Things You Didn't Know About Ned (According to his fireside chat)

in #steemfest6 years ago (edited)

image1 (29).PNG

5 - Ned is a self-proclaimed "lurker"

image3 (5).PNG

4 - Ned keeps portraits of his face—created by fans—in his bedside table

image2 (6).PNG

3 - Ned had a substance-induced religious experience. And he heard a voice.

image1 (30).PNG

2 - Ned's mother is one hell of a hairdresser

image1 (31).PNG

1 - While in the shower, Ned decided he was a post blockchain nihilist


Haha - in all seriousness...

I just finished watching the live-stream interview. I really enjoyed this style of interview, and can only imagine how much better it must have been live in Lisbon. It's always great to hear directly from the CEO himself.

@ned - Hopefully there are no hard feelings from this post ;)

Sort:  

I am happy that I made you laugh when I ask @ned who was his hairdresser.

One of the true highlights of that fireside chat!

If only I had hair.... been shaving whats left off with Mach III for more then 20 yrs now
Thank you
@robertmannino

We're post blockchain nihlists. We believe in nothing. Give us the steem Nedowski or we'll cut off your johnson.

I watched the stream and loved the interview! He made me laugh and it was very informative. Ned makes me even prouder to be a Stemian!

Very true and he is Kickin Ass
Steem On !!!
Thank you

I enjoyed it too. I couldn't help but laugh at a few of those lines.

I spent most of the interview wishing I was there! A whole room full of my super heroes....it would be an amazing place to be!

HAHA. Nice. I hope he becomes a blockchain titan and brings STEEM to the stratosphere. I'm banking on it.

I enjoyed watching the interview. Made me proud.

It was a great interview.

I watched the stream and loved the interview!

Lurk, what a funny word when you think about it

post blockchain nihilist
Okay, @ned you gonna need to explain that. What's a post blockchain nihilist?

I'm guessing it means he only cares if it works and can scale. A lot of people hold onto irrational beliefs about blockchains that stem from the early-days of crypto. The ideals are good but they get in the way of progress, as can be seen with this insane focus on Bitcoin over actually viable coins like Steem, Ethereum, and Bitshares. Even Ethereum has this to some degree.

Bitcoin is superior to all of the coins you enumerated due to economic reasons, putting aside engineering reasons.

No... Bitcoin is inferior due to economic reasons. You cannot separate the two.

Why is bitcoin inferior according to you?

16 Tps (not enough for even a single app), 10 min. block times + 6 confirmations = 60 minutes to security, no way to find consensus on development and funding, it's riskier, it's less decentralized, it has no inherent use case backing its value (as the other coins do), and it is essentially crypto-fiat. The updates it has had are marginal at best, and it had to go through months of fork drama. These other coins can make a decision and fix problems in less than 20 minutes.

These are mostly engineering reasons, not economic.
Bitcoin is a deflationary currency, the other coins you mentioned are assured to lose value over time.
Every crypto is a crypto-fiat, and I read that Bitcoin could enable smart contracts in the future.

I don't think you understand economics - you literally cannot separate the two. To say they're different is incredibly ignorant. There is no underlying value because it only does one unimpressive thing. Other coins can scale and have real services backing them now. Would you invest in a company that could scale and provide you value now, or a company that might possibly be able to scale in 5 years while businesses switch away? And by the way Bitshares and even Steem are far less inflationary than Bitcoin.

This comment has received a 44.44 % upvote from @upgoater thanks to: @stimialiti.

This comment has received a 19.05 % upvote from @upgoater thanks to: @stimialiti.

This comment has received a 14.39 % upvote from @upgoater thanks to: @stimialiti.

Seriously, i kept wondering that also.

Wow!!!! 6 - Ned made a platform for people to express their feelings 😁

@ned is making a big name for himself.
I would like to grow up and be like @ned
Thank you
@robertmannino

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98