Hold up, Less Than 2 Weeks Till Steemfest?? | A Balance & Equilibrium Check in from a Jetlagged Dayleeo [6min Read]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemfest7 years ago (edited)

If you’ve been following our “Goodmornings”. You may have been able to glean from our posts that a few weeks ago I was finally able to purchase a flight to @teamhumble, in the UK. Shortly after, (or before? it’s kind of a blur) we got everything together to be able to attend Steemfest2. (Eeek!)

In the midst of the logistics chaos, my freelance and digital work life took a bit of a twist, and I’ve been able to onboard an awesome new VO client. All things looking up! After a few days to catch up on hugs, meals and laughs with Mr. Humble, a few to adjust to jet lag and a few more to just be thankful for the awesome blessings the last few months have brought, I’m left with the question of...

What The *** Now?

VSCO Cam-1-1-1.jpg

I guess that’s just how life works right? You show up, you work hard, month after month, week after week and all of a sudden, seemingly out of know where you’re on the eve of the thing that’s been on your mind all that time. For me, that moment of “Woah” also comes with a bit of a free fall feeling.

Working is second nature to me, it always has been. For better or for worse, when I’ve got something on my mind that I want to go after, that’s all she wrote folks. Every choice from there on out gets run through the Borg-style calculation flow chart of, “Does this get me closer to my goal, or further?”

I know, I’ve never been great at balance. Why do you think I’m always on about Yogas?! ;) I’m working on it. Work mode vs celebration mode, rest and recovery vs complacency, treats vs indulgence, motivation vs self-deprivation.

Always calculating, always course correcting, similar to the way our minds keep our physical bodies balanced in say… a yoga pose for example....

I love the way YogaJournal.com describes what actually goes on when you’re balancing:

The price of balance is constant attention. It keeps repeating three steps: monitoring your position, calculating any necessary corrections, and directing these adjustments.

To monitor your position, your nervous system has to answer the questions "Which way is up?" and "Where is my body?”. Your eyes collect data about your position from the horizon line or wall in front of you. The semicircular canals, which are balance organs in the inner ear, also help you find "up" by feeling the downward pull of gravity. And pressure sensors on the bottoms of your feet detect which way you are tilting. To indicate body position, nerve endings in your joints signal the angle of your limbs, trunk, neck, and head. Nerve endings in your muscles and tendons detect force and stretch, and others in your skin detect stretch and pressure. In addition, your eyes provide visual information about the location of various body parts. From all of this sensory input, you can tell whether your body is where you want it to be. You can also tell not only where you are in space but which way you are moving and how fast.

To calculate corrections, your brain adds up all of this information, compares it with an image of where it wants your body to be, and does some heavy number crunching to decide what movements to make. To direct the needed adjustments, your brain and spinal cord do additional computations and send nerve signals to dozens of muscles, telling them to contract or relax as needed. As you make these movements, your sensory systems constantly monitor the results and start the cycle of correction over again. -
Source: What Balance Teaches Us: One-Legged Standing Poses - Yoga Journal

What awesome super computers our bodies are huh!?

rainy-day-in-city-1024x1024.jpg

So if we take this analogy a little further, we can extrapolate the following data, from a semi-jetlagged Dayleeo brain seeking a digital due north on a windy Sunday afternoon, in a place she’s been dreaming of for the better part of a year…. Let's do this.

All Roads Point To Steemfest!

Well the immediate goal is of course Steemfest! I’ve spend a bit of ridisual brain power thinking about how I want to blog while I’m there, so far I know I want to try to pull off the entire thing, from an iPhone. It’s certainly not my comfort zone but the price of carrying excess kit and being distracted from the lovely folks and experiences that await is too great, so this coming week is going to be devoted to getting all my assets in place for a daily post, and possibly a few themed ones.

In addition I think it would be so awesome to flex my old food blogging muscles while there. One of my favorite things about travel is learning about a place by way of taste buds. There’s so much you can glean about a people by their attitudes and traditions toward food. Also, thanks to @roelandp 's posts, the term "creamy and delicious" has been drilled into my subconscious so many times that you better BELIEVE we're going to be stopping by some little cafes on the way. ;)

We also checked out a few Vegan and Vegetarian spots in the local area, so maybe a highlights post where those are concerned is in order. Either way, foods will be documented and shared. Don’t you worry. ;)

I also want to take a boatload of photos for a new batch upload for nomad.pictures. Lisbon. I see you, I’m coming, camera lock, stocked and loaded. (Backup batteries abound, don’t you worry).

I’m also thinking of a way I could use dsound.audio or anchor.fm for mini podcast episodes in the morning or at night? So much I want to do, but I really want to make sure I’m switched “ON” and tuned into the moment as well so I’m sure some micro course correcting will take place as we step through.

In Summation...

Either way, I feel excited and lucky as hell to be here. Without going into too much detail yet, just a few years ago I felt like my life was going in a complete different direction from my heart. I felt hollow, and desaturated. I didn’t really even like myself, much less love myself enough to give what I wanted a fair shot.

It’s been a tough road to turn that ship around, to switch momentum, to take an inventory of intention and attention and to execute on the work that lead to the logistics of execution. There were lots of sleepless nights, self scrutiny and countless tears, but there have also been laugh, loves and some mega cosmic universe divine appointment moments who’s stories I’m sure will unfold as time goes on…

Through all of it, I’m here. Ones or Zeroes right?
I’m alive, and I’m thankful as hell to be a “1”.

Much love, from my little corner of the blockchain to yours.
Next Stop Steemfest!!

<3
Dayleeo

» TWEET ME «
» YOUTUBES «
» DISCORDA «
» PODCAST «
Sort:  

Hello & Cheers!! I'm a content detection and information bot. You are receiving this reply because a short link or links have been detected in your post/comment. The purpose of this message is to inform your readers and yourself about the use of and dangers of short links.

To the readers of the post: Short links are provided by url shortening services. The short links they provide can be useful in some cases. Generally their use is benign. But as with all useful tools there are dangers. Short links can be used to hide all sorts of things. Quite frequently they are used to hide referral links for instance. While not dangerous this can be deceptive. They can also be used to hide dangerous links such as links to phishing sites, sites loaded with malware, scam sites, etc. You should always be extremely cautious before clicking on one. If you don't know and trust the poster don't click. Even if you do you should still be cautious and wary of any site you are sent to. It's always better to visit the site directly and not through a short link.

To the author of the post: While short links may be useful on some sites they are not needed on steemit. You can use markdown to format your links such as this link to steemit. It's as simple as [steemit](https://steemit.com) Unlike short links this allows the reader to see where they are going by simply hovering over the link before they click on it.

This message was created by a bot. It is part of the ongoing fight against spam and phishing attacks on steemit. If you did not use short links in your post and feel you have received this message in error you can contact @fubar-bdhr on discord or @fubar.bdhr on steemit chat to report the issue.

OMG I'll get to meet you! I'd love to do some yoga together and definitely check out the vegan/veg places. My sister lives there and says it's quite difficult to find good vegetarian food.
so much excitement!!

Meh, I tried to reply to this yesterday but got a timeout error. I think I said something to the effect of, try checking out happycow.com We found a few places that look pretty cool there :) they have a mobile app but it's kinda pricy-

See you soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54