Aussie Minnow wants to go to Steemfest - Please help me get there ..

in #steemfest7 years ago

Screen Shot 2017-06-24 at 10.49.15 PM.png

G'day I'm Nikki a 39 year Young Goddess from Australia. I've only been on Steemit for 5 days now and I'm loving it ..

FullSizeRender 61.jpg
Aussie, Aussie, Aussie... Oi, Oi, Oi

So a bit about me !!!!
I live in Geelong a beautiful bay City 45 mins south of Melbourne, I live with my King Mark and our two spoilt babies, Sasha & Harley (who are snuggled up with me on the couch now as I type this) they often make it very hard to type as they love to get on my lap and push my laptop out of the way ... ( anyone with fur babies will totally understand and agree ..lol )

FullSizeRender 62.jpg
Meet Sasha & Harley ..

I've had a few different careers over my life and worked in Hospitality, Beauty, Sales, Seminars and events, Sightseeing day tours, teaching hospitality and I even hosted Adult Toy Party Plan for 3 years.

For the last 6 years I have been working in Fashion as a stylist/ Sales Assistant for City Chic which is a plus Sized clothing store, not many people get to say they love their job - I DO - I get to help woman feel beautiful finding the perfect outfit for a special occasion, and who doesn't love dress up's ... I could easily be a professional shopper and shop every day ... I love it ... i just don't have the income to support my addition to clothes and accessories ..

For the past 9 years I have been volunteering with a charity called Magic Moments - Basket Brigade, We pack and deliver Christmas hampers for families struggling financially .. last year in Melbourne we gave hampers of food and toys to 500 families .. It is such a great feeling that filled my heart with Joy..
Last last year I was appointed as Basket Brigade National Coordinator, looking after the 10 brigades Australia Wide.
We have 55 committee members and 1600 volunteers that helped 4,169 families nationally with hampers of food and toys.

Screen Shot 2017-04-10 at 6.21.19 PM.png

What could I offer ...
I worked in the seminar and event industry for almost 5 years so I have a wealth of knowledge as far as running events goes and happy to help logistically, I can give constructive feedback from my years of seeing what worked and what didn't.

I am Extrovert and love meeting people, infact I'm a great connecter, I'm really good at "oh you need to speak to Such 'n'such let me introduce you" when talking with someone that I know would connect really well with someone else.

With years and thousands of hours of sitting in seminars listening to speakers talking on everything from financial education, mindset, motivation, sales, marketing, real estate, stocks, internet marketing and so much I have a wide variety of knowledge on lots of topics....
The one I'm still very RAW on ..is Steemit, in the few days I've probably watch about 20+ hours of videos on what Steemit is all about and I'm really excited to crank it up ... I know there is still so much to learn and being the seminar junkie that I am attending would be an awesome experience.

I wouldn't say I'm a computer wiz (I'm no hacker or programer) but i'm pretty savvy and know a little about a lot online .. and always happy to share my knowledge with those willing to listen.

I have almost 160,000 views on one of my You Tube channels, I am sole admin of a plus size buy swap sell clothing Facebook group with 2,800 members ( I made it a secret group to keep the scammers out )

Screen Shot 2017-06-25 at 1.31.48 AM.png

I've been in a the Media ..
media.jpg

I'm very excited to learn more about Steemit .. as I'm mentioned I've only been on less than a week and have already put up 4 posts, I wrote an (unpublished) book about my life so far, what I learnt working in the seminar industry, Living with a rare brain disease and having 6 brain surgeries and how I live with gratitude everyday living my best life possible. I cant wait to share many more posts of my life and everything I've learnt over the years.

IMG_2087.JPG

Now .. As I live in Australia the Cheapest flights were just under $1,400AUS ( after all it is 38 hours of travel time.. perfect time to write heaps ) ..
As I'm so far Away and my flights are much more expensive than someone more local, I would be willing to cover my own accommodation and airport transfers and spending money... ( don't worry i'll crowd fund it ) .. but more than happy to accept a few drinks at the bar while networking and mingling.. :)
But if you want to twist my arm and throw in some $$ for accom i'll accept but I would be just really grateful for the flights ..

FullSizeRender 60.jpg

FullSizeRender 59.jpg

I am just a little fish in a big ocean, ready, willing and excited to learn more about it ...
This is a an amazing opportunity and I wish everyone all the very best and hopefully get to meet many of you in person one day ... cos as awesome as it is to connect with people from all over the world while sitting on your couch in your P'J's .. its so much better to meet and connect in person..

Thank you for this Opportunity @aggroed , @ausbitbank @teamsteem @canadian.coconut and @benjojo You are a beautiful Humans for offering a newbie Minnow a chance to grow and learn with the big whales ... xx many blessings to you x

To watch me in person ..This is My motivational speech in front of 1800 people sharing my experiences about volunteering and was then awarded with Volunteer of the Year. Massive honour.

signature.jpg

Sort:  

hey. your a finalist... no 2nd post?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61567.88
ETH 3447.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50