Steemit Engagement Challenge S3-W4: The Role of the Various Genders by @seeger

Hello friends,

This is my first attempt to try to take part in the contests that is organized by "Steem for Better Life" Community, here I am attaching a link for those of you who are interested in such contest.


image.png

https://steemit.com/hive-153970/@steembetterlife/steemit-engagement-challenge-season3-week4-the-role-of-the-various-genders


The Role of the Various Genders

For many of us, living in Europe the problem with gender is not really so hot topic like it was last century. When I speak to my mother and we chat about the time when she was young she can remember very well some of the key points that were affecting the life of women in 60-70‘s:

  • The women were not allowed to marry without the permission of her parents if she is younger than 21 years old. In such situation she needed an official permission letter that was submitted with the application for marry.

  • Another interesting fact, when women wanted to work they needed a permission of their husband if they ere married

Of course, nowadays, none of these condition currently in force, but still end of 20th century it was not common that:

  • women were working as firefighter or police.

When I think about that then it seems to be reasonable, for example, when firefighter have to get an injured person out of building caught in fire then it is good to have a strong man who can lift then person and not fragile, slim young woman who possible will not be able to carry a heavy victim.

Even to carry heavy equipment is also difficult physical job.


Social equality or common sense


I think in each situation it should be a common sense when such decisions need to be made and not only looking for the equal right for both gender.

There are many people and sometimes politician who would like to influence the people and possibly to win their voices speculating on such topics. But in general, I would say:

  • There should be no difference in offering job to male or female only gender based, but it should be skills and knowledge based

  • The wages should be equal, because both male and female worker will do the same job, so both should be paid the same.

But then also the same age for retiring and either of them should be able to go to maternity or paternity leave to look after young children.

To conclude, this is very delicate topic and can raise many discussion and conflict, therefore, it should be carefully treated but also, not much to be put in the discussion.


I would like to invite the users to take part in the contest: @noelisdc, @astilem, @afunkycares

Sort:  

The women were not allowed to marry without the permission of her parents if she is younger than 21 years old. In such a situation she needed an official permission letter that was submitted with the application for marrying.

I think ladies should be allowed to make their own decisions and also, there should be gender equality in everywhere we found our self.
When they have such opportunities, they will be able to live happy life and everything will be nice.
Once again, nice post and nice presentation.
I wish you luck in the contest
Greetings

Hi @tymestwo77, sorry for the delay, I was not able to comment or do anything, it looks like when the account is new and has no Steem Power then user is not able to do much. So now I hope that will work because I have powered up something.

First of all, I wanted to thank you for your attention and I am pleased that you liked my post. I agree, we should not make any difference for the person no matter if that is a female or male. But even though we all know and accept that it feels like it is still in mentality of us, human being that often we treat people differently. I wonder if that will ever change?

Hello, I am glad to read an article on the subject seen from the approach of a European, in all cultures has seen an evolution, with small or more doses but evolution.it is nice to see the progress in the role of women, the balance so desired, the struggle continues even in some countries.greetings from Margarita, hey you missed the corresponding labels, you can still fix it.

Hi Margarita, thank you for your lovely words and I would like to apologize for being not able to respond earlier. I was not aware that people should have some Power before they can comment and write a post, that made me search first and discover.

Anyhow, it is interesting how much the way how we treat different gender depends on the society, culture and often on religion. At the end we human suffer ourselves but it is still not many try to change it. In my opinion we need to change our own behavior first maybe that will be seen and like a virus spread (it is ironic that I am comparing with virus, maybe because of Coronavirus that gave impact to our life last few years) It was nice to hear your opinion too.

Welcome to the Steem For Betterlife communty!
To be a member of this community it is compulsory for you to be verified as a new member.
Herewith a link that will help you as a newbie to the Steemit platform;
https://steemit.com/hive-136998/@event-horizon/guidelines-for-newcomers-all-you-need-to-know-is-here

Hi @steembetterlife, thank you for your nice words. I recently joined the Steemit and the reason was because it is a decentralized, that means it is free to do what we do, like writing, taking part in anything and communicate. At least I saw that in the feedbacks from users of Steemit.

https://sourceforge.net/software/decentralized-social-media-networks/

I am here to blog and learn people and if you are not happy for me to share my thought in this project that is calling for Engagement then I will not bother your team anymore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51