The Road From Steemfest...

in #steemfest6 years ago

When @ericvancewalton warned of the post Steemfest blues, I thought he was exaggerating. But man, now that I'm here, they hurt like a motherfucker.
Really, even the title of this post is shit, because who wants to go back from Steemfest? It was this amazing, totally mind-blowing experience. I met all these cool people and interacted with the ones I already knew in a completely new way.
20181112_163941.jpg

I mean, I was just telling @tarazkp last night...that now I can actually hear him in my head when I read his posts. I can picture him speaking, which is something I could've never done before.
And then, there were all these new people -some I knew, vaguely, on the blockchain, others new to me. And I got to speak with all of them...I may not make much sense right now, as I've been up for some 30 hours straight, so don't blame it on me.
Besides, I'm not really in the mood....I mean, I could tell you it was awesome, but what would that accomplish?

Fact of the matter is, it was an interesting, odd experience and I do hope to repeat it next year.

Yes, I know. I used a gloomy picture of Krakow because it's a gloomy mood. Last night felt like leaving family behind and that's always hard. But hopefully, not forever.


Anyway, thanks for reading,
DQmPsWsHmZkDSUKyzQq8Cqx3t7UviQqmCgUXf7hp67y1GeA_1680x8400.jpeg

Sort:  

The blues were the worst for me after SF1 in Amsterdam and got a little easier after SF2 in Lisbon. I think a big part of it for me was being face-to-face with so many like-minded people, it felt like we were part of some revolution that could change the world and make it a much better place to be.

Re-entry into the regular world is tough but it really helped to channel that post-SF blues into more creative engagement. That's large part of how our HardFork project was sparked...enthusiasm for the miracles that crypto can provide and wanting to share that with as many people as possible.

I'm glad you had fun and connected with people. Safe travels back and, never fear, SF4 will roll around quicker than you think!

"Re-entry." Yes. That's what it feels like. I'm getting ready to fly out tomorrow, and it's depressing as heck. This is my fourth meetup--the largest by far. What I've found that helps the blues is to go ahead and start planning the next get-together. And we have indeed started planning one.

Great idea to focus on future meet-ups!

That is exactly how I feel, @ericvancewalton! I feel like, for a few days, we existed in this separate world altogether. Like a different universe with different rules and now...it doesn't work anymore. But yeah, I'm hoping SF4 is somewhere accesible to me, as I enjoyed this one tremendously. Also really hoping to meet you there!

Spot on! SteemFest feels like some utopian alternate universe, or a not-so-distant future when humans are a little more kind and intelligent. : ) I had some major regrets while watching from the sidelines this time. I'll definitely try my best to make it next year. Glad to hear you had a good experience this time. Roeland and team deserve huge props once again! Hope to see you next year!

Yes, they are so amazing. You just have to take your hat off to them. I was joking about Roeland going around Steemfest carting away drunk Steemians, but truly, it can't be easy doing everything he and his team did.

I like the idea of this being a not-so-distant future, it would surely be a welcome change. Everyone was so kind and friendly...

Funny I can also hear @tarazkp in my head. I never knew he was also an Aussie before.
Hope you feel better soon. It was great to meet you.

Posted using Partiko iOS

:))) we all left SF3 with the image of Taraz in our heads, it seems. Odd.
It was indeed great meeting you! See you on the blockchain!

Im glad you finally resurfaced! I was getting worried but so happy you had an amazing time.
Will now look forward to reading about your amazing experiences and stories :-)

Ha yes, I did disappear. It was all just so time-consuming and exciting that blogging took a back seat, I guess. But it was brilliant, so I guess it was worth it. Thank you! :D

It was awesome meeting you. I hope your mood improves soon. I'm sending you Hugs.

Oww I'm good, I'm already looking forward to SF4, and I'm so thankful I got to go to this one. So very glad.
It was brilliant meeting you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82