Steemfest - Ending Thoughts

in #steemfest36 years ago (edited)

I have just left the Qubus Hotel with mixed feelings. I mentioned before that I’m not the most sociable person and was finding it hard to find people to talk too close to the end of the event.

Everyone seemed engrossed and I found myself a little lost looking for someone else like myself in need of a chat buddy.

I have made some good connections and talked to many but still find it quite hard to interact sometimes.

A little disillusioned I walked to the entrance only to bump into @felixxx again. Some people you just make an instant connection with and so after a short chat about something that was a little negative earlier I was turned positive again.

If I go to SF4 next year I think it may be a different situation. Some people knew who I was but many didn’t. I’m still relatively new on the platform and I really shouldn’t expect too much after 7 months.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

It happens. You may put too much pressure on yourself to talk to everyone about everything. The fact that you are out there spending time supporting and learning about something you believe in is legit! Also, any time you spend out of your comfort zone is when you are improving the most.

You will be signing autographs and making motivational speeches for millions at this pace. ;)

Safe travels and thanks for representing us.

I don’t know about the autographs! Some I connected with really well. I’m saving the big post for when I return.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It was hard work at times for sure!

I feel much better after zoning out for a couple of hours.

@felixxx is awesome.

Posted using Partiko Android

It was great to meet you, and I'm glad we got some more leisurely time to sit down and get to know each other rather than trying to talk in some of the more frantic activities. Personally, I think you are lovely to talk to, relaxing, fun, kind and very insightful about steem and steemit. I'm so pleased I did. Networking can be really hard work and tiring, especially after several days of it - it's exhausting! Poland is fabulous though, hope you enjoy your time this morning getting to know the city.

Thanks shanii, was good to talk to you likewise. I probably had the biggest chat with you there bar @steevc. Thanks for your comments, it’s good to hear that I can converse with someone.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well next year I hope to attend (even though I'll still be a nobody lol). Would hope to meet you. Don't worry about there being any empty silences, I can talk for England.

The people who can talk, i don’t have a problem with. When you get 2 people like me trying to communicate it’s hard. They want to talk but until the barriers are broken it doesn’t happen easily. Hope to see you next year and your not a nobody.

Posted using Partiko iOS

The problem with me is making me shut up!

I can see this happening to me as well! I'm much more comfortable online chatting than IRL.

Did you enjoy the presentations and stuff though?

Posted using Partiko Android

There was a lot of positives I got from it. I’m not a confident person when it comes to RL chats, and I couldn’t bring myself to ‘barge in’ and interrupt others.

There were some I missed last night due to this. Overall it was a good experience, but could have been better if not for my personal shortcomings.

Posted using Partiko iOS

How was Poland? Have you been there before?

Posted using Partiko Android

It’s lovely. A mixture of development and remnants of the iron curtain days mingle. Some nice architecture that I haven’t fully seen yet due to the hectic nature of SF3. That will be remedied this morning.

1st time here for us.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Cool, enjoy.

A priest I knew a few years ago told me of attending seminary there in the Cold War years.

I'm a big fan of what Pope John Paul 2 did as both a bishop there and then as Pope to fight communism, and would love to go there some day.

Are you flying or driving back to England?

Posted using Partiko Android

We are flying back this afternoon and have a little time to explore now. SF3 was hard work and there has been little time to rest.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Then I'll stop pestering you so you can enjoy it!

Posted using Partiko Android

I know exactly where you are coming from. I had a similar experience somewhere else. Next year will be better.

Lovely to meet you and @bingbade in person @slobberchops. And a bit thank you for the taxi share.

Have an uneventful homecoming and see you next time. 😍

Nice to meet you too 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Glad you were able to make a couple of connections. I know how hard it can be. Most conferences I go to I just sit by myself and mind my own business. I am horrible at small talk so if you do decide to sit next to me you will probably be met with silence. I am able to push myself outside of my comfort zone at times, but it doesn't come naturally for me.

Good to hear I’m not an isolated case. I’m sure we would not have a problem with conversation.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well, I'll make sure that I'm there next year. Even if I get a scolding from my employer. Or perhaps we'll meet at another event in the meantime.

I still need to buy you some beers ;)

You dont owe me any beers mate, see you are the next one.

I know exactly how you feel. I am kind of weird in social situations. I don't feel comfortable breaking into conversations, but when I do, I get a bit of diarrhea of the mouth. Then I get all paranoid that I am losing them and don't know how to fix it.

I guess this is a result of being stuck in front of computers in the 80s instead of learning to interact with other kids

I guess this is a result of being stuck in front of computers in the 80s

Sounds just like me! Misused teenage years and many other them. Still it got my career path going and me out of the supermarkets!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68870.08
ETH 3734.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73