Improving Steemfollower - Some Note

in #steemfollower7 years ago (edited)

logo.gif

Hello Steemfollower Users.

Today I made some changes in site front-end.
But it is not enough.
We need to improve it more and more.

How we can improve steemfollower?

How we can Invite more User?

I think about these questions every day. but, I'm ONE person and I have one brain and Limited Ideas.
Please help me by your suggestions.


How we can Fix Low upvotes probem?

as you know, our users upvote is not Huge. maybe you got 100 upvote in your post but you will not earn that much.


How We can improve Upvote Exchange page?

I think 'Upvote Exchange' Page is not good enough.
we need more speed and maybe more posts. but more posts need more time to load.
what do you think about lazyload on images? it can be helpful in reducing loading time?
and, Can we show posts in other way?
Some users said about resteem button. I will work on it in the future.


some note:

You can't build any website or you can't run any server for free.

We had a conversation on discord channel about steemfollower costs and we talked about running a private RPC node for steemfollower according to reducing down times. but needs really more money.
I will try to use stable public RPC nodes to prevent future down times. but if we grow more, we will need a private node.
Don't worry. we can handle it until 10,000 users.

Since the opening of the site, servers costs have been paid out with the help of your upvotes. Thanks.
As you know, I'm a witness. my rank is 133 in list of witnesses. I get 1 block every 10 day and each block reward is 1 Steem Power. it is about 3 SP per month. If I get more witness votes, it will be helpful for paying servers costs. Any vote is a big support.

Please Let me know if you have any suggestion. Thanks Again.


If you believe Steemfollower will be helpful of steem community, Please vote me as witness.

1- open https://steemit.com/~witnesses
2- scroll down.
3- type mahdiyari and once click on the vote button.
Only once!! don't click on blue button after voting. it will unvote.

Screenshot_3.png


Regards,
2017-09-30

Sort:  

Get whales to join and upvote and give them a smaller reward, because the whales would hardly ever get paid out and would only sell their points. Also front end needs a lot more work. But all in all the idea is great.

This is what I am trying to say @mahdiyari, you should ask for voting you as a witness every single post, and yes as for as promotion of your website is concerned, you should contact some whales for that so that they may mention it in their posts to thousands of followers.

How about an option to list posts by their age, newest first? It might be more attractive to vote for a post for which one can still gain some curation rewards

I will vote for you as witness to show support. I appreciate this service and use it all the time!

Voted you for witness. Thanks for this great application, and your efforts.

articles that attract friends.

I just want to add a couple of things I did not mention in my other response.

  1. I don't think it is possible to attract more than one or two whales or dolphins because most of them already have their own communities that feed them with upvotes. In addition, they are all big fish in their own little ponds, so there is no incentive for them to go elsewhere. They'll only come when and if they see an opportunity to bag a lot of valuable upvotes AND hold important roles in the community. Please don't let this happen. It is better to grow the community until we are creating our own whales and dolphins.
  2. People who come here are doing it because a) they want people to read their posts (in many communities only two or three people actually read what you write, even if the rewards are greater), or b) because they primarily want to earn money from their posts. I am happy because I get a lot of actual views, which means at least someone here is reading the posts - and I think that is what you should focus on. The question now becomes 'how to keep people here until they grow into dolphins and whales?' Maybe post a 'best of recent posts' article periodically? Or hold contests for writing and photography for steemfollower members only?
  3. Slowing down the speed of photos loading may backfire because there are a lot of photography-related posts, such as the color challenge ones.
    Anyway, those are my thoughts. So far, I like steemfollower because it isn't all about chatting with each other on discord, and people upvoting only those people that they chat with. I know that there are a few people who are borderline dolphins here, and that they actually read things, and that is better than a billion bot-votes from other communities.

@d-pend might have some good ideas for improving Steemfollower. We do need more dolphin & whales on steemfollower.

Maybe you could enable some way to quickly search out posts by tag or author on the opening page. If you did that, you would be offering something the original site does not offer, and which a lot of people wish it did. Right now, doing this is cumbersome on Steemit, and not possible on Steemfollower.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63977.42
ETH 2760.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65