Why on earth did I get a slot to speak at Steemfest?

in #steemfest7 years ago (edited)

Honestly, you'll have to ask @roelandp why.

At the risk of repeating myself, this is who I am. I am a father, a husband, a dog caretaker, a software developer, a former skydiver, a Grateful Dead fan, and just for the moment, a fence builder. Compared to many coming to Steemfest, I'm somewhat of an old guy, which just means I have a head full of useless trivia on top of everything else. Nonetheless, I am humbled and honored to be given a presentation allotment.

Generally I am a quiet person, which is why you don't see a lot of posts from me. Further, most things I would have to say have already been said by others, and an occupational hazard for people in my line of work is an abhorrence of redundancy. So I tend not to post on events because I know that someone else has, or I know that some authority will have something to say soon enough, so by the time I would get around to posing something it is redundant.

Why did I ask to put myself on the stage in front the lot of you? I did it because as a software developer I have a long history of developing open source software, particularly in the domain of distributed computing. Both of which are concepts that also define the SteemIt application code and the Graphene blockchain at its core. Of course there will be many Steemians who are far more knowledgeable than I on the details of the SteemIt software. I have no intention of trying to one-up any of them or even pretend I am part of their club. Rather I intend to show more of an outside-in view of adopting SteemIt for use in developing other blockchains. Even this topic - in general - violates my "don't be redundant" guideline, but from the perspective of "What did Phil learn from using SteemIt" it is unique.

Ultimately this boils down to my desire to go to Lisbon for a fantastic vacation, but given the forum, and my opinion that I have something of value to contribute, lead me to make a request of @roelandp. He obviously agreed with me and granted me twenty minutes of presentation time. So please join me for a little show-and-tell.

Of course if you would like to talk about dogs, skydiving, the Dead, or anything else, that's fine too!

P.S. I would like to say "hey" to my fellow Steemfest speaker @opheliafu and her husband, whom I happened to encounter at an event in London this past Tuesday. Also, I would like to apologize for admittedly not hearing her name clearly over the din of the crowd and the music, and therefore initially mistaking her for another speaker. She handled my babbling with grace and I appreciate that!

P.P.S. My wife and I are very excited about coming to Steemfest but neither of us speak Portuguese, I hope that kindly Steemians who do speak the language will be interested in joining us on jaunts around the city after the informational portion of Steemfest is over. I have no doubt there are many of you planning to attend, so I am certain this won't be an issue. Still it's worth putting out there.

Sort:  

I really enjoyed your post, thank you for sharing with us. Enjoy the vote!

Hi Phil! I really wish I was coming to steemfest. I would definitely attend your talk. I've no doubt it will be uniquely interesting....your perspective has so much to offer. Despite the vast disparity in knowledge between us, (you are a whale sir,) I found our conversations the other day to be humour filled, enlightening and inspiring. Steemfest is very lucky to have you indeed. Best of luck and please, you must do a post on it whether anyone else does or not! ;)

Hi Ben! Thanks for those kind words. I will do my best to post about my Steemfest experience.

BTW, my name is "Phillip" and I typically go by just "Phil." I point this out not to be pedantic, but there is a funny story about "Philip." I almost didn't make it to London last week because my ticket was originally booked as "Philip" and I didn't realize until I tried to check in. Delta deferred to Virgin Atlantic, VA deferred to Travelocity, and Travelocity refused to make the change unless I paid a $300 fee! In the end, the young lady in my office who did the original booking got it fixed, but for the want of an L I nearly missed that trip!

Dear oh dear oh dear. That is one sticky situation with a rather hefty price-tag! I'm so sorry for stirring those unpleasant memories! ;) If it's alright by you, I'll go with Phil.

I thought you're part of EOS team?

will steem be on top of EOS

Hi, @n-ur,

I am the leader of a team doing bespoke blockchain application development as well as other development work, including EOS. However, for my presentation at SteemFest, I am emphasizing our use of Graphene as provided in Steem, which is a rich, vibrant, and open source platform for such development work today. Will you be there?

Regarding Steem/EOS, my opinion is that while it may be technically possible, I don't think there is a compelling business reason to do so. The maxim, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it," applies here.

Disclaimer: I have no insight into the business plans of either organization. All opinions expressed here are mine alone, although others may have expressed similar views.

Best regards,
Phil

Nope can't yet (steemfest)

Dear @philmesnier, it's roelandp, not roland...

Wow! Right you are. Thanks for pointing that out. I've updated my text, hopefully I've caught them all.

Its because you are a wise man. No one wants to listen to the nonsense of people trying to figure out life. Just make sure you talk about #paragliding some where in there. Skydiving is over rated. (winking noise) I do want to sky dive eventually, I just need to nail down this paragliding thing.

Hah, thanks! I've never tried paragliding. Maybe that is something to try in Lisbon?

Coming soon @philmesnier paragliding on d-tube😂

That would indeed be something to watch!

Hi @philmesnier

I am attending Steemfest 2 and glad that the speakers are starting to emerge with blogs with a sort of re-introduction like you have here.

I'm wondering if all the speakers are going to do this, and perhaps they can be compiled into one place for all the attendees.

See you there!

Asher @abh12345

Hi Asher,

There already is a collection of all the speakers on steemfest.com. I believe most of the speakers already have very substantial blogs. I did this post because I am somewhat of an anomaly - a speaker with a very shallow blog presence. I am trying to break out of that quiet mode of operation though.

See you in 5 weeks!

Hi!

Yes I've seen the steemfest.com site, and although there is a very short piece of text under the speaker images, the link is back to their steemit.com home. From there, you may have to do some fair digging to find 'about me' posts. A link to the most recent update, or even better, a blog structured for the event would be really cool I think.

See you in 5!

Great to meet you, and looking forward to seeing you and your wife at SteemFest Lisbon. I couldn't hear at the London venue either, all that trendy background music!

Congratulations @philmesnier! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64071.08
ETH 2763.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66