You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemFest²: Bridging the Gap Between Perception and Reality

in #steemfest7 years ago

Thank you for giving me some insights in core development! Recently i defended Steemit Inc. but also asked critical questions. I was touched by a direct answer by @andrarchy in one of my posts about the design changes of Steemitboard. That showed me open ears at Steemit Inc. for the community and now i see he takes the challenge to get in direct contact via Email. 👍 That's nothing i take for granted, because there could be a lot of traffic for him now. 😁

From my experience working over a decade with own dev team for software i know how hard it is for developers to met all the needs of customers and inhouse communication of current progress.

It's always a double edged sword as you showed also with marketing. You need the right measure. But a basic communication, even if it's just to silence a bit the rumors and reduce FUD could be helpful. As you experienced human perception could be far away from reality. I learned that with bug tracking in software. A user perceives something as fault of the developer but then surprise surprise the fault was the person behind the computer not the software.. and i was the fault. In my personal development i learned to withstand my initial perception and step back before i make a judgement.. but often i fail also now.. but i try and think i'd improved my abilities to judge in favor of developers, the team and company.

You wrote in the introduction:

"I was not disappointed."

what do you think about

"I was delighted!"

Last year i organized a workshop in my company for improving customer communication and to kill the "double negation language".. to express something good or positive, we say two times NO to say YES! 😉 and what surprises me is even the programmer who always strives for the most efficient code uses such cumbersome language instead of simplifying it and make it just positive and motivating for all.

I'm german, no natural english writer or speaker but instantly i felt a bit of negativity with your statement or at least some doubts. My takeaway from your great post is, Steemit, SMT, the community prepares for a paradigm shift in social media which will disrupt exsisting solutions, which will be a wakeup call for users of know platforms AND the established platform developers! I hold my SP and will give my support, my opinions and knowledge whenever i can here. STEEM ON! no doubts, give 100% trust to make that huge!

Thank you for all the efforts!

Sort:  

Great reply, @onetin84, thank you!

I think it's accurate to say I do have some doubts. As I mentioned, I don't quite understand or agree with the communication styles of Ned or Sneak and they represent the leadership of the company. I was certainly delighted about aspects of what I learned (how great the dev team is, for example), but also had some concerns (they will get burned out if kept on this pace for too long). I don't have 100% trust, and I'm not even sure what could ever give me that level of trust. This is pioneering stuff here which requires new approaches, new tools, and new economics. I don't think anyone really knows what will happen, so some skepticism is wise, IMO.

I too would like to see more communication during times of turmoil. Maybe we'll see that more in the future as the team grows and the technology stack settles. Either way, STEEM ON seems like a great approach for now because this is an amazing blockchain, an amazing team, and an incredible community. That definitely delights me with no double negatives involved. :)

I think everything is so young now, the team incrementally improves itself on the journey, it's abilities to communicate and also to set realistic goals while maintaining the enthusiasm for a big impact in the scene. Everything needs time and patience. If i look for the start since 2016 it's amazing what was accomplished so far as you mentioned, a staggering pace to build such user and content base from nothing. If i look at the beginnings of Facebook, to be fair the technology was far behind of now but they needed many years to build what it is now, the look, feel, easy handling for all platforms and the great integration everywhere.

In the end and that's my point of view it's better to build one uniqe and outstanding product than many mediocre fireball like concepts. Because no one pays for mediocrity, just for the best and so Steemit should be one of the key elements in the strategy to show the world how a perfect example, also for SMT can look like, like a beacon in the darkness.

Thank you for the thoughts on that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63294.77
ETH 2638.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70