I Am Amsterdam - My SteemFest Experience - Day 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemfest8 years ago

SteemFest was an outstanding time! Eveyone who came together to make it happen did an excellent job and it seemed to me that the event went off without a hitch. I enjoyed everything about SteemFest and Amsterdam. I took lots of photos and had many great experiences so I will probably break it up into 3 posts. Here are the highlights of the trip!

Also, I am thankful to everyone who worked on making SteemFest happen. I can think of several people to thank but I know I would leave some out so I just will say thank you to everyone! I enjoyed meeting and talking with you all.

I had more time to talk with @juanmiguelsalas and @ballinconscious and I am glad we got to know each other a bit more. I can be a bit of an introvert around new people but I actually had a great time meeting so many fellow Steemians! I expected there to be an awesome, varying group of people and my expectations where more than met!


photo taken by @lindseylambz

Thats me in black, standing in front of the "S". This pic was actually taken on the 3rd day. We found this after we left the Van Gogh Museum. Apparently there is an "I Am Amsterdam sign at the airport as well but we didn't see that one. More on that later.

There is a sea of bicycles in Amsterdam! I took this pic right after coming out of the main train station in the city center. Amsterdam is great city for biking and you have to watch out for bikes and stay off the bike path because they are constantly wizzing by. We had planned to rent bikes from VolkesHotel but ended up walking or using the Metro any where we went. We walked and rode the Metro to many different places, but I still plan on going back to Amsterdam, because there is still much to be seen!

I already posted this pic from our first stop at the Bulldog Hostel, but this is the only pic I took at a coffee shop. I really enjoy the Bulldog as far shops in the center go. The Bulldog is a very commercial coffee shop but thats what gives it some benefits over the others. Thats the only place I found the 4 packs of White Widow reefers. They also have a bar and lounge right next to the coffee shop and you can smoke cannabis there too! That's nice because most places you can drink, you are not allowed to smoke.

The VolksHotel was also a great experience. For me, the room was comfortable and the bar and lobby areas were a great place to visit with Steemians. I wish I would have had more time to do that but I guess I will have to wait for the next SteemFest. We were exhausted when we finally checked in, so we rested for a bit and then went for a walk early in the evening.

The first night we walked to the Green House Coffee Shop location that was only about 15 minutes from VolksHotel. To me, the walk itself was awesome because when I came to Amsterdam on my first trip, I only saw the city center. On this trip, I really enjoyed exploring outside of the city center. On the way to the shop we crossed a canal and tried to capture how pretty the lights were reflecting off of the water!

The Green House location near the VolksHotel was my overall favorite coffee shop. It was very chill and they had very good products. My favorite was the Amnesia Haze and the Amnesia Cream. It was a bit more expensive than some other shops not in the city center, but in my opinion, it was worth it.

The next post will have much more about the actual SteemFest at the Tobacco Theatre on Day 2!

Sort:  

thank you once more for joining in, it seems like you guys had a great experience and did the full amsterdam itinerary :)

We did! Thank YOU @roelandp! As Ned said, you did an incredible job on every detail!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.39 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 14 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

awesome pics thanks for sharing these

Ey Richard :-) it was so funny when u were looking at the map in the darkness of that tunnel :-)

hahaha, yeah it was :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67167.83
ETH 3499.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81