SteemGG - My Impressions & Suggestions

in #steemgg6 years ago
Steemgg.com the Steem gaming website just opened today. I'm excited for this platform and have few things to say on its development!

AhmadmangaCovers_AUG-Gaming04.png

Steemgg is something I dreamed of, for a long time!! I knew it was possible. HTML5 gaming is gaining popularity already and since STEEM have things like dLive/dTube it's not a stretch to also have itch.io-like website on the blockchain.

STEEMGG Announcement Post

AMAZING IDEA!

I can't describe how much I'm happy!
There is finally a dedicated STEEM gaming platform!!

Steemgg offers a way for players to play games and reward developers with STEEM upvotes. Currently, only HTML5 games are accepted and there are (not-so-)strict rules to follow then your games will be available for new audience!! I'm so excited about the planned long-term features.

For now, my impression on the implementation, that it's not the best it could be yet.

The Games

JumpFattyScreenshot.png
Jump Fatty

By the time of this writing, the platform was just released and it only have two games on it. One is Platformer & the other is Tower Defense. I liked the JUMP FATTY, but Towner Defence felt almost unbearably slow. Both games are far from perfect and I hope to find time to list how each can be improved.

For now, there isn't much variety of games,

That will change soon. Developers are flooding to their Discord server now, hopefully they are working on their games. It won't be long for us to see Steem Galaga or Steem Defender on the website!

Something I liked about how the site handle games, is that it's completely made for STEEM Blockchain users and requires developers to put their username somewhere in the game itself. That doesn't only work as a proof system that the developer completely owns the game and can update it if needed, it also acts as STEEM promotional campaign!!

Me: "I don't have the source code for the game I want to upload. I can't embed my username in it. Though the game already has "ahmadmanga" icon which I think is close enough. What do you think?"

Steemgg: "Sorry, looks like embedding user name needs to be a hard and fast rule, no exception"

By the way, the system takes %25 cut of the payout. I think that is fair as a start, but if you're going to put your game on Steemgg put that in your mind.

Impressions on UX

I love the simplicity of the site design, I don't think that should be changed. But at the same time, I feel the UX is very bad overall... It's kind of expected as a new website and the first one of its kind but we can't improve if we don't know what's wrong in the first place.

SteemGG-Layout.png
Main page, as it looked to me.

The slide show consists of pixel art images, some of them are great but it felt they look good only on small screen. Especially the animated first one. It felt too showy for something to see when you first land on the website. For me, it felt as of Steemgg tries to have similar look & feel to Gamejolt without insuring everything of the website supports that look-and-feel.

As I navigated the website, the footer continued to follow my screen obstructing the lower parts of the page. The only way I found to get to "browse games" page is by clicking "show more," I expected to find a link to it on the header next to which would be more intuitive.

In my user-page Rewards section sends me to iframed page of Blocktrades. What? Why? The styles of that page obviously doesn't sit right with the rest of steemgg.com I feel that part could be better implemented but I don't know how.

All of above is just my opinion, and I'd like to know if you think otherwise. Maybe I only feel that because I'm too focused to look for flaws (as I want the website to become perfect.)

I tested on Windows 8.1 with the latest(?) Google Chrome browser.
It might look different on other systems.

My Projects

As I'm already a Gamedev, I have some games I made years ago I'd like to put on SteemGG. I decided to edit them a little before publishing which will take some time. Stay tuned for @ahmadmanga's upcoming updates!!

What do you think

Please tell me if you agree or disagree with my impressions & suggestions on steemgg. This is a good initiative and I'm happy I'm here at the release day!!

All post images are (made with) screenshots of the website and games on it.
Sort:  

Thanks you very much for your feedback. It's very important and we'll treat it seriously.

BTW, I agree the UX needs to be polished and the elements/widgets need to be unified. We'll try our hard to improve it step by step.

First of all, we need to find a good artist and a good UI designer first...

Finally, sorry. The slides are pictured by a programmer...me...terrible...

:)

Happy that you're taking this into consideration.

And about this:

Finally, sorry. The slides are pictured by a programmer...me...terrible...

It's not really that bad, actually great if it was the first time you draw something like this :)

Excellent article. I learned a lot of interesting and cognitive. I'm screwed up with you, I'll be glad to reciprocal subscription))

Thanks Ahmad, really appreciate your review. We will definitely review the UI design in the near future. Please keep those suggestion coming.

In the meantime, hopefully we will get more games on the platform to solve the not enough games problem. We are counting on game devs like you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79