I'm in a Steemfest state of mind | Steemfest Dreams

in #steemfestdreams6 years ago

I have no idea why, but it seems I only found the @steemfestdreams contest now! I saw the tag a few days ago, but figured it was just that, since I didn't see the actual contest post...

But, as they say, better late than never. I know this is my second post about Steemfest today and that my regular followers might be getting a tiny bit bored, but the thing is I really really would like to go to the amazing get-together that is Steemfest3. Well, that will be Steemfest3, but you get the idea. Ever since it was first announced, I couldn't believe it, since everyone expected the third edition to be somewhere in the USA. But no, it's right here in Europe.
So close and yet so far...
40152158_1653227291469337_5447299848921415680_n.jpg
On the day they @roelandp announced the location and dates for the event, I remember I went completely crazy. Well, not at first, because instinctively, I'm not really a joiner. It didn't even occur to me that I could go to Steemfest because...who'd want to talk to me, you know? What could I possibly say?
But then, I thought about it and I realized Steemit has meant more to me in this past year (as it happens, it's my anniversary tomorrow!) than most of the real world. I've made so many friends here, I've learned so much. Recently, I published my first novel (which I probably wouldn't have done if it wasn't for this amazing community) and the support was overwhelming. There are so many kind, amazing people here on the platform.
And it dawned on me – why the hell am I not going to Steemfest? That's where I belong. That's where a lot of my friends will be. And if they're not, well, it's an opportunity to make even more friends. Suddenly, going made a lot of sense.

So, I moved fast, because I figured there'd be a lot of people wanting to go, I booked a room and bought plane tickets ( I was in luck, because tickets from Romania to Poland aren't all that expensive). See, the wonderful folks at @steemfestdreams are offering to maybe pay for the trip also, but I don't want that. I can do that myself and besides, I hate asking...I don't want to go for free or on someone else's money, that's just not me. I don't expect anyone else to pay for the whole trip because that wouldn't be fair, but the sad truth is I just can't afford the Steemfest ticket.
steemfestopengraph.jpg
See, when I decided to go, I didn't expect the prices to be quite so high, but then the announcement came and threw me off completely. It was late at night when I saw it and I kept staring into space, upset.
Because I can't really pay the 300 euros. My only income right now is this platform and while I'm trying and I am writing night and day, it just seems I'm not making that kinda cash. I know, I'm not complaining, we're all in dire situations with the markets so low.
So, I don't really know if I can go anymore and it makes me feel awful. For the past few days, I've really felt something wrong in me and I just know it's because of this. See, I'd made up all these scenarios and fantasies about how cool Steemfest would be, how I would get to meet all my favorite people here on Steemit...I really looked forward to going, but then the prices were announced and they kinda knocked it out of me, you know?

I'm 19. I discovered Steemit when I was 18 years old and like with so many others, it seemed too good to be true. All my life, I've been a writer and I've dreamed of making a living as a writer, of actually having the guts to break out into this world of starving artists.
And here comes this platform, where you actually get paid for writing. Like many, that was a huge attraction when I first came.
But as the saying goes, you stay for the community. I've had the pleasure of meeting so many wonderful Steemians here who have shared with me bits of their own amazing minds and have encouraged me on my journey.
38681684_532797433828924_6709515377719640064_n.jpg
I wouldn't have published my book without Steemit and I probably wouldn't have gotten the guts to write as much as I do. But Steemit showed me that I can, it taught me that it all rests on my shoulders and that I can do whatever I want in my life. And that's why I want to go to Steemfest3 – because this community has meant so much to me over the past year.

So, I hope I can see you there, in Krakow! Until then, if you're in a similar boat, you could join the @steemfestdreams contest linked above!

Thank you for reading,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

I think my bro @tarazkp is going. You can say hi in person if you go.

Ah, one of the people I look forward to meeting (that is, if I actually do go)! <3
Be cool if you too could come!

I'd love to but it's a long way from Australia. Besides I have to stay and look after the kangaroos, koalas and Vegemite.

I have a lot of the same thoughts as yourself towards steemfest. I would love to go but don't really have the connections and don't have the profile to really get involved. I love steemit and just enjoy the whole scene but have no real reason to go to poland.

300 Euro or about 350 US dollars does seem like a lot for a ticket. But I assume they have big expenses when they put on a festival like this. I know how much you want to go and you've already taken the steps of getting airfare and a room so I hope this contest can help with the ticket price! Wishing you all the best!

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 45.34% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @honeydue!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57495.98
ETH 2320.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35