Set Sail For Steemfest 2016

in #steemfest8 years ago


On Wednesday, I leave for Steemfest to join dozens of other exuberant steemians in Amsterdam. The first week of November has already passed, and next weekend's festivities are upon us.   

While there, I invite everyone to come on over to Art at Steemfest on the first floor of the Quartier Putain cafe on Sunday November 13th from 13:30 - 18:00. I will be working on a detailed drawing of a tulip, a flower that created Tulip Mania during Holland's Golden Age in the 17th Century. 

  

The tulip has a special significance to Holland. So prized was this exotic bloom, the bulbs were often used as currency and the flower itself became the ultimate status symbol for the aristocracy. It's no wonder we think of Holland when we see tulips. I will teach you some helpful tips that will help you draw this familiar Dutch icon. I look forward to seeing you there!   

Here in my studio it's a flurry of activity getting ready. I'm packing up some copies of my Dutch inspired picture book "Wynken, Blynken, and Nod" which I will be signing, as well as a selection of limited edition prints.    

Following is a selection of some of the prints I am bringing along. 

These will make unique mementos from Steemit's first official conference.   

Extremely limited edition of the first illustration from "Wynken, Blynken, and Nod."  


Three Little Kittens Who Lost Their Mittens 

Fairies in daffodils, from my very first picture book "Maggie Mab and the Bogey Beast"
 


What is Amsterdam without an owl on a bicycle? 

Frontispiece illustration for "The Little Mermaid"

Last but not least, a commemorative print in honor of the very first Steemit Conference, Amsterdam 2016.

All of these illustrations have been featured in my steemit blog posts, and are available for the first time at Steemfest.

Safe travels to all, and I'm honored to be part of the amazing pool of talent convening this next weekend.  

Illustrations  © Johanna Westerman 2016

Tulip plate courtesy of  Maria Sibylla Merian from "New Book of Flowers"

Sort:  

Beautifull illustrations, the one with the S.S. Steem I like very much.
Have a good time at SteemFest!

Thank you, @oaldamster, for your kind words. That was a fun piece to do.

Looking forward to meeting you and your art! Bon voyage!

Thanks, and likewise @mariandavp! See you soon.

good ,followed you

Wish I could attend your drawing workshop (maybe next year!) Enjoy Amsterdam & safe traveling!

Thanks, @voronoi. Someday we will meet - I'm sure of it.

See you and your wonderful work at SteemFest!

I can't wait to meet you, @opheliafu. We will have a blast. Natter time for sure. :)

Lovely illustrations :D
Safe travels, Johanna!
Have a great time at Steemfest!

Thank you, @richman. Sorry to miss you.

So exciting! I look forward to hearing all about it :)

Thank you, @storyseeker. Now to pack it all up! Thanks to your art fair posts, I feel more prepared.

Leuke afbeeldingen. Vooral die uil op een fiets, hoe vind je nou zoiets!

Dank je, @technovedanta. Veel lol. ;)

your artworks are absolutely awesome @fairytalelife

Thank you, @nekromarinist. I say the exact same thing about your work!

Beautiful illustration! Happy SteemFest time!
Unfortunately I can't make it this year, will follow your update about SteemFest.

Thank you, @trueart. Much appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66914.48
ETH 3341.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72