SteemFest2 Here we come 10 hours to the off and counting!

in #steemfest7 years ago (edited)

Less than 24 hours to go til we (@s0u1 and I) set off for the first leg of our trip to Lisbon – Luton Airport.

It’s getting exciting now, but I still have loads to do!

The engineer for Virgin Media was booked for an appointment to sort out the connection – promises of whistles and bells from Virgin Media included better connection, faster download speeds (well, they couldn’t very well get slower at 8MB at times), AND the engineer would also manage ALL our devices and ensure they were adapted to the router to 100% perfection (or as near as dammit) – optimum settings.

I still needed (wanted) to go shopping for a few nice new clothes – HUSH! I do need new clothes!

I needed to make sure we had enough dog food for Bear and Cassie so Dani (daughter @danielles) didn’t have to go out during the week we’ll be away and fetch it.


Bear and me


Bear now... getting old, but thanks to his diet, he has excellent teeth!


Cassie, Mia, Spook and Dani (@danielles)

I had to contact my client and update her on the editing job.

I also had to go to the optician and fetch my prescription.

No panic… no need for a list… you’d think.

Dani – “Mum, can you make Becky a birthday card please?”

Me – “Sure, when for?”

Dani – “Wednesday…”

Me – “So you need it today?”

Dani – “Oh, could I also have a Get Well Soon card too, please?”

Me – “Sure. But first, shopping!”

Priorities!

2 car parks, half a dozen shops, 4 shops where we actually bought something and we were good to go.

On the way back to the car park and the final shop, I said, “Let’s just go home?” Dani agreed. On the way home, we detoured to fetch the dog food.

The dogs are large (hungry) beasties and they do like their food. They eat two meals a day, a lb of frozen (thawed) green tripe and a scoop of dried food. The tripe was what I needed to fetch, but the pet shop had none!

Thinking on my feet, I paid for the tripe and asked for it to be delivered tomorrow. Success!

Home to wait for the engineer – plenty of time before the allotted time (between 12 and 4).

There’s a message on the answering machine…

The Publisher I work freelance for rang and asked me to ring back… oh-oh!

“Michelle, would it be at all possible to do a Reader’s Report for this manuscript, please?”

“You know we’re going to Lisbon?”

“Yes… but this had slipped through the net…”

“Send it over… but it will be a very quick one,” I said.

“Appreciate it! Thank you!”

Two cards chosen and one happy daughter. I chose one of the cards and wrote on that for Becky too. (Dani forgot the get well soon card, I found it half an hour ago…)

Client for the editing job saved me phoning her. We had a lovely chat, she is delighted with how I’m going (albeit having to start again because of a few things she’d told me about on Saturday when she rang). She seems a lovely lady and she’s had such a terrible time of it. I’m pleased to be able to put her mind at rest and be getting on with the work for her. (The previous person has had the manuscript more than a year and it’s still in need of work).

Virgin Media engineer turns up. He puts in a few new connectors and sorts some stuff out. He tells me there’s not much else he can do and is wondering why Virgin Media sent him round again… (his third visit). I explained what they’d promised and he looked at me puzzled.

No… he doesn’t synch all the devices to the router… that was a bit of an untruth on behalf of Virgin Media. The little tinkers.

Ah well.

Trev (@s0ul) comes home, gets changed and we head out for a few last-minute things.

Money for Dani in case of emergency, Euros for Portugal (they don’t accept Steem, yet!) and something to eat – for us and the dogs. The tripe ran out this morning and so the dogs will have to slum it with tinned food for a couple of meals.

Back home.

We still have to pack (but the clothes fit).

DAMNIT! I forgot my prescription from the optician!

It’ll have to wait.

See you at SteemFest2!

Apparently… I still have to pack yet and it’s 11:30…

10 hours to go!

I’m gonna need a bigger case…

Google Images Free To Use for all except the doggie pics

Sort:  

Have a great trip and a wonderful Steemfest! I'm sure that it will be supremely exciting and full of surprises!

You will have a blast!

Hahaha totally loved your post, always is first shopping! Loved your dogs also, SO CUTES! I can feel the love from here! Hope you enjoy so much in Lisbon, I made up a cute post about that city because I love traveling hope you take several photos :D

Thanks for the post.
nice to hear a story from dog lover..I aslo have a rott and lab

I'm so excited for you! Have a safe trip and a wonderful time - and lots of pictures, please! xox

Your dogs are so cute! great post!

I know exactly how this feels. I've been running around all week tying up 'loose ends' lol
Literally booked flight and hotel one hour ago.
See you there. :)

Have a fun and safe trip. Take lots of photos to share.

Going to Steemfest sounds really exciting. Hope I get to go one day in the not so distant future.

Those are some really cute dogs, by the way! Reminds me I should share my dog with Steemit - He's a ruckus, he likes running around and smashing himself against the walls while doing it, it's the cutest thing even if it doesn't sound like it!

Anyway, hope you finish packing in time! Have fun on your trip!

See you there. I arrived in London yesterday. Spending one more day here then flying into Lisbon on Wednesday

Perfect! See you there! Safe trip <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59203.63
ETH 2522.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51