Steemfest3: registration and Welcome drinks at the Qubus hotel

in #steemfest6 years ago (edited)

Wow, where do I even begin? There is still so much to process. Yes, it was my second Steemfest, but I think that makes things even harder in the end. But of course, I am only at the day of the registration and welcome drinks, so you'll be spared of the emotional 'end' of Steemfest. At least for me.

P1000101.JPG

I am pretty sure I started my first after-Steemfest post in a similar way last year, it was something like this:
As I am staring out my window from behind my desk, the reality of the real world after Steemfest is hitting hard.
It's not unusual for rain to occur in Ireland of course, but today it just seems to make matters even worse.
A time-machine would come in damn handy, and if I had one, I would probably bolt it shut to those couple of days in Krakow, maybe add some Lisbon to it as well, while I'm at it.
Ahhh, dreams...

My first full day in Krakow started with a little accident. If you haven't yet, you can read about it here:
https://steemit.com/steemfest/@misslasvegas/road-to-and-from-steemfest-re-cap-interesting-conversations-davinci-flyers-and-the-black-eye

Lucky for me, the rest of my time in this amazing city was great, without any noteworthy incidents.
Right after they 'released' me from the ambulance, I went to the hotel to hand in the flyers and as I was greeting someone I knew from last year (I don't remember who it was, I blame the pink pill), there was another who listened to my story and I can now count this as my first hug of the Steemfest. @illucifer, thank you! It meant a lot! And it was exactly what I needed. I went back to the apartment shortly after that for check-out, and to move to our next apartment.
I would come back in the evening.

The night of the welcome drinks at the Qubus hotel was one of re-connecting with people from last year's event, and even talking to some people I hadn't met yet. It was great to see these people again. It's like meeting old friends after a long time.
One of the first people I saw and who I hadn't met in person yet, but recognized right away was @bubke.
When I called his name, he turned around and greeted me with the biggest smile and laugh ever. We hugged as if we'd known each other for years and that was exactly what it felt like.
He is part of the @ecotrain people, and every single one of them is very close to my heart.
I was entering a contest a couple of weeks ago, to win a ticket for Steemfest, when I saw he entered too. I was rooting for him to win, and he did! (not sure if it was the same contest, but either way: it worked!). The man came all the way from India to be part of this, and I am glad he did!

After this, I went inside to register for the event. All of the crew members present were asking how I was, and luckily I was able to tell them that I was alright. They were all worried about me, but there was nothing to worry about. If anything, I felt like I was the luckiest person on earth to still stand there and talk to them.

After I registered, I walked back outside to find a few of the people I got to know better last year.
@scan0017, @future24, @lex030 and @peixeboi. It was great to see them again, where did the year go?
Jonas (@future24) and Alex (@lex030) brought another friend with them who became a Steemian not long after Steemfest in Lisbon and I had been talking to him a few times since. @datristan greeted me like we'd known each other for years and Steemfest was ready to begin.

You'll have to forgive me, because I only took two photos of the same people that night, I wasn't really thinking about it at all. I posted one yesterday, but here you go, I'll do it again:

P1000106.JPG
@nanzo-scoop and @scan0017 looking great, as ever!

I made it to Steemfest and survived Krakow! 🤣

When I walked back to my apartment about 600 metres up the road from the hotel, it was like I was walking on air and I had so much energy, when I came home, I had to sit in the bathroom for a few minutes with the shower on to bring myself back to earth. Sure, the little pink pill the ambulance man gave me that day and the alcohol could have had something to do with it, but for most part it was the people. There is a different kind of energy with all these Steemians present in one space, it's like a whole different consciousness. Very hard to describe to someone who wasn't there.

Next year you will just have to come as well!

Thank you for reading!

imageedit_19_8293094582.gif

steemitrevolutionmisslasvegas.gif

steemitrevolution.gif

Sort:  

It was so great finally meeting you <3 I'm really glad you made it (despite the weird circumstances!)
And yeah, @bubke is definitely one of the coolest dudes I met at SF <3
already looking forward to next year. This is addictive!

I KNOW!!! And great to finally meet you too! To be honest, I was expecting someone older. You're very wise :) Yes, I am glad to have made it too and not spend the days in hospital. Jeezz, what a couple of days we had though. I am still buzzing with excitement and counting down already for next year!

Haha I get that all the time :D I love telling people I'm 19, it's always a shock :)) Thank you!! <3
They were amazing! I'm still super-excited too <3 It's like we were in a different world - I loved every minute of it and really can't wait for next time! (I just hope it's somewhere doable)

I wish I was there with all of you amazing steemians.
Would love to meet you all in person and have a great time like you said.
Enjoy the rest of the steemfest and stay in my beautiful birth country.

Unfortunately, Steemfest is over already. Yes, you will have to come next year, you won't regret it @joalvarez!
And I will definitely go back to visit Poland again.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=misslasvegas
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=steemfest3-registration-and-welcome-drinks-at-the-qubus-hotel


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi @misslasvegas!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.440 which ranks you at #2073 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 81 places in the last three days (old rank 2154).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 252 contributions, your post is ranked at #117.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63835.35
ETH 2630.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82