You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Road To Steemfest: The Time Is Now!

in #steemfest6 years ago

@cryptogee,

Hey mate. I'm glad to see you're finally off. I'm sure the trip will be great fun and I have high expectations for your speech.

Indeed, knowing that you Brits are trained as orators, I decided to do a post featuring your speech. Given the momentous nature of the occasion, I corralled two guest commentators: The first is a Professor of Linguistics who runs The Center for Excellence in Elocution at the University of Florida; and, the second, is an ex-FBI Instructor in Body Language.

I've set up a small video studio at my place and we'll be streaming LIVE both before and after your speech.

I asked them if they had any advice for you. Here's their recommendations:

1.) Ignore the fact that there will be tens-of-thousands of people WATCHING YOU, judging your every move and uttered syllable. The fact that the video of your performance will remain on the blockchain, forever, and publicly accessible by everyone, including your grandchildren ... ought not even enter your mind.

2.) Remember to "project power" with your body language. No matter how brilliant your speech, looking like a "wet rag" will DRAMATICALLY diminish the effect of the performance. Be particularly cognizant of your facial expressions, body posture and hand gestures.

3.) Humor is a very potent oratorical skill ... but it is EXTREMELY easy to screw up. Even the slightest misstep in timing or delivery can turn an otherwise hilarious quip into an utter debacle. So ... make sure you get it right.

Well, other than that, I guess I don't have much to say.

Good luck Ol' Chap ... and have fun.

Quill

Sort:  

Haha! No pressure then!!

Thanks for the support, have been a bit awol lately :-)

Hopefully I won't disappoint!

Cg

@cryptogee,

What are friends for?

Quill

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53615.59
ETH 2344.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13