TIFU SteemFlagRewards Coding and Flag Fun LiveStream! - RECAPsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemflagrewards5 years ago (edited)

There was an attempt... to do a livestream

image.png



It would have gone well had it not been for one small detail I was not aware regarding my microphone setup. It was a matter of cable supremacy.


No, not THAT Cable!

These cables
image.png

I learned that pink cable trumps the usb on my desktop. It's a Win 10 Asus. In effect, my fancy ball mic wasn't playing but my gaming headset in the corner. That didn't go so well.

This FU basically hosed the show but some of my peeps could tell what I was going for. Without the mic being very audible, it kind of ruined the context of some of my antics.... Oh well.

The good news is I'm getting more fluent on OBS for live streams.

I now know how to do:

  • Play clips with opacity such as my power up below. Don't be fooled. I'm not at full strength.

image.png
This is prob like 1% of my true power here. I know. It's pretty impressive but I'm not one to brag.

We also did a live flag trail demo on our good friend @crystaliu. I dubbed in some sound effects & music from one of my favorite gaming franchises Mother which made it kind of fun. I mean think about this.


Mother 2 aka Earthbound. So. Much. Nostalgia!

What if we made flagging a Role Playing Game?


Ok ok If you subscribe to the /r/outside subreddit, we technically are already playing "the game" but I mean like turn based flag action. Something like a Steem simulation. Instead of waiting 2.5 hours for one vote to recharge, it happens automagically per turn. I'm picturing a party of abuse fighters on one side and the manipulating rewards suckers on the other side.

image.png

I would buy SFR: The RPG in a second!

Ok, I don't want this to run too long. I mean if I'm lucky I'll make as much as the copy/paste spammer early miner / witness @steemychicken1. I mean why put in effort when I can do something like this.

image.png

If you are voting this user as witness, I advise you withdraw that vote as their actions are not in line with growth on the chain. Rather, a de-evolution to reposts galore. You want reposts? Go to Minds.com. We don't need that here.

I gave this user an friendly admonishment a week or so ago but it seems to have fallen on deaf ears. No matter. I will flag it as it is representative of substandard performance for a witness. I even appreciate the music they shared but the way we see it.

image.png

Not your work. Not Your Rewards

Why don't these users just decline rewards? As they are an early miner, I think they know what they are doing but the end result is not good in the example it sets for users. It lowers the bar when we all should be striving to do better and better...

If and only if we want this platform to succeed...

I have a bad taste in my mouth now. I hope I wake to find that @steemcleaners or some benevolent whale zeroed those rewards. Alternatively, I'd be relieved if the early miner decided to retaliate as some are prone to do. At least then, I'd reasonable justification to power down and start working on a fork.

I don't want to do that. In all frankness, it sounds like a pain in the ass. I'd rather fix the Steem we have and that means people need to start using their flags as intended. No, not to stifle contrary opinions like some. To adjust rewards up and down based on the honest perceived value of the contribution to the network.

Is that really so hard??? /Rant

Sort:  

So it's not okay for someone to take a couple bucks from the rewards pool here or there but it's okay for someone to rake hundreds of dollars from the pool using bidbots after posting what amounts to about an average of three paragraphs of work often using the same photos in between paragraphs to make his post look larger?

He was gone for a bit before he left sometimes he was raking in eight hundred to a thousand bucks for minimal effort...it's just a matter of time and he'll be right back up there into the several hundreds of dollars. In the last couple weeks he's managed about a thousand bucks on his post.

https://steemit.com/palnet/@sunlit7/i-am-good-enough-i-am-smart-enough-and-damn-that-earns-me-the-right-to-rip-off-steemians

ps I think for appearance's sake you should decline steemychicken1 upvote of your comments on his post.

690dea9f9d3847b865893573e797c9a970884ef0ca32279b2d87c1ba35c7a103.gif

!sbi status

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @anthonyadavisii!

  • you have 100 units and 0 bonus units
  • your rshares balance is 1074069963294 or 0.373 $
  • your next SBI upvote is predicted to be 0.075 $

Structure of your total SBI vote value:

  • 87.77 % has come from your subscription level
  • 0.00 % has come from your bonus units
  • 4.84 % has come from upvoting rewards
  • 7.40 % has come from new account bonus or extra value from pre-automation rewards


    Did you know that your SBI level shows in your Steempeak wallet?

What if we made flagging a Role Playing Game?

the person that can make an RPG dapp on this basis is going to make bank bigtime

especially if they allow a multi-genre platform

think about this
you sign up for the dapp, and can create a PC for fantasy, 30s gangster, sci fi (multiple scenarios possible), etc

you can even create a PC for each "universe", which would level separately from each other.

Once logged into a PC, you would complete quests based on flagging spam posts (my thought would be limiting this to spam flagging, due to the abuse potential) . Completing quest would level the PC up to a higher % of the reward pools.

Just spitballing, the game could generate income by selling tools which would make quests easier to complete, by custom skins for PCs, and other micro-transactions...the bulk of that income should go to the reward pool for the dapp to garner more players.

yes, this would be open for abuse big-time...one method would be to limit flagging quests to posts that have already been selected as spam by a vetting agency.

another quest might be to identify possible spam posts to that agency (the smart player would then hold his flag until the agency could determine whether it is indeed spam)

this is your idea, so I'd like your permission to make a post running with my brainstorming. in that line, if you want to run with these ideas, they are yours, just give me a shout-out (or if you implement them, a tiny cut of the action ;>)

Thanks Anthony!

If you run with this idea, and would like more input, just ask!

Dude. Wow.

YOU'RE HIRED!

Just spitballing, the game could generate income by selling tools which would make quests easier to complete, by custom skins for PCs, and other micro-transactions...

EA has entered the chat. LMAO!

But on a serious. I like it a lot. I'm thinking also kind of a choose your own adventure but with some dynamic elements. Maybe FABLE-ish where you can choose the good or the bad route.

Think, we would need a sidechain to really pull this off. It would be like Steem LARP. Damn that's good!

Thanks for getting this train of thought goin. Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

oh, I'm pretty good at the "big concept" game

...implementing ideas? notso hotso LOL

choose-your-own would be easier to code fer sure, and additional interface goodies could be built on top of that

EA has entered the chat

rofl
and revenue gained by microtransactions would go into the reward pool for the dapp (or most of it, you still need a bit of "skim" for maintenance costs and profit-motive)

there are a LOT of different ways to run with the basic idea, but the basic idea is sound



Hi stevescoins, this write-up was particularly meaty, fulfilling, wholesome, beefy and deserving of a CHOPS token. Don't Chomp on it all at once!
To view or Trade CHOPS visit steem-engine.com

and a thought about one of the "univeres"...a secondlife type scenario for Steemit...let folks buy a 2LSteemit rep of 75, or a 2LSteemit SP level of 10,000...I know there's folks that would love a fantasy version of their Steemit experience

of course, you would want to start with just one (or two) possible universes to see if the actual idea flys

Hi @anthonyadavisii!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.449 which ranks you at #651 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 30 places in the last three days (old rank 681).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 366 contributions, your post is ranked at #176.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @anthonyadavisii!

You just got a 15.2% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57485.95
ETH 2901.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67