i know the correct thing.

You're welcome sir

Thanks for this update sir
I was just reading up on this...you have simplified everything

Yes, I had to drop this today because someone asked

boosta

I really appreciate this info bro...

I appreciate you checking out my blog

Honestly you opened my eyes to what witness really means because have being confused before now. However I have heard a lot of good report about curie and now that he is in your list again, I feel it is sufficient reason to vote for him as my witness. #teamcurie

Yes, I think that's good reason to vote, that's actually the reason I voted for them too

mehn thanks alot ,i have been searching yo understand this witness since like morning and you just did it for me easily .i wanted to vote @steemgigs because he his hekping people ,i have to go and do that

Waiting to hear more on witnessing in your next post. Thank you

I am englightened. Thanks

I'd definitely vote, this guys have really contributed to this platform. Thanks for sharing. Kudos @samstickkz

We have a new Nigerian witness, I will try vote for him, I heard him speak on steemnaira discord and he seems to have good plans.

What's his name

His username is @doctorvee I just got it from someone.

OK, thank you sir. I'll contact him asap

Oga stop "this sir" thing, hope say you dey prepare to dey Abuja on 10th February))

Wow, enugu meet up is same date sir. Might not be able to sir

Oww too bad, how come this thing clashed like this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40