Am I going to STEEMFEST? ... let's Squawk about it (And Europe Photography)

in #steemfest6 years ago (edited)

SteemFest is about 2 weeks away and there's spontaneous folks like me still deciding to go. Since there's plenty of people "squawking" about @steemfest I figure this pic (I just edited from Yellowstone) was a good thumbnail.

WHAT ARE THE BENEFITS?

Those who've been to steemfest can inform me a bit more but these are some of my reasons.

  1. Well anytime a friend or steem acquaintance says they'll be at steemfest that makes it even more appealing. So let me know if that's you.

  2. Also @asgarth just decided to go for part of it and since I work with him on @steempeak and @peakmonsters I figure it would be awesome to meet up.

  3. Also I can support @r00sj3 who's the representative of @steempeak at the conference and giving a presentation.

  4. Probably good to meet more @steemmonsters players since we run https://peakmonsters.com also good to meet @yabapmatt and @aggroed after all this time helping support steemmonsters with our site. Seems the steemmonsters community is pretty close these days so i'm sure we'll all hang out a bit.

  5. I've never been to Poland so it'd be nice to add that (and Czech republic and Slovakia) to my list and bring the country count up to like 42.

  6. Obviously I want to meet a bunch of new people so that's a big draw to go.

  7. I'd also love to learn more about all the projects and gain a deeper understanding of STEEM and what is possible. So i'm looking forward to the most in depth presentations.

  8. We'll see if I can pitch in for conversations or panels related to steem interfaces or apps.

9. See how SteemPeak can help new projects.

I'll write about this more eventually but the big reason for me to go is to talk to Steem users and projects and see how https://steempeak.com can support them. That'll be a big focus for us going forward: to see how to support all the big projects and ideas that the community has because we believe we'll be successful as we make other projects successful. (Assuming those projects are things that our users want.)

Our mission when we started was to make one beautiful location for everything we wanted to use and also to make it more intuitive so our friends didn't have to beat their head against a wall for 2 months trying to understand steem.

MEETINGS

So if you would like let's set up a short meeting with me or the whole SteemPeak team. Tell us about your project and let's brainstorm how we can help you out.

I know our backlog of amazing features for steempeak is a bit overwhelming but we love planning ahead and if there's an amazing opportunity we're not ones to shy away.

blackline.png

SteemPeak Requests?

On that note we're planning a big 2 week push for new features and updates to steempeak ... let us know what you'd like to see on that list. I know my request will be having more mobile stuff if i'm gonna be traveling for 2 weeks.

blackline.png

THE DECIDING STEP

Wednesday I told @coruscate i was now 72% sure i was going... then moved it to 79% ... now i'm up in the 87% range after talking to a couple people like @yabapmatt.
It's been tough deciding because I did just get a very lucrative offer to photograph for @thepianoguys during the same time... but I photograph for them often and will be spending a week with them in India early next year.

The final step for me is to buy the plane ticket from Utah (crazy expensive and crazy long flight) what i'm trying to decide is how much extra time I want to spend afterwards driving around and taking pictures then I can buy the flight... or maybe find a ticket i can change later?

Even though i travel a ton this will be the first flight in years that wasn't for a client and to do photography... but I'll make it for photography so i'm actively collecting ideas for where to go After the conference. So i'll take suggestions.

  1. So tell me where I should go after the conference?
  2. Tell me who's going?
  3. Tell me who wants to have a little conversation with the SteemPeak team?

blackline.png

PHOTOGRAPHY

  • I'll be spending about a week traveling around europe by car afterwards.
  • During the conference our team is planning on a photo walk through the old town.
  • I may get up a couple times at sunrise to do some really solid pictures.
  • I'll have my camera during the conference... I'm happy to get pictures for people if they're nice about it.
  • I'll probably document the conference itself for my own purposes. I have photographed a bunch of big conferences but that's not my role at this event but still it'll be fun and maybe gets some people some nice content to use.

Here's some of my photoshoots i've done this year: https://www.jarviedigital.com/People/2018
Might as well show them off right? haha

EUROPE PICTURES

It's been a little while since i've been hired to come out and do pics in Europe but when I do I usually spend time getting some travel shots. Let's have some fun and share some.


Obviously poland will have a totally different vibe... i'm looking forward to it


After a photoshoot in London I spent some time aimlessly wandering Wales


What will Poland and Slovakia be like?


One of the big reasons i don't travel by train is you miss all the beautiful countryside.


Switzerland was an awesome trip for me... I LOVE mountain type places.


I once had to drive from Paris to Geneva... a 4hr drive... took me 3 days and I loved it.


Kind of the type of shots i'd love to get of Krakow... but not entirely sure what to expect there.

MORE TO COME

I BETTER STOP... BECAUSE NOW I REALIZE THIS WOULD BE A GOOD STAND ALONE POST.
And i have lots more to share from trips to Europe.

Sort:  

You could travel to Austria after Steemfest and get some nice pictures there :) Or you could at least let me give you a few tips for great places you should visit in Austria on a future trip!

Haha yeah i really haven't done much Austria and not in the last 10 years since i've been a full time photographer, so it's almost as if my previous trips don't count. All those countries are pretty close ... we'll see how long i'm able to stay.

But yes... i'll need to know soon enough where are some good photo opportunities. I love me some mountain shots.

Woops consider that comment written by me. haha

So many nice things to see in that part of Europe... you'll probably have a hard time deciding with all the possibilities! If you can visit Hungary, it's near and Budapest is lovely, one of my favourite european cities. AND is has some great outdoor Spas that are even greater in colder weather, check Szechenyi baths if you still haven't heard about them ;) Have a great trip!

Yeah it's true i'll have a hard time. Also because sometimes i like just exploring the random countryside and little villages.

Hello sorry for asking but please help steem get listed in this exchange by voting for it. http://contest.gonetcoins.com/ it might help increase the value of steem which will benefit everyone. and if you can please help spread the word around. Thank you in advance for you help.

Yes!!! Before you know it you’ll be in the 90% sure category and then you’ll have a ticket in hand.

I really do hope that you are able to make it. It would be soo awesome to meet and hang out. It would be pretty awesome to see your photos from the week too. You do a such good job of capturing energy in your work and it would be cool to have those kind of photos to look back on after the event.

Ps... I fly out right after the event, but am getting there Saturday night - so quite a few days early. If you end up getting there early, let me know!

Ps #2... so cool that you do work for the Piano Guys! I loooove them!

  1. Yeah ticket in hand would be more like 94%
  2. I have a photoshoot before the event so much more likely to come on monday/tuesday and then stay longer after
  3. Yeah we have their steem account set up but we're waiting to get them rolling after steempeak develops a few more features that can help an account with a large userbase.
  4. You've just earned yourself a nice picture or 3 for your flattery ;) haha

Hi @jarvie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.900 which ranks you at #1188 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1187).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #21.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

My co-worker and I were talking about work conferences and I told him you are going to Poland for a work conference. He was super excited for the pictures you are going to get. I am too! These are a great collection and I am excited to see what you get from your time there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62952.44
ETH 2542.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65