STEEM Food Tours #45 : Meatcave - Rotterdam

in #steemfoodtours5 years ago (edited)

I’ve been to this restaurant in 2018 two times. Is that a good sign? Yes it is! The restaurant itself was already a long time on my list to visit sometime but it is quite expensive. Way above my average rate to go for just a dinner. So last summer I got a present from my work, because I did celebrate my 10th birthday for the company. So, they gave me a voucher for a dinner. I could have gone together with my girlfriend but I decided to share it with my friends and our girls. I said I really wanted to go and try out a BBQ restaurant in Rotterdam, called the Meatcave, and I would love to go with them and I would donate my voucher.
They all wanted to go and try this restaurant after showing them some pictures.

Meatcave

The concept

The first time Meatcave felt really special for me. Finally, a decent BBQ restaurant with some famous chefs in the Netherlands. The chefs are Robert Lobensteijn & Leonard Elenbaas. Those chefs also arrange the demo events from Big Green Egg itself. They even got some famous chefs cooking on the Egg. They introduced cooking on the BBQ with names as Jonnie Boer and Herman den Blijker.

The concept the chefs in the Meatcave work with is simple! They want their customers to enjoy quality food. The people really need to have the feeling they are going out that night. They have no card where you can pick a course from. They will surprise you, and the only choice you have is the amount of courses you will eat that night. And believe me, let the chefs spoil you. You can choose for meat or vegetarian so yes even a vegetarian can have a perfect night out in this restaurant. You also have the choice to mention any diets you have (I don’t eat cheese, so I mentioned that while I did make my reservation). And here comes the service tag, the day itself they called me, to ask if we were looking forward to our night out and if there were any changes to the diet and the amount of people we reserved for. Nothing changed so let’s start this night out!

Meatcave
Meatcave
Restaurant overview The kitchen

Let's go

We entered the restaurant and they showed us our places. They handed out the card… wait a minute you just mentioned there was no card? That’s right this card is only for the drinks. But you can even let them choose the drink you have combined with the course. Fun fact here, this is a handwritten book! They gave us some options for wines and beers. Too bad they only had one alcohol free version, but it was a damn good one (Jever)!

Meatcave
Meatcave
Meatcave

They explain the concept while they serve your drinks. The concept is like I mentioned above, you have the choice for a three-course dinner and after every round they come and ask if you want another round extra, till seven and sometimes even nine rounds! After every course they ask if you want another appetizer till you say you would like the main course served. And after the main course of course dessert!

The chefs in the Meatcave prepare everything on the Egg, and I think this is quite a unique concept. Why? Because normally a restaurant uses a BBQ (Egg) only for certain (parts) from courses and not for everything served. The courses aren’t small, but course they really thought about from the start till the end. They try to surprise their guests with unexpected combinations of food and classic courses with a twist. And isn’t that the definition of a night out, that you want to be surprised?

The chefs only use the best materials, only excellent quality and because they work really specific for everyone, and they only serve their menu without a card, they almost don’t spoil any food that they need to throw away.

Meatcave
Meatcave
Meatcave

And yes I really had great night out. From the first night I have no pictures because I was really surprised by all the food. The second time I was prepared, and I grabbed my phone with every course. But I do think you better leave your phone behind when going for a night out. Yes that’s right a night without Steem is possible ;)

Another time, same place

The second time I got here for my Christmas dinner with my family. We got here the weekend before Christmas, because the boyfriend of my sister had to work during the Holidays. Place sold out again and the same treatment as the last time, just perfect! Only a totally different menu. Too bad we had the same chef. Too bad, well because I’ve chatted in the kitchen the first time I was here with the chef, and he showed me some of his BBQ tricks. I asked him for example how he could prepare dinner for so many people with that quality. But also, about the different styles from the chefs and the menu creation every week. Every week another chef creates the menu, and all the other chefs will prepare that menu during the week. I was interested to hear from another chef how he does his tricks behind the Eggs. A good thing the chef still remembered me, he really scored points with that!

Meatcave
Meatcave

Resume

Both nights we had an awesome dinner, great food, great ambiance and a lot of inspiration for my own cooking on the Egg. It is really a lot of fun to explore these types of special restaurants. Think I’ll return soon once Steem prices go up 😎. Really had a lot of fun both nights!

@dboontje you were here with me the first time, how did you experience this restaurant? Thanks for being there with me, celebrating my anniversary 🎁

Restaurant information

Address

Eendrachtsweg 27B SO
Rotterdam
+31 (0)6 298 96 237

Website

meatcave.nl

Openings hours

Daily from 18.00

Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem

If you like my content, don't forget to upvote this post and follow me for more every day life stories! Also, I will be happy if you leave a comment to tell me your thoughts and resteem this post to share my work!

Banner

Travelfeed


travelfeed

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord. How does travelfeed work? Simple just use the tag #travelfeed in your travel posts (min. 250 words) for a chance to be curated!




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://surfingnomad.nl/travel/netherlands/steem-food-tours-45-meatcave-rotterdam/
Sort:  

My goodness that looks like a food walhalla! I really always like the concept of no menus and that they just choose for you. (I eat literally everything)

The name suggests a BBQ joint with grumpy bearded men, glad to see this is such a winner...on the to-do list!

The no choice concept is indeed really great! And it was walhalla for sure. Think you need to reserve some time to go to this place no quick fast food here, what you would get in a normal BBQ joint usually (and I don't want to imply that the food in a BBQ joint is worse than here, the concept is only different, this is a night out).

Well gotta go to my BBQ, the Pulled Pork needs to be sprayed 😎

This also sounds like something that is worth reserves my time for ...so i am happy to do that ej!

OMG AND DEAR LORD @s3rg3 its in our hometown and we havent been there..... its 11 oclock and i am hungry. Thanx Rémy @guchtere,
@s3rg3 are you reserving a table i Will inform our two significant others

Great blog def going there!
Have a great friyay
Its almost that time of the week

Mannnn! This place sounds awesome!
I like the way they do things, just serve you their best without a menu! Cool name for a BBQ place too.

I don’t think I’ve ever ate from an egg before.... but I’ve seen some of @exyle’s posts in the past and it makes me want to get one and try cooking with it! Awesome review and thanks for entering the @steemfoodtours contest!
Cheers @guchtere!

@exyle your famous for your egg 😉

Hehe he is for sure, always liked his posts about the egg. Need to go check out mine, the Pulled Pork needs to be sprayed!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=guchtere
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=steemfoodtours45meatcave-rotterdam-91ylr1yg4b


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Omg - I’ve never been! Totally missed the ‘talk’ about this one. Doesn’t happen often. Looks yummee and my dad is a real Big Green Egg fanatic so... I’m thinking birthday present :-) Thanks!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh yes so I knew a place in Rotterdam you didn't know off!

But indeed if your dad is really a BBQ lover (read a master/fanatic in cooking at the EGG) he needs to go here! I think he would really like this as a birthday present. If you have been here, would love to hear how you would rate this restaurant.

Yep, I regularly eat from the Egg because my dad has a big one in his garden hahaha :D I’ll let you know!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I didnt know either OMG wat erg

Hehe but you do know now! Hope you will really try this restaurant in the future they're worth it.

Hi, @guchtere!

You just got a 2.54% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @guchtere!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.331 which ranks you at #2469 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 10 places in the last three days (old rank 2479).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 186 contributions, your post is ranked at #25.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by guchtere from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I'm so so glad that I saw this just after eating! Otherwise I'd be dying of hunger now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57296.76
ETH 3055.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32