Procrastination Simulator - What was updated for SteemGG ver.

in #steemgg6 years ago

TitleProcSimGG.png

Since I learned about SteemGG I wanted to put this game on the platform. Procrastination Simulator is my first complete Interactive Fiction but it was still full of typos and probably inconsistencies.

So I made a big update before publishing it on SteemGG. Changing the look & feel and rewriting about half of the story. Some writing errors still remained though and that's what I'll work on in the next update,

Procrastination Simulator

Is Interactive story that puts the player in place of a lazy game developer. And all the sidetracking involved when trying to keep working on a project. There are two endings that can be achieved through three main route branching into many different approaches.


WAERNNG: In this post I assume you've played the game,
so there are minor spoilers, it's 10 minute IF so it's easy to play.

Play Here!

ProcSimOpeniningScreen.png


Twine: Branching Story Engine

For this project I used twine 2, an Interactive Fiction engine aimed for writers rather than developers. The works it fits the best are choose-your-adventure-books-like game The engine is simple & limited but for my vision it was the best fit.

With the first version written in 2015 I used Twine's the normal template.

Now that I know more about twine. I leaned a workaround to add images & changed the page CSS beautify its looks. Now choices look more like buttons than hyper links, and the paragraphs are easier to read, and one of the complains that the game is hard to learn has been fixed (probably.)

Procrastination Simulator - Old Version

If you're reading this at the time of posting you might still be able to play 2015 version on itch.io or gamejolt. This version used the original template of Twine2 & my writing ability years ago was clearly inferior.

Here's a screenshot for comparison purposes:

ProcSimItchioVer.png
The first page, no title screen (2015)

ProcSimSteemGGver,.png
The first page after the title screen (2018)

ProcSimItchioClunkiness.png
Comparing the same scene in both versions.

Most likely I'll make a better version after listening to player feedback, unlike the exclusive SteemGG edition. The ultimate ver. will replace the older version on all platforms.

Fans Suggestions

This a list of suggestions from people who played ProSim on SteemGG & commented their feedback. I hope (if God wills) to incorporate some of them in the future.

  • Adding backgrounds is the most wanted feature, that one is hard to do in twine engine and I don't have a good background designer... If there is any volunteer please tell me.
  • It reminded some players of things they do and pile up getting nothing done. That gave me thoughts of adding more side-tracking scenarios, and maybe ways to avoid them. (Thanks @raiserxn)
  • Some players noticed few typos, I haven't noticed any... I hope some beta-reader tells me where are they and how to fix them. I was told my English is good, but it's not great.
  • One player suggested I add SFX, I don't know if that is possible but if I could do that I'm sure the game likabilty will get more

Finally, as some of players guessed:

  • Most of the routes are from my personal experience, there are things I added because I thought they would be fun. If I ever made the ultimate version it'll probably have many situations I haven't been in personally.

If you have any suggestion to add, please tell me in comments!

If you have played the Interactive Fic. I'll be glad to listen to your suggestions.
If you haven't yet. What are you waiting for? It's only ten minutes long!

Finally I hope to make updates to this one, and/or meet you in another game


All images are from both versions of Procrastination Simulator a game I own completely.

Posted on steemgg - The World's 1st Blockchain HTML5 Game Platform

Sort:  

Congratulations, this post was rewarded with a SteemGC Upvote!

Want to meet fellow Steemit gamers and earn upvotes yourself? Join the SteemGC Discord channel!

This post has been upvoted by @opgaming. We like what you're posting, and we want to reward our members who produce quality content. Keep up the good work! If this sounds like the sort of group you want to be a part of, click the image below! We're too OP to be put down!

OPG_2.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57360.64
ETH 3124.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23