The Old Dog Begs: I Need Help In A Specific Cat egory

in #steemgigs7 years ago (edited)

I Cat egorically Need Help!

Springtime, it's a time to plant, a time to look forward to growing some of your own vegetables, a time to CHASE AFTER CATS THAT USE YOUR PLANTER BOXES AS A PUBLIC TOILET LEAVING YOU TO CLEAN OUT THE MESS? 

Yes my friends you get the picture! I live on the side of a mountain and despite the fact that we have our family hobby farm on the other side of the valley my best bet is to grow some veggies in the planter boxes that you see in the picture.


I would love to walk out on my balcony and pick vegetables. Is the dream over?

The problem is that for some reason it seems that ALL the cats in the neighborhood have decided to do their business in them. We don't even own a cat. I don't need one because they're all here anyway! Now @lellabird60 says that she wants to get rid of the planter boxes and not grow anything this year! SAD 

I Told My Wife That The Steemit Community Would Have An Answer!

Marriage is a partnership and since my partner wants to get rid of the little veggie garden we are now in negotiations! I need a solution to the cat problem! FAST!

The best solution(s) funny or serious gets a prize! Please don't let me down!

What do You Say?

  • Have you had cat toilet problems?
  • Do you have a solution?
  • Did I put this post in the right cat egory?


I hope that you enjoyed this cat ivating article!


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Remember, I reward the best comment(s) on each of my posts with my "The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" program! So please re-steem and follow so that we can spread the wealth!     

Sort:  

Get a guard dog. Cats hate pooping in places where there is a dog around.

This might work becasue @lellabird60 wants a dog!

I second the idea to raise a dog a nice little pug!! May be your cost to benefit ratio will distort :))

Spoken like a true accountant! Hmm let me think about it!

Ha ha ha :))

I Have Just Paid Off My First Steem Gig!



Please Check Your Wallet!

Thank you very much, @kus-knee! You are a generous man.

Solution#2
( incase dog needs some assistance;)
Spray citrus essential oil on/ around your pots and balcony.. Cats hate the smell, and the smell is uplifting when you smell it....So you might get many inspirational thoughts while you stand out there.
I know that this has been paid already, but im just trying to get an understandung of #steemgig......And all things steeemit
Happy SatNite;)

Great ideas and thanks for adding altruistically to the solutions! Welcome to Steemit and please stop by again!

No;
Yes,
Kind of;

A man of few words. Right to the point!

always Sir

Può mettere le rete a torno vasi my friend. (;

Thanks for giving me some advice!

Oh this is too easy- just put up a little sign on each planet that says 'cats please poop here' - cats never do what they are told- problem solved : )

or try some of these tricks.....http://www.wikihow.com/Prevent-Cats-from-Pooping-in-the-Garden

I Have Just Paid Off My First Steem Gig!



Please Check Your Wallet!

Thank you Kus-Knee

I like the sign idea! I'll check the link too!

Get a kids water pistol, every time you see a cat approaching town, much less your place, squirt. With practice you may eventually get to hit them. Once you can succeed, especially if you catch them in the act, they will lean to go elsewhere, then you can hang your gun over the fireplace to show what a marksman you are.

This sounds like a fun and practical solution! Perhaps with a combination of several of these suggestions we can save the day!

I Have Just Paid Off My First Steem Gig!



Please Check Your Wallet!

Thanks , it wasn't necessary, I was just being a smart arse. I hope you solve your problem.

It was funny! I'm just having fun and spreading the wealth!!!

I suggest making a "box" out of chicken wire. It's thin enough to not hinder light flow, easily moveable, and if you want to keep it their permanently you could make a nice wooden frame with a hinge to open and close like a door. Keeps cats out, lets sunshine in, is easily removable if you have company.

I Have Just Paid Off My First Steem Gig!



Please Check Your Wallet!

Here is a DIY guide if you don't know what I'm talking about. Basically make a box out of these.

http://www.ribbonsandglue.com/diy-chicken-wire-photo-frame.html

Wow it sounds like a lot of work but nothing worth while is easy!

Honestly it's very simple. I believe you could accomplish it in at most a couple of hours or hire anyone that has ever raised chickens to do it for a very reasonable fee. The materials are dirt cheap, unless you try to get elegant with the wood, but ultimately you just need some boards to make the frame and a power screw driver. Put the wire in between two boards, screw them together, and then cut off the excess wire. Screw the walls together to make the box, and set the box over the top of your plants.

Yes, I guess I've just become lazy! I used to deign and build furniture for a living so I should be able to pull it off! Thanks for the pep talk!

It's all perspective really. Maybe you were just being "lazy" to allow someone else a chance to earn a little extra cash? Plenty of farmers out there needing any help they can get I'm sure.

That's a real problem dear friend @ kus-knee, I do not know if they worked with cats, but with dogs working wonderfully, in the place where cats approach their neseciades put a transparent bottle filled with water, for some reason This helps the dogs and does not get close to the place I do not know if it works with the cats. It seems silly but it turns out
I hope this is the solution to your problem dear friend

Yes I see those clear plastic bottles filled with water all over the place here and someone told me that it keeps cats away. Thanks for reminding me!

I Have Just Paid Off My First Steem Gig!



Please Check Your Wallet!

wow what a great view you have from your balcony

Yes we are very blessed/spoiled!

Build brackets and hang your planters off the railing of your veranda. :)

Now now @rebeccaryan the cats in Canada do still jump don't they? Here they do!

Hahaha! I think that the average cat isn't stupid when it comes to their personal comfort and they are opportunistic when it comes to convenience.
I've personally witnessed them making great use of flower beds and sandboxes that are neatly trimmed out on the ground and spacious. I've never seen a cat, jump up and balance on a railing, then balance themselves while they squish into a crowded box of plants that's suspended over open air, try to dig, turn around and squat...
If you don't want to hang your planter boxes, then I would be tempted to plant your plants and cover the dirt with larger stones so that no dirt is visible. The stones won't hurt the plants or you but they also won't let the cats dig. You could do the same with netting. Plant little plants, fish the stalks through the net. The plants will grow, but the cats won't be able to dig because the netting will be in their way. Make your planters non-cat convenient and they'll ignore you. LOL!

I Have Just Paid Off My First Steem Gig!



Please Check Your Wallet!

Thank you @kus-knee! What a lovely "unexpected surprise". You really didn't have to do that, I love to help whenever I can. Your cat challenge, unfortunately is a problem faced by many people because others think that it's ok to let their pets roam free. Fine if you don't have neighbours, not fine if you don't. I do hope it works out for you.
On another note, I finally got a chance to read some of @lellabird60's posts and my conclusion is that we share a very similar health journey. There's a tonne of research being released now that links cannabinoid therapy as being able to drastically lower gut inflammation. If I can help in anyway please don't hesitate to ask...a small dose daily is a very preventative strategy.

Thanks a lot @rebeccaryan for your kindness and willingness to help!

Anytime. It's a standing offer with no expiry...

Thank you very much dear friend @ kus-knee, this is very kind of you
have a beautiful day

You are full of solutions. I have to give some a try! Last year @lellabird60 put chicken wire and spike all over the place and they found a way none the less!

Wow! These cats sound ignorant, especially if they have been brazen enough to push their way through chicken wire @kus-knee. lol
They aren't playing by the rules.
Full on tea tree oil and fire crackers maybe in order for this predicament.

Tea tree oil! I have that stuff and firecrackers should be available on the black market!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64052.62
ETH 2530.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65