Steemfest II vs. devcon3: Battle Royale

in #steemfest7 years ago (edited)

I was chatting with @zandy earlier who is heading for Europe to live the nomadic life. Naturally, I suggested to him that he consider attending Steemfest II the first week of November, as the first Steemfest was a such a memorable event for me (thanks @roelandp!), and as such I fully plan to attend Steemfest II with my team, @agoric.systems (We'll be coming out of stealth soon).

Screen Shot 2017-06-16 at 8.17.56 AM.png

It was at this point I learned that the November 1st to 5th dates for Steemfest II conflict with devcon3, as he intends to attend devcon3 as a speaker on behalf of MKR.

So naturally, in the spirit of healthy competition and light hearted fun, I decided to stack the two conferences up against each other in a Battle Royale!

Price


If last year is any indication to the pricing we'll see for Steemfest this year, this is one of the best deals on a conference that I've encountered. I believe the ticket price was $140 SBD, for 3 days including meals every day of the conference. I believe Steemit Inc helped to subsidize these costs. There was one day of typical conference format talks, the other days were designed to get everyone out into Amsterdam, seeing the sights and networking / making introductions with each other. There was also a community funded travel reimbursement fund that greatly helped many attendees; I used it myself to offset the price of my ticket by about $200. Look for the @t-r-f account if you'd like to pitch in or request help in getting out to Lisbon this year! Lastly, the block pricing on hotel was very affordable; 285 Euro for 3 nights in at the Volkshotel. What a great time!

As for devcon3, the current going price for a ticket is $900 (and possibly higher), making this conference much less accessible to lower income people. I have not heard anything regarding a travel reimbursement fund, but it does look like there is also "preferred hotels" which likely indicates that there is block pricing available.

Winner: Steemfest II


I had the opportunity to chat with @ned and @riverhead. A couple of excellent gents! Picture courtesy of @steemychicken1

Location


Lisbon, Portugal vs Cancun, Mexico. I've never been to either place, so I don't feel right attempting to stack them up. I will say, I do love traveling to Europe!

Winner: Draw

Style


I think the format of a conference is very important for getting the most out of your time. Having too many talks back to back is draining, and it's hard to start focused for days on end of talks, in my humble opinion. Instead, when there is an interactive element to the conference to facilitate meeting and socializing with others, I think you can learn a lot that way in a more unstructured format. If Steemfest II is anything like Steemfest, there will be a mix of talks as well as lots of interactive things to do along the way... and possibly even a day dedicated to leaving the "conference HQ" and getting out into the city.

devcon3 looks to have 3 days of 8 AM - 5 PM conference style talks, with the last day ending a little short with 8 AM - 3:50 PM. I'm sure there will be plenty of socializing and getting together of ETH heads after hours, but with ~30 hours of talks over 4 days, it seems like it will be easy to become overloaded with information.

Winner: Steemfest II

Picture courtesy of @steemychicken1

Hackathon
I haven't been able to find any information regarding a hackathon at devcon3, there is a hackathon planned for Steemfest II though, on October 31st!

Winner: Steemfest II

Audience
devcon3 is purportedly an Ethereum conference "for developers, by developers." This conference is centric more on the technology itself, with less emphasis on the community. Steemfest II on the other hand, will be geared towards all Steemians, both technical and non-technical. There is bound to be plenty of technical discussions, especially at the hackathon, but the idea here is to celebrate the Steem community that has formed around this wonderful platform. I think it's really important to go beyond the technology and connect with people.

Winner: Steemfest II


Picture courtesy of @steemychicken1

I may be biased (hell, I am definitely biased) but when I compare these two events head-to-head, there is only one clear winner! Steemfest II will be a blast and I cannot wait to see everyone there.

Cheers,
Rob

Sort:  

Hahah well atleast all the cool kid will be at Steemfest!

We doin' this, mayne! Gonna be rolling ultra deep.

Can't waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaait!

Yessir we are!

Sounds amazing. Not gunna lie, a bit jealous....

You could always plan to go to Steemfest II!

No money for that right now. Maybe one day though!

Ill keep upvoting you to try helping out!

Lol thanks man. It might take some time though

Thanks, I'll check it out!

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)A really good read thank you for sharing

Such a cool events. Surely a good place for networking. Upvoted!

Congratulations @robrigo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53