PPE (personal protective equipment)

in #steemgigs7 years ago (edited)

PPE (PERSONAL PROTECTIVE EQUIPMENT)
image
source

Story Introduction

It happened sometime last year, I was on my student industrial work experience scheme (SIWES) at a pharmaceutical company. I was placed in the **quality control unit **, my supervisor attached was pregnant and as such was told not to carry out some experimental procedures, hence I was bombarded with so much in the first two weeks, while she directed me, as I became her hands in handling the instruments, so as not to affect the child.
What she does: Analysis of drug products at the bulk stage in-process stage and at the finished stage. Also analysis of drug materials used as active pharmaceutical ingredient (API)

API means substances In a pharmaceutical drug that makes it biologically active.
So one day during an experimental analysis of a drug’s API, I was making use of concentrated Hydrochloric acid at the fuming chamber, and in discussion with a friend at the laboratory. After neutralization and adding ferric ammonium citrate to stable the mixture.
Then I was to pipette the solution, the pipette drawer was not working properly, so I decided to make use of my mouth to suck it out, while watching the mark on the pipette, still I was in conversation,
Before I knew it, I had swallowed the mixture which contained the acid, my friend who distracted me quickly brought in water, for me. I was in luck because I had already diluted the acid and the ferric ammonium citrate made it reduced, it tasted sour and soapy.
Environmental hazard.

WHAT IS PPE

When carrying out work, hazards occur in every workplace in so many forms, ranging from sharp edges, flying sparks, chemicals, and a myriad of other dangerous situations.
PPE can be regarded as clothing material or as a gear which is/are used in the laboratory or field as a means to protect wearers from hazards.

It is also regarded as a system used by scientists, administrative officers to reduce work place hazard, which could put the scientist in harm.

types of PPE

PPE are of different types and each type requires different means of protective procedures.

It includes :
• Protective covering (lab cloth)
image
source

• Foot wear
• Eye google
image
source

• Face mask
• Nose mask
• Helmet etc
image
source

It is not advisable for young scientist to carry out any experimental procedures without putting on the PPE, and I feel employers, school lecturers should ensure this.

Story 2,

I remember also carrying out an experimental analysis with the use of ammonia, you know how choking it can get when diffusion occurs, so I forgot to check the switch to the fuming chamber, after opening the concentrated ammonia, the whole laboratory was in no time chocking. I was in haste and forgot to check things out first.
Thank goodness my nose mask was on, but I chased out others from the lab.
Also I remember the story, my friend once shared, he said

I was in a tunnel down below under ground, a stone fell on me but my helmet shielded me, I felt strong Pain, I only imagine if my helmet was not on me, probably more damage would have been done.

Now You See why putting on PPE is very important.

importance of PPE

PPE is important in reducing environmental hazard that may occur during experimental procedures now even where engineering controls and safe systems of work have been applied, some
hazards might remain. These injuries can be in form of the eyes, nose body, head etc
PPE is needed in these cases to reduce the risk.

What is required for PPE

• Get a good knowledge of PPE
• Respect your PPE, do not misuse it, keep it well and it will just do the same to you.
• Make use of your PPE before any experimental procedures, this is to reduce the risk of hazards.
• Go for PPE training when necessary.

image
source

So when next you want to engage on that experimental procedures, make sure your personal protective equipment is fully on.

Thanks for reading
I am @magdnrobinson
love will fall a frozen heart

reference

Sort:  

You have mind ooooo... Nice post

Lol 😂 😂
How I for do.

When I was in the University, we always used the lab. We were mandated to always put on lab coats, even with slippers, "just wear the lab coat", the lab technologist would say.

It gave this false sense of protection from the hazards from the lab, but we've had series of accidents, where acid had burnt people's hands and feet.

This issue of properly protecting oneself from the hazards of work areas should be taken seriously.

Thanks for sharing @magdnrobinson

Well written...

Saw your post promoted on Nigeria curation Sunday...
Kip steeming bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65792.18
ETH 2695.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90