Steemfest 2017: for the time being, here's a taste of Lisbon

in #steemfest7 years ago (edited)


For missing out in attending the Steemfest in Amsterdam last year, booking my flight to Lisbon this time was an urgency, or so i thought. I guess that seeing @surfermarly booking hers so early made me so jealous, I booked mine in June. So confident was I that I can be off work that 5 days. Easy peasy. I almost panicked when we moved to another ward with a different manager this October in our hospital, more so when my requested day offs were not approved initially. Hence, my registration only this week was a relief. 

Houston, we're good to go!

I kinda like those one day walking tours of the city, this I can really recommend. As it is hilly, a proper walking shoes are recommended as it can get very steep, as well as the streets are cobbled-stones. 


Our tour guide said here is where the best view of the city can be seen...she didn't disappoint.



I was in Lisbon last May, though it's not my 1st time to visit. What am looking forward to are its' Pastel de nata and those amazing seafoods. Who wants fried OCTOPUS? I know where a local diner is!

Lisboa's street Art



Check those tile walls!
Tiles in Portugal were introduced in the 15th century from Spain. It's King Manuel I wanted his palace in Sintra to be decorated like The Alhambra in Grenada.

Walk around and you'll see low walls, high walls, buildings, wherein everywhere you look, street arts, tile arts can be seen everywhere around the city. Not forgetting those quaint little streets and buildings in the Lisbon maze.

Walking uphill and downhill

This I find fascinating. The difference in here is that, you don't mind so much when getting lost, but getting a wrong turn can literally takes you to places you haven't been before. My advice is to check your surroundings when brave enough in trying another side streets. For a few times, i've found myself in another hill...and was very disoriented where I was. One time, all I wanted was to find the nearest restaurant, and it took me a long walk getting back to my hotel.



Does this remind you of San Francisco?

A typical night life in Lisbon is vibrant, where bar-hopping, clubbing and parties are the norm. Hotels and hostels arrange for their customers to join groups that do this till morning. Time tables and places to go to can be found around the reception areas where you can chose anything. 

Like most big European cities, Lisbon doesn't sleep. And be prepared in the morning for sightseeing.

Or better yet, Steemfest.


Trivia: If Ferdinand Magellan was supported by his country in 1514, what could The Philippines be known today? Including every Filipino?


All images are mine and original, taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7. Credit to PicsArt for the aesthetic modifications.

http://www.golisbon.com/culture/azulejos.html

Sort:  

I would love to visit Lisbon someday to watch those street arts myself
Will definitely include this on my bucket list! :D

Paris 1st then Lisbon and Barcelona.

I'll take note of that. Thankyou! :D

Let's wait for that day :)

This looks like an amazing place to be, thank you for sharing on behalf of all the Steemians who are not able to be there!

You are welcome..glad you have seen it. Maybe next time!

hahaha, yes, that was what I said to myself last year LOL

Well..maybe next yr will be in SA??!!

That would be amazing, yes, lets hope!

Am hoping for u sistah!! Cape Town??

Gosh, I have never even been in Capetown LOL But that would still be closer and more affordable than the current location LOL

When I was in San Francisco the hills reminded me of Lisbon too! Haha. Nice pics!

Thanks! Check the Ponte 25 de April, it's exactly like the SF bridge.

@immarojas thank you so much for the post, im glad you will be in attendance.

Thanks for stoppingby..the anticipation yum!!

Aie aie aie my friend you gave me a foretaste of what would be my life when I will be there !
I hope you enjoyed your time
Thank you for the sharing =)

Defo! I am waiting for that time with anticipation mon ami..enjoy the rest of your stay in NZ.

De rien..a plus tard!

@immarojas. Lucky you to have been given the chance to attend. Nice picture and good job all the time. Just saying Hi and do enjoy yourself at steemfest 2017 Lisbon.

I will thank you so much! Hope the weather will cooperate :)

Cool thing @immarojas! Bring the Philippines there po! :)

Do you have some selfies out there? :P

It will start on the 1st.

How I wish I could go to places apart from where I used to, Lisbon is indeed a great place to be, thanks for sharing...

will you do a live coverage @immarojas? that would be awesome for us here :)

It would be..if i know how to do it lols!

So nice that you can attend the Steemfest. Beautiful place. :)

Lisbon is a great place to go walking..masaket sa paa.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60719.63
ETH 2911.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59