Bygone Beard Days: Volume 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemfest6 years ago

Sept 2, 2017: International Beard Day falls on my Birthday!!

For those of you who have just met me at Steemfest², you probably see me as a clean cut professional, ready for the boardroom, classroom, or a J-crew photo shoot [shudders in disgust] Well, those of you who met me last year, were probably surprised to see my face, because you are used to a pretty serious Lumberjack beard. Ofttimes in London UK my beard was compared to the eponymous "hipster beard" to which I would always reply, "I am Canadian, and so I have a beard, everyone in Canada wears a beard, even the women." I rocked this look for a good 4 years, and so it is taking some time to get used to my own face in the mirror. In hopes of coming to terms with my new look, I thought that I would share some images, over a series of posts, in reverse chronological order. My therapists says that acceptance is the first step to healing.

An emotional time... The sacrifice of the beard

My girlfriend Michéle has alway criticized my beard, so this was a huge victory for her.
She's a fashion designer, check out her stuff at: https://steemit.com/@lupae

Another hirsute friend of mine

Allan's moustache is legendary, and so is the (award winning) photography work he does, check it out here: https://www.wanderlust.co.uk/content/photo-of-the-year-meeting-locals-swaziland/
I'll be on-boarding Allan into the STEEMIT community in coming months. (once I track him down in Poland)

Tempted to leave the "Mutton Chops"

Now the final clean up, by Susie

Michéle was always comparing me to the amish, and if you consult this graph, it was looking less and less likely that I would make it to "Gandalf" levels.

Like the mighty Sampson, I feel that my power has been sapped by shaving off my Beard.

but I'm powering up on Steemit so be sure to up-vote, and resteem to help me get my power back

I know there are some other famous Bearded Steemians out there, I spent a lot of time at steemfest2 with @virtualgrowth taking in the wisdom of a truly wizard level beard. If you have some photo's of yourself, or of other steemfriends with magnificent beards, I'd love to see them in the comments.

STEEM-ON

~Daniel

Sort:  

Much better without the beard 😜

"truly wizard level beard"
+1?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55