You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEMFEST - Recap of Day Two

in #steemfest7 years ago

wonderful city for sure, I spent 8 months there out of college...would have loved to go to steemfest there and am so pleased everyone had such a great experience, once again smiling as I read this and every steemfest report :-))))

Sort:  

Thanks, @natureofbeing! I'm sure living there for 8 months really gave you a different perspective than going there for vacation. My wife and In absolutely fell in love with the place. I can see us even living there part of the year. We've downloaded Dutch into Duolingo and are already practicing. : )

I too liked living there although it was in 1989-90 and it was MUCH more provincial. I was working in a small village 6 km outside of Amsterdam and literally had kids throw rocks at me because I was a foreigner and had a few bad experiences along these lines in Amsterdam itself. Thank goodness for th internet...I'm sure this wouldn't happen now! But all in all, I really liked the city. Dutch, hope it better for you than it did for me, languages usually come easily for me but I had a really hard time with Dutch.

Wow, that's too bad you had that experience. It sounds like things have really changed there since then! We're just into the very basics now of learning the language but it doesn't look easy. I started learning Mandarin Chinese and French a while back but didn't progress very far due to lack of time.

wow Mandarin...that's a challenge!!! Love French, it was my minor in college so I was conversationally fluent at that time but sadly can barely remember how to carry a sentence at this point, lol. Anyway, have fun with DUtch, I'm sure you will do better than my few words and phrases I managed to gain.

I didn't progress much beyond simple phrases. It was difficult!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63748.21
ETH 3314.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90