Speed bumps on my way to SteemFest

in #steemfest7 years ago

Yesterday I was thinking that at T-minus-3-weeks I thought I should check my flight reservations and see about picking seats, etc. I have a fairly complex itinerary that was necessary to save several hundred dollars.

()

Bump!
Imagine my surprise when I logged on to the Swiss Air site to find that the flight from New York to Zurich had vanished from my itinerary! Oy. Fortunately this turned out to be only a speed bump, although they tried to blame the booking agency by the next morning my missing flight reappeared.

This prompted me to check my hotel reservation to make sure all is well there. Get the email with a link to the confirmation page and click on it.

Bump!
Dammit, wouldn't you know it has no record of my reservation! This also turned out to be but a speed bump. I called in a panic and got through to a nice English speaking young lady who assured me my reservation was intact, they had just updated their website so the old links no longer worked.

Personally I find it stunning that either of these events occurred. In my case, had I shown up at the airport in New York to find I had no ticket for the flight to Zurich that would have been a serious problem. In the case of the hotel website, I wonder how many dozens or hundreds of people like me needlessly called their help desk simply because they couldn't figure out how to redirect an old link to a new page.

On the positive side, I will happily say that this is likely to be the worst thing to happen, and therefore the rest of SteemFest will be wonderful!

See you all soon
-Phil

image source: http://www.secure-lane.com/Rubber_Speed_Bump.jpg

Sort:  

@philmesnier, SteemFest is amazing, success is always for the masters.

Congratulations @philmesnier! You have received a personal award!

SteemFest 2 Attendee SteemFest 2 Attendee
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great post and I wish steemit had a sticky or pin option because this is one of those special posts.

Thanks! I suppose that's what upvoting is for.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00