You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Veni, Vidi, Vici! SteemFest 2016—Together, WE made it happen! Thank you Steemians!

in #steemfest8 years ago

I'd love to do a motorcycle tour with you to Ladakh.

After spending several years trying to get permission to do the journey (back in the old days when most of Ladakh was a military restricted zone), I finally got it. The day I was going to go, they were out of petrol in Manali. On my way down to Kulu to gas up, I made the first 100 or so degrees of a hair pin turn, went over the bank, and landed in the third rice paddy down - the Royal Enfield on top of my legs.

So, I still haven't been to Leh. But it is definitely on my bucket list!

Great job on the Fest!

Sort:  

Thank you so much for your kind words and for sharing this fact. Next time you are here and interested in riding there let me know. It would be great to do it together on a motorbike or car for sure! It's so much easier nowadays to get there and many areas are open to citizens of other countries now! The roads are also much better now! Back when you lived there, there were hardly any roads beyond Rohtang, that's if Rohtang had any roads at all! :D You will totally love doing this trip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66512.58
ETH 3313.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68