#Steemgigs - Nilagang Mani

in #steemgigs6 years ago

Nilagang mani or boiled peanuts are one of the favorite past time snacks in the Philippines. We enjoy eating this while watching tv, simply talking, bonding, sitting on a porch watching motorists pass by or even while taking long trips sell by the vendors.

Last night, while having our grocery for the house, I saw peanuts in the vegetable section. I took a couple of handfuls of this and put in a plastic to weigh in for the price but changed my mind and add more to share it with my flatmates. I know they also miss boiled peanuts so I bought a kilo of it.

peanut.jpg

Boiled peanut is easy to make. You just need salt, water for this, boil until the peanut is cooked.

After our dinner of luncheon meat, a canned luncheon meat Maling and salted eggs mix with sliced onions and with a new twist poured with a mixture of soy sauce and vinegar, a recipe I got from my bother in law's girlfriend, I boiled the peanut because I was expecting it to cook for about 2 to 3 hours.

I put about 3 liters of water with salt and put the washed peanuts in baking soda to get rid of the dirt.

In my estimated 2 - 3 hours of boiling, my peanuts are finally ready to eat.

my share.jpg

My share.

I got my share and left the rest on the gas stove where everyone can get it. It is our practice in our flat that once the food is on​ the table or stove, it is for everyone. I ate little last night because I was afraid I might get stomach aches because it is already late.

TRIVIA: Peanut is​ not nuts. It is legumes.

jovema.png

Sort:  

I can't imagine how we can boiled it.
Because if we boiled the peanuts it's become softer and tasteless 😥

We just add salt while it is boiling. :)

O man, you gotta try this. It'll be much better than you imagined.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow! This is cool

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-28T10:13:54
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 653.91/800.00
Total Photos: 107
Total comments: 11
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I miss this hmm gonna look for some tomorrow

My favourite snack with boiled cardava (saba) banana. Yummy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64970.70
ETH 3238.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64