STEEM Food Tours #13: Fatty Original Sibu Kampua- Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

in #steemfoodtours6 years ago (edited)

This is my first attempt in participating the #steemfoodtours by @jeffjagoe, introducing one of my favourite shops. Fatty Original Sibu Kampua. It is my new-found love. The highest record my family and I have eaten there in a week was 3 times in a week, Monday, Friday and Sunday. We have been bringing more and more people there too, including our church friends and also some international friends who are Filipinos, Americans and even Canadians. Before you read on, I have an alert for the Muslim friends as this post contains non-halal food.

IMG-20180514-WA0000.jpg
It has a really cute logo, mimicking how the owner actually looks like.


Introduction to kampua and why I love it

First of all, kampua is a common food among the Chinese group namely those in the Foo Chow dialect. It simply means dry plate noodle and is often handmade, so it has a very nice texture when we eat it. It can be eaten either dry but seasoned with pork lard and some sauce, or it can be eaten in soup. This noodle is found in Sarawak, a state in Malaysia situation on the Borneo Island. It has become something Sarawakians eat day in and out, breakfast, lunch or dinner. We basically grow up with it.

The original kampua noodles are seasoned with pork lard and onion oil and garnished with spring onions. The inclusion of ingredients such as minced pork, vegetables, char siew (roasted pork) and wanton (meat dumplings) came much later, mostly to satisfy customer requests. The added ingredients may be new, but the essence of the noodles is in the traditional sauce. Source

The reason why I got all excited and supportive towards this simple shop, is I AM A SARAWAKIAN, married over to Kuala Lumpur. When this shop opened, I knew comfort food is at hand. I get to eat all the food that I miss, all in one stop! The owner is from Sibu and he did successfully bring the taste of home over to Kuala Lumpur. He is very strict with the standards of the handmade noodles. He doesn't add preservatives into his noodles.

IMG_20180514_122603.jpg
This was printed as one of the wall's sticker in the shop.

What's On The Menu?

IMG_20180514_122307.jpg
Welcome!

IMG_20180514_122145.jpg
Menu Page 1

IMG_20180514_122155.jpg
Menu Page 2

IMG_20180514_122230.jpg
Menu Page 3

IMG_20180514_122251.jpg
Menu Page 2

Even though the shop's name is named after the famous kampua, there are other dishes available as well. Some of the food names may sound very foreign to you, because they are in the Foo Chow dialect but I will try my best to describe them in English. There is the Sarawak Laksa, Tomato Noodle, Bien Nuik (seasoned minced pork in dumplings), nasi lemak (rice cooked with coconut milk and also served with spices), curry noodles, Cao Cai Fen Gan (thicker rice noodle cooked in a soup broth with sour preserved vegetables added with tomatoes), Red Wine Mee Sua (longevity noodles cooked in homemade red wine soup) etc. For the kampua itself, it has a few varieties on how it can be cooked and served.

Every time I go there, I make myself and those who went along with me to try different food. So far, I can say all of their food taste authentic. However the Sarawak Laksa (rice noodles in a broth with coconut milk and spices) does not taste like what I am used to. It is a little more creamy but it tastes good still nevertheless.

Here are some photos I accumulated over a few visits:

Kampua (mee pok).jpg
This is a kampua with a flat type of noodle we called 'mee pok' meaning flat and thin noodles.

Kuching Laksa.jpg
The Sarawak Laksa (noodles cooked in a coconut milk broth mixed with some local spices/sambal)

Pork Lard Rice.jpg
The Pork Lard Rice served with minced meat and a sunny side up egg!

Red Wine Mee Sua.jpg
Red Wine Mee Sua (longevity noodles cooked in homemade red wine soup)

Spicy Kampua in White Sauce.jpg
Spicy Kampua in White Sauce

Tomato Mee.jpg
This is a classic for Sarawakkians. Not many people out of Sarawak can enjoy it because it is cooked in tomato gravy. This is a die-for, as it has this very delightful charred smell, just the way I like my noodles back in hometown!

IMG_20180525_173816.jpg
*Cao Cai Fen Gan (thicker rice noodle cooked in a soup broth with sour preserved vegetables added with tomatoes)

IMG-20180509-WA0013.jpg
Bien Nuik (seasoned minced pork in dumplings)

Price Range

The price range in this shop is really affordable. The usual food price is RM6.90 (~USD 1.73) at the lowest of the range and the highest is RM11.90 (~USD 2.99).

The place is nothing fancy, simple but clean. It is air-conditioned so it is more comfortable than the general street stalls. It is really the food speaking for themselves. I have got to know one of the staffs there who happens to speak the same dialect as me, Hakka (Ho Poh way). Though we were strangers before we met, we clicked once she knew I can speak the same dialect as her because it is rare for us to find someone else who can at this part of Malaysia. Perhaps this is also one of the reasons I feel very welcome here.

Location and Opening Hours

IMG_20180514_131336.jpg

Location: Rampai Business Park, Kuala Lumpur

FB page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Fatty-Original-Sibu-Kampua-Mee/313210005512588?ref=br_rs

This is definitely a place where the taste of food speaks louder than the interior designs, if you have the same palate as me. Last but not least, here is a photo of me slurping up every drop of my Red Wine Mee Sua, it is THAT delicious! Nothing beats comfort food like food from home.

33436576_10156451254363270_7971011289042386944_n.jpg

Thank you for reading my post. Are you familiar with some of these food? Are you a Chinese Food lover if you are from another country? You are welcome to share your thoughts with me.

Pardon me for some of my photos as I am using a Vivo V5s while the others are by @josephinengpy using Huawei P20, shared with her permission. She took and sent them to me for this purpose.

RoundPhoto_Feb152018_181213.png

81FB41B346924EE8233F0B6EC8D6624C2.gif

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif

DQmepDz9DNUfgHYWZCABVYVEL9zjdbe9tnHWBXH2abTYx13.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

SB-Marvel-Family.gif
created by @zord189


Asapers.gif

20180516_002249_0001.png

sgg_footers9.png

Sort:  

Thanks for your entry to #STEEMFoodTours #13!

Those look yummy. I like Pork Lard Rice with sunny side up egg please! :D I'm acting like I'm ordering here. I haven't tasted any of these dishes.

I like fried rice and we like pancit (Filipino noodle dish). But we haven't had any noodle dish for quite a while since we started going organic. I'm glad the chef/owner doesn't want any preservatives on his noodles. That's very commendable.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-25T13:19:36
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 238.65/200.00
Total Photos: 40
Total comments: 19
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Some taken with P20! Hahaha

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Looks very nice. Definitely will try if go setapak. Btw, this shop is in rampai biz Park or Pandan? Fb page shows pandan..

Yeah @auleo, my friend did tell me that they did not update the location for the new outlet. The one I went is situated in Rampai Business Park with no specific address too, so I can only write the business area as its address :)

This may sound odd or weird.. .but I actually LOVE looking at menus from other countries. I find them fascinating!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by happycrazycon from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Everything looks delicious @happycrazycon! I'd love to try a little bit of everything.

Be sure to post your entry as a comment on the main weekly post so that it will gain more visibility! Cheers and happy eating :)

https://steemit.com/steemfoodtours/@jeffjagoe/steem-food-tours-13-submit-a-restaurant-review-for-a-chance-to-win-steem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63240.82
ETH 3048.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80