To Those Who Haven't Yet, Please Go To SteemFest Next Year

in #steemfest6 years ago (edited)

IMG_9719 (1).jpg

This picture I snapped along the Vistula river symbolizes how we can do some basic legwork to make our climb to the top easier.

It's cliché, but sometimes you do simply have to work smarter, not harder. SteemFest is your ticket.

If anyone saw mud on the bathroom floor at the conference center, that was all me. Send me the bill*.

I've lost my voice from talking with so many people and it's completely worth it. I met people I never thought I'd be able to speak with and they welcomed speaking in return. Knowing faces and personalities is also vital for me. I read people well and this will help me immensely over time.

While this is great because no one will be able to push me on stage to sing at karaoke tonight, it's also meaningful because I haven't stopped having great conversations. People really do genuinely care. It's hard to believe at times. It's awesome.

After hitting a wall, I finally invested in a good night's sleep after 3 hours a night so far. Up to this point, spending downtime alone would've felt like I was wasting precious time and opportunities. Making as many new friends as possible was the priority.

While I prefer humbly listening and learning, it's a nice feeling to have people circle around you and ask you to keep speaking about passions which most of my friends at home glaze over about. It still blows my mind that people would ever come back with their friends here to tell me to take it from the top again. This has never happened before.

About the costs of coming to SteemFest... what costs?

Coming from someone who debated/bought their ticket at the last minute before going to the airport, please get on your horse and plan to come next year. I'm sold. The relationships you can make to enhance your experience, and the things you can learn about others, are simply too good to pass up.

@steemmatt

Sort:  

Come and live in Adelaide, South Australia. We get this feeling every single month. Last Thursday of the Month, The Jade, on Flinders St, from 6PM onwards.

It is wonderful to connect with real world Steemians, and see what the future of not only economies, content, and humanity is; but to make the real human connections where you can touch people, and see the genuine passion in their eyes.

If you don't want to come to Adelaide (in which case, fine!) start a local meet up. Get a regular place. Get a regular crowd. Bring a friend. Have fun. Get to know each other. Over this last year, we've had monthly meet ups, and the conversations that I've had at each and every one have been exactly what I've always craved.

Whimiscial, funny stuff one moment, in depth - deep and meaningful conversations about the nature of life, or the future of the human race should x or y event occur.

Steemians are good people.

Man, what a solid comment. Damn. Thanks.

So on point! Love this comment! And steemfest3 has inspired us to get around and meet local communities as we travel as well! ❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Steemfest is absolutely amazing! Shame I couldn't make it this year. :(

I would say have the fun for me but I know you are already! Haha. :D

Your last sentence has the same message as my last sentence in today's update. START SAVING UP! It really is magical, it really is life changing, it really is worth looking people in the eye and see who they are, what they are about. I'm absolutely overwhelmed by all the hugs and conversations and also friendly faces I'm seeing around. I'm taking a quiet day today, sleeping a bit longer as well (you were almost falling asleep at our table last night :')), processing, before being able to get back in again :-) Glad you have decided to go, despite the challenges, and I believe this means we will see each other next year for sure ;-)

@steemmatt I will in a heartbeat, that being said it is Time to have Next Years Steemfest 4 in America don't you think ??

Thanks for your comment. While the US will likely host at some point, the cost of living in other locations vs USD is mind-blowing. I think that's something to consider for people coming from all over the world in their various economies. I don't travel much, so I prefer being nudged to go see a new place in the world. If it was in the US, the cost of the SteemFest ticket/local costs might offset the savings of staying in the US, or really make it harder on more people overall around the globe.

Another thing I didn’t even think about - but a European pointed out to me - is that many people from around the world may not be able to get a visa to visit the US. On the other hand, Canadians and Americans can travel around the world much more easily.

SOLD!! I'm beginning my planning and savings to attend next year, provided I don't chicken out. I realize how many opportunities I've missed by not attending yet!

I'm so happy you're making connections and memories that will give you fodder for a great many posts ...win-win!

Well said ,I'm definitely going to try to attend next year, thanks for the follow, followed back! 👍👌✊😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey Matt, it was lovely meeting you yesterday. I hope to see you in again in the next Steemfest!

Cannot wait for the next steemfest! ❤️This was our first one, and we were like “where have we been the past 2 years!??🙈”

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80