Kraków Photos - Getting Lost In The Fog In The Middle Of The Night

in #steemfest5 years ago (edited)

I chose to take an unexpected journey in Kraków tonight. I guess that talking with @llfarms about photography and finding hidden beauty today made an impression. SteemFest at work.

I lost the urge for a night cap after our bowling trip, so I drifted off in the wrong direction to force myself get completely lost in a foggy maze. When I say lost, I mean absurdly lost.

It took me ~2 hours to find my way back to my hotel around 3:30 AM. The bar was about 8 minutes away by foot...

My phone didn't have any reception and eventually died in the cold to make it more fun. My goal was to find the river and then figure out the right direction in the dense fog. It took a while, so it wasn't as easy as it sounds.

After countless wrong turns, a maze of dark foggy streets, doubling back repeatedly, crossing beautiful bridges, and meeting friendly locals wandering around, I found the big red Qubus hotel sign peeking out from the fog over the river. The people were impressively friendly at this hour. Someone even invited me to stay at their house (hmm), but I had a mission to finish.

I'm not much of a photographer, but I took the pics below before my phone died. I tried to play with the fog and the light, but I have no idea what I'm doing. I was literally feeling around in the dark.

Please let me know what you think. Advice welcome.

A Squared

IMG_9692.jpg

Over-Embellished

IMG_9689.jpg

Wisped Away

The Wolf Of Kraków

The stray German Shepard was a trip to see in the fog. I kept calm, so it did too.

No edits outside of cropping.

My Face, Finally, And A Personal Thank You Post

Thank you,
@steemmatt

Sort:  

These photos are beautiful, great job! Looks like you're enjoying yourself in Poland. It's interesting to read about your experiences.

I'm actually also familiar with getting lost in eastern European capitals. It's fun getting lost as long as it's not in the nature.

The pictures are alright for someone who doesn't do it professionally, my question is why were you "feeling around in the dark"? They make toilets for that.

Meanwhile, how's the experience been?

I can see what you mean in playing with the light...love the 1st one.

Thanks. Those designers knew what they were doing. I was just lucky to see it.

They were, weren't they? Not all can see such things.

Talking to LLfarms does that right? Great photos, especially the first two.

Thanks a lot. The bridge made it hard to really take a bad shot.

Haha, a funny adventure. Btw what exactly is that in first picture?

Thanks for reading. It was the base of a bridge. Really trippy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00