A Precious Remembrance of Amsterdam - Silent StillnesssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemfest8 years ago (edited)

STEEMFEST
seems so long ago.

It's hard to believe it was only a mere 2 months ago we were all chummied up with our Steemian friends, connecting physically with our on-line community half way across the globe.


@saramller and I arrived a few days early, communed with our couch surfing host @willemjanvandort and took a few photos of our journey around Amsterdam.


I have been saving these photos for the ideal moment.  I don't know why I believe this to be that moment, but I feel that who ever sees this beauty, will be grateful to have seen it.  I was joyous to witness this.


This one moment in the square was perfect for capturing a few photos.   A very picturesque living statue in the middle of the square, draped and painted in her colored, metallic glory, was quite the attraction for my artistic eye.  This type of art is rarely seen in the States except at festivals and such--as this would be considered loitering or panhandling, but in many places in Europe, I have seen other living or interactive statues that are welcomed and bring much delight.


What incredible beauty!!


She was frozen in the square in one position for many, many minutes at a time.

She didn't twitch, flinch, sniffle or blink.



She was caught out of the corner of the bustling people's eyes,



but surprisingly while I was there, I was one of the few to stop and immerse myself in her beauty.





Even though I know she is there specifically to be looked at
and appreciated, (and donated to),



I still felt a bit awkward and invasive getting up close to capture her details.



It was remarkable how long she could stand still with her eyes closed,


and not show any signs of curiosity or engagement with the world around her.


It was quite cold and windy, a bit rainy with no sun as well.



I was astounded by her beauty and 



glorious features that topped off her embellished gown.


This is some seriously focused meditation!

There is truly something of great value to witness in her presence of silent stillness!


I'm reliving some moments and giving thanks for Steemfest--

as well as the opportunity to share a piece of my journey.


Thanks for being here with me.


Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.66 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 06 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

That time in Amsterdam was more life-changing than words can describe. I've often said there will be a feature length film made about the first SteemFest someday. Thanks for the walk down memory lane.

Amsterdam truly was an experience like no other. We all felt it there, and also when returning home. So grateful to still be connected and sharing our realities from afar. I think you may be right about the SteemFest film--there is so incredibly much to share. Thanks for your presence here @ercivancewalton.

Great post @everlove
It reminded me of my times as a street performer, in Brazil.
My character was a painter ^.^

That sounds intriguing. Would love to see some pics of that!!! Do share!
Thanks for your comment @danilamarilu.

many a time, these artists are ignored until a large tour group comes by.

Grateful I got to appreciate her.

Thanks for sharing your moments with us, Everlove!
Upvoted & Followed.

Indeed it is my pleasure!

Wow she is beautiful and what a pose!

I know!!!! I was astounded at her stillness in those poses. and her Incredible beauty.

Did you poke her with a stick in the end and cry FOR EDEN!

;o)

Hahahahah!!! Shoot NO! I guess I'll just have to go back and do it again!

Lol, a good excuse for a return!

Won't be the same if everyone else isn't there! :(

Awesome, great post! I saw some things similar to that in the town square!

I also saw a man there floating in the air. I feel it's always refreshing to see art in the square. So glad you got to experience that too.

Yes, that is the one that I saw too ^_^ Yeah it is cool seing people make different expressions of themselves in this way!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67971.67
ETH 2643.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67