You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemFest²: Bridging the Gap Between Perception and Reality

in #steemfest7 years ago (edited)

Good post, Luke. Regarding the method of communicating with steem(it) representatives, I don't really buy Ned's reasoning. Most other large social companies have public feedback forums or avenues. Facebook is notoriously bad for responding to theirs, but off the top of my head companies like Google, Microsoft and Adobe are pretty good at officially interacting with their support forums. I see no reason why steem(it) can't be the same.

Sort:  

Of the companies you listed, only Facebook is a social media company. From what I understand, in the early days, Facebook had plenty of issues and didn't have any public feedback or support forums. I have high expectations for support and communication as well, but if they are working to keep the site functioning, maybe that's their best place to focus time. The nice thing is, if you want to discuss it with them directly, you can email them. Most of the steemit employees have their email addresses as their steemit user name followed by @steemit.com.

I hear you though. I had the very same expectations, but having met the development team directly and gotten a better sense of the amount of work they've been doing lately, I get it now. I have a bit more understanding than I had before.

I personally think that developers are generally hopeless at communication. Perhaps it's the higher prevalence of autistic people in the field. I'm a dev (although not as good as the steem(it) peeps), and a little bit autistic, so I understand why communicating with people is the last thing a dev wants to do when there is coding to do. But this is still no excuse for a company structure to be apparently less than optimal at communication.

Having said all that, and perhaps because I'm a little bit autistic, I just plug along and do my own thing regardless of whether they are communicating or not. It would be better if communication was better, but I'm more interested in coding and looking into random subjects to see if I can find some interesting angles to challenge my brain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50