Steemfest Blog #2 - Day 1 in Lisbon - part 1

in #steemfest7 years ago (edited)

It has been a few days since I returned from Steemfest, and the trek - as awesome as it was - has taken its toll on my health. I am slowly easing my way back into Steemit and I extend huge apologies for not posting sooner. Today I will continue documenting my Steemfest trip, following on from THIS POST.

20171102_133111.jpg

Dropping down from cruising height, the skies outside my plane were perfect, and I looked forward to a little sun in Lisbon.

20171102_134051.jpg

As we came in to land, on the 2nd November, the weather did not look too inviting from the plane. Nevertheless, I wasn't going to let it dampen my enthusiasm for the next few days at Steemfest.

20171102_131107.jpg

After going through security, I exited the airport and headed for the metro for a 30 minute ride to my hotel.

20171105_103400.jpg

A brief walk from the metro and I was facing my hotel, seen here above the shop on the right. My heart sank at seeing construction directly opposite, but as it turned out my room was on the back of the hotel away from the busy road and any building work. After checking in at the hotel, and a quick spruce up, I asked reception to call a cab for me and headed for the Centro Cultural De Belém. The day's events had started hours previously and I was eager not to miss any more.

20171102_153016.jpg

I made my way inside to see the place full of fellow Steemians, many I recognised like the awesome @allasyummyfood, who I spoke with briefly after signing in and registering. I was given my name tag and a goodie bag containing badges, 2 t-shirts, stickers, a Steemit water bottle and a city map.

20171102_154821.jpg

I sat in on a few talks like this one from @starkerz about the awesome work of promo-uk.

Once the talks had concluded we were ushered to a balcony where drinks were on offer and where I met Steemians I knew and befriended more I didn't.

20171102_165913.jpg

I started discussing the plans for The Writers' Block with anyone who would listen, handing out business cards with details on for the Block.

20171102_172757.jpg

Many people seemed genuinely interested and shared their own projects with me. A few beers later and we were informed dinner would soon be served.

20171102_172845.jpg
20171102_173358.jpg

I was sat next to a couple on my left for close to 15 minutes before I caught eye of one of the name tags of one of my very own Muxxybot curators @abh12345! To my right sat a gentleman I really grew fond of over the next few days, @terrybrock, joined by his lovely wife. Terry seemed enamoured by my new phone, the Samsung Galaxy Note 8, and I think genuinely still agonises over whether to switch to Android or to keep on using his Apple products. Good luck with your decision Terry! We swapped business cards and, when asked if he had a pen I could borrow, kindly donated one to me.

20171102_175045.jpg
20171102_182711.jpg
20171102_190710.jpg

The three course meal was divine and my wine glass was kept topped up throughout. Meal finished, I was back outside chatting and drinking, quickly developing the habit of snapping nametags so I couldn't forget them, like this one of @future24.

20171102_185426.jpg

Here I will end the first part of my Day 1 in Lisbon with a photo showing the Cristo Rei statue in the far distance and the epic Padrão dos Descobrimentos (Monument of the Discoveries) to the right.

20171102_185022.jpg

All photos taken with my Samsung Note 8

Are you a writer or keen to learn? Do you wish to join a community of like-minded individuals who can help hone your writing skills in the fields of fiction, non-fiction, technical, poetry, songwriting or playwriting? Join us at The Writers' Block on Discord and follow our community account @thewritersblock.


Sort:  

Great job Muxxy, feel better dude.

Thanks buddy!

Fantastic meeting you in Lisbon! Excited to chat about ways we can collaborate!

You too! Hope to chat with you soon.

I figure it'll probably take you at least a week to start feeling like yourself again. You were probably running on stubbornness and adrenalin most of the event and travel. Then you need a few more days after that to get back into a normal routine. But your updates are great and it sure looks like you enjoyed yourself enough to warrant the physical cost in recovery.

Wow, really nice Steemfest impressions and great that we have met us @gmuxx!

It was awesome meeting and speaking with you.

Thank you very much bro!!!

This post is phenomenal. I can't wait for more! I wish I could have been there. I feel I missed an experience of a lifetime.

It had its ups and downs, as you know - but I will post about that later on...

Mostly ups though ;-) Truly an awesome adventure.

Awesome to see you back to sharing!

Great event..Thanks for your full description...we feel that we have with you...we waiting your future part.

Thanks for taking us along on your trip, @gmuxx! The pictures are great and it sounds as if you are having a good time. Hope you are feeling all well again!

Looks like you actually had decent weather there! Looks like a nice place to visit!

It really is a beautiful city. I have many more pics to come.

This post received a 20% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @gmuxx from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80