Cryptochannel - Short Introduction and Overview for the Newcomers [Surprise Included!]

in #steemfolio7 years ago

Hey everyone!

I wanted to write an overview of what this Portfolio is about for all the new readers.

I am by nature not a good holder, I either react to news/drama or decide to jump ships way too often. Thanks to Steem's initial power down of 104 weeks it taught me to become better at holding and thinking long-term, a big part of this project was to make these investments while sharing with you all which ones they and making it possible for the community to earn a stake and be able to hold part of this Portfolio as well if they are new to cryptos and don't feel like investing themselves or can't.

To remove the abuse of so called "Pump and Dumps" I initially stated that I will also provide a screenshot or if necessary a video recording of my holdings and transactions of those currencies so you can all rest assured that I am not going to dump on my readers after telling you all what I will be buying for this project and that it indeed is intended to be held long term. This goes both ways also about selling part of the investments.


When I first started it I made a few investments, some of them were in Jewels [JWL] (which had a good idea but from what I've read the developers deserted it and ran away with the investment) here is the post to that announcement.

The second one was about mining ZCash and we all know that that one like many others has also proven to have been very profitable after the last surge in marketcap on most currencies.

Shortly after that I started mining ZDash which is now known as Hush which at the time was only worth around 1k satoshis and today is hovering around 100k satoshis, that's a 100x increase over half a year of holding. Wish I hadn't stopped mining this one.

After I quit mining I started focusing more on investments and getting there early, I made a few posts about the Golos ICO which was a lot like Steem but directed to Russian users. Here is the initial post, I am not 100% sure what the ICO cost was, but I made quite a few posts about Golos, one also on my main account @acidyo when the price was hovering around 1-2 USD cents telling readers it was a good buy and currently its sitting at $0.15.
Golos was not included in the portfolio though as that was more of a personal investment.

Sia was also an investment I made and posted about with the buy-in price at 28 satoshis, today its at around 500 satoshis and I still think its a good buy considering the upcoming ASIC miners for it.

Unfortunately I had to cancel this Portfolio and withdraw the funds due to something personal at the time, when I revived it a few months later I added 200 Steem back to it to make up for it, currently its residing in SP and GUP.


The point of the project at the time was when activity on the Steem platform was at an all time low, posts were earning rewards but commenters were barely around and interactivity seemed to not happen often.

I started rewarding commenters with a stake in 10% of the Portfolio and made sure that this time around I would HOLD!

If you read the last post you can see that we've been seeing good growth of the Portfolio, even though most of it stems from Steem I believe the other investment is just a sleeping giant waiting to be awaken! :)

And if you read my last post til the end you might have noticed I said there was a surprise waiting for the next post, without further ado, here it is:

The Stake of the Portfolio that will be shared among the community has risen from 10% to 20%!

Since we are seeing explosive growth I wanted to share the Portfolio even more so that many of the new users that join and earn stake in it have some actual value behind them than just dust amount. I hope you like this change and that it makes following this Portfolio and its content more exciting in the future!


As always, ways to earn (0.5 stake) from the Portfolio is by commenting (non-generic comments) on these posts and once you receive a vote from this account your username will be added to the Portfolio and you will see your share in the next Stake Distribution Post!

Thanks for reading, have a prosperous crypto revolution! :)

Sort:  

Interesting concept. So you reward commenters w a stake in the portfolio. What does being the portfolio get you?

Hello crypto! I would be interested in joining you and learning all I can about setting up a personal portfolio as well. I look forward to future postings from you. I re-steemed this , thank you!

Loving the idea even more with the transparency of this post; and the reasons you've given for the decision making process..

I've been refreshing every 5 minutes to catch the post you said you were making haha, glad I caught it. I didnt know you were doing this portfolio. Sounds super fun. I am all for interacting and cryptos :) Definitely want to know the coins you are interested in.

I am glad I caught this post. I wish we could setup alerts somehow. I have been waiting for a follow up ever since the last post of yours I caught. Very interested in this longevity of this project. Keep on!

If someone knows a way to implement those alerts it would be awesome, It would be a helpful feature to receive notifications when someone you follow posts something.

Your browser should allow you to get notifications and it shows an red count icon next to your profile pic when things are added to your feed.

I mean a way to get notifications without opening steemit website. I had those push notification until recently but they were only for when somebody replied to me and when I had transactions. But they were really slow and I removed them.

Oh I see. I read in a post a few days ago that they have a mobile app in development, almost to BETA. I think that will help everyone tremendously.

That would be nice. At the moment I am using @esteemapp which has some extra features. I get notifications when someone upvote, follow, unfollow and reply to me.

Definitely interested! You've piqued my curiosity....

This was meant to be. Caught the first post and have been waiting on this one. Its 3 am ....woke up and cant fall asleep ... grab the ipad to sooth the steemit withdrawels and boom there it is.

As a newbie in the crypto world, I have to say congrats for this idea and I am really happy that I found this project so early in my journey. It looks really promising and I would really like to learn more. I am currently in a passive state due to some exams I have but I already have a note to read all your posts on this account as I see real value on them for someone like me ( someone with 1% knowledge on crypto=D ). Honestly!

This sounds like a really awesome initiative . But Im not sure I completely get it yet. Maybe because it sounds to easy. Just make a non generic comment on this post and I'm in.

Ok, Ill take that and sign up right here right now with this comment.
I guess Ill have to read your earlier post to get a better understanding.

In the mean time keep up the great work of giving back to the community.

Sounds like a pretty cool concept! Havent had a chance to read all your posts to fully understand this project - but sounds cool. I am more interested in seeing your breakdowns of holdings. Do you only go long cryptocurrencies or do you have any short positions?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86