Jet Lag, What Jet Lag?

in #steemfest4 years ago

So there I was boasting I had evaded the dreaded ‘lag’ on my last post and here I am at almost 2am writing this bloody post.

FB6F40D9-DBD0-4510-858E-5989E2FDBD60.jpeg

Trying to open apps on my phone is also tough due to the fingerprint recognition coupled together with my sweaty finger.

There’s air conditioning here but it’s not the best. I’m hoping I’m going to drop off after this writing. I don’t want to be awake all night.

CBA2D87C-D6E1-495C-84A5-0A7D6A035A4C.jpeg

I honestly thought today was the day before the main event and was rabbiting on to @gtg about the lack of people in the lobby at 15:00.

He politely set me straight about having to wait just another 24 hours before the action was about to unfold.

FAF3A4CE-FFDF-49C2-A16E-2AFADFA34067.jpeg

My brain seems to be turning to mush and the days gelling together like soft glue.

@goblinknackers and I did a little walkabout earlier which consisted of a stroll around the block.

FC48159A-6545-419E-8175-1EBFCC9D1179.jpeg

93898250-FE48-40AD-B899-6D92B60F30F3.jpeg

It’s not the best of areas as you can see. Finding something to eat other than hotel food is proving somewhat difficult as is getting @goblinknackers’ free photography.

B66B5EA5-6500-41B5-BF3C-FF18D72A49B2.jpeg

I felt sorry for this chained up Golden Retriever.

He was very friendly and did not take our hands off when we reached over the fence to pet him. The cats were just the same.

F41AC6D7-6B1F-4AF4-83C1-5AD499469EFF.jpeg

7397D497-9C3F-4E83-9BEE-7D0BDD650462.jpeg

Despite looking like slums it didn’t feel dangerous though some of these alleys were dark even in daylight.

FE6AF956-35E6-45E1-8626-9BAED95B765B.jpeg

The boats drive at some speed and there’s crossroads, or should I say cross canals where collisions could happen easily.

I wonder if this is commonplace?

95453F2C-9C98-492C-9F10-EF2BF89B74FD.jpeg

This was ‘pig’ when we asked.

Not good for @goblinknackers and I didn’t fancy taking a bite either.

This was the only street vendor we found besides fruit sellers.

51D9463C-92EF-4D15-BED7-818631F20112.jpeg

1319B33F-B2E6-45F7-B8FD-3695D3B891DC.jpeg

We conceded defeat and figured food does not exist outside of the hotel at least in the immediate vicinity.

5F57B182-220F-449C-84E0-E3A882306C52.jpeg

It was starting to get dark and darkness comes fast here.

28DD9770-557D-4EC5-BD3F-B9E96066585E.jpeg

There he is again teetering on my photography.

We ended up in a Japenese restaurant that was initially just myself and @revisesociology.

ABAE6F2E-031B-4889-A74F-08AB150DC2B6.jpeg

@goblinknackers, @gtg, another Steemian who I failed to get the name of but looked a little like @starkerz.

@bubke later joined along with @dylanhobalart and @preparedwombat who walked right past us.

After chasing him down he joined us for a few beers.

507327D0-DE4D-417D-ADCC-8D3FA416A5D9.jpeg

I’ll save the restaurant review for when I get back. @tasteem may be a little fiddly to use on my phone.

Hopefully now I can sleep and defeat the resurge of Jet Lag.

Sort:  

You hit the nail on the head. The parts that you consider 'a bit slummy' are by comparison to what we're used to but the point is, after 10 years of 'local' living in Thailand, you just don't ever seen to feel threatened by being in these less salubrious areas and you can wander and soak up the atmosphere of the new cultures and communities.
Thats the real beauty of Thailand and lets you meet real people with real lives.

Half the UK is a no go zone for me, even away from inner city areas.

Can't believe you haven't had a 7/11 toastie and crap coffee yet! Live a little man!

Posted using Partiko Android

There is a 7/11 just around the corner. I dare not eat anything else. So far I just bought bottled water there.

Food should be layed on tomorrow if it’s anything like last year.

It’s almost 3am and I’m struggling to sleep due to noisy fuckers in the next room, I might have to bang on the walls soon.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for sharing. Steemians IRL seems like a strange concept to me. The last part of the post with the Steemians in the Japanese restaurant reads like celebrity name-dropping (which of course it’s not).

Posted using Partiko iOS

SteemFest is not to be missed. We are all different shapes and sizes and many of us unconventional but we all have that goal.

Yes, there are celebrities in the arena I suppose, meeting them is a mixed bag but usually positive.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Absoluty agree with that sentiment!

Posted using Partiko Android

I’m wondering what its going to look like after a dip in the pool?!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Both epic and wet.

Posted using Partiko Android

Just wondering if you wring it out?

Posted using Partiko iOS

It does benefit from a quick squeeze before towel drying.

Wringing not required!

Posted using Partiko Android

Never had one so I need to learn from a master!

Posted using Partiko iOS

You might be interested in my forthcoming Udemy course: how to grow a beard.

I'll gice you a discount seeing as you just gave me the idea!

Posted using Partiko Android

I think steemians should put in a name tag so that other steemians would recognize each other @slobberchops
Enjoy your trip and stay out from Lady boys :P

Haha thanks for the warning. I heard massages are long and cheap here.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Jetlag is always worse on the return trip...

I tend to cope better going back, it’s like going back in time going the other way.

That’s my previous experience. It depends which way around the world your going I suppose.

Posted using Partiko iOS

My wife always denied she had jet lag until I After she came home from China once had to confront her. Why was she getting up in the middle of the night to paint the celling, how come she fell asleep before dinner. After that reckoning we do not talk about it any more. She is not fact resistant.

Bangkok is splendid and sauna like - I hope you will really enjoy the trip. But... not without this ol' horrorshow.

Ack, that bloody song has been an ear worm since I arrived. I had temporarily forgot about it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow, that is pretty cool. It looks like a crazy place to visit. It is cool that you were able to meet up with all of those people already. If it was @starkerz he seems to be a pretty cool guy. I can't wait to read more of your posts about all of the stuff you are doing there. Sorry that it has been so hard for you to find food.

It wasn’t @starkerz. I have met the real man already, this person just looked a little like him.

That was someone else’s observation not mine. Getting handles can be tough. Most of us have crazy names so it often does not come across in conversation.

I did ask him and well... that happened again. I will find out his real name when we get the badges tomorrow.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Must be a good Looking young man

Indeed, is the real item himself making an appearance? Team GB is looking rather forlorn so far.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Excellent lo-down.

I feel for that golden retriever.
When in Bali we saw a house that kept a caged porcupine. The taxi dude said that was fairly normal. What a waste of life.

Interesting there was hardly much street food. I thought it would be buzzing but I guess it depends on the locality.

Only 24 hours to wait. Enjoy the event!

I personally have one of this breed. They are lovely friendly dogs and this was no exception.
It’s terrible to see them chained up.

There plenty of cats everywhere, all are very friendly and they don’t run away like most of ours do.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I m at the poolside, where do i see u

Already found ya!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I too am in the jet lagged crew. Wow, tonight's pool party will be fuelled by caffeine rather than alcohol. I found a 711 near the hotel and they had street food outside. I tried the mall - the main door was locked but for some reason a back elevator/lift was not. It was like walking into a Thai horror movie. Going to try for a couple more hours of sleep.

Posted using Partiko Android

Woo I didn’t know you were coming, bonus.. will be good to meet you. No dog with carry bag this time?! 😁

Posted using Partiko iOS

Unfortunately she had to stay home so I had to carry my own luggage.

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol, your dog is way cool. She would get on great with my Golden retriever.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57810.33
ETH 2939.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70