You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dinner with @timcliff and @sneak at SteemFest - Discussion about Communities

in #steemfest6 years ago (edited)

So if we are interested in starting a community as soon as it's possible, would you suggest creating that separate account now?

I have been moderating the @foraging-trail for the SteemTrail initiative (although I have slowed down a lot since they swept all the Steem Power away without notice or explanation). Consistent outreach and engagement showed that Steemit has some stellar foragers -- and there is an overall interest in the subject, too. There really is a sense of community based on the values of foraging, learning skills, and sharing experience and questions.

I would seriously like to moderate a Foraging community, which requires a certain level of expertise and oversight, because wrong information can be dangerous. I think I can even see how SMTs would be useful -- for people to be rewarded for developing their skills, and to use their SMTs to buy badges, worksheets, training, and even participation in events, to further their skills.

I could use a separate Foraging account right now, to get started. Do you have a sense about whether an account like that could then be rolled over into a Steemit community? Thanks.

Sort:  

I would suggest creating the account now, as it will be able to transfer over. As far as using the account, I'm not sure. I don't know enough about how a community will work to know if an account that has blog posts, comments, etc. will be able to be used as a community. To be safe, I'd recommend just holding it unless some more info is posted that indicates it is OK.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63373.75
ETH 3170.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88