Proposal of Steemfest 2 LocationsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemfest8 years ago

I am sure that discussion of the second Steemfest has already taken place.

And I understand that I am just a humble Steemit user with no clout. But I would like to offer a suggestion for a future Steemfest location.

Pella, Iowa.

Why Pella, Iowa? Here are some reasons.

  • Pella is in a relatively central location of the United States.

  • Following the first Steemfest in Amsterdam, Pella is as Dutch as you can get in the United States. It is referred to as America's Dutch Treasure.

  • It is a very clean, safe community.

  • It is very small (10,300 people), so finding the meeting location, food, and lodging would be easy, compared to a much larger city.

The main disadvantage is that the nearest large airport is in Des Moines, 40 miles away. There would have to be a shuttle service to and from Steemfest.

If this proposed location was accepted in the future, I would volunteer my efforts to help arrange the specific location, transportation services, and other logistics.

Thank you for your consideration!

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 03. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.57 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 03 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I think its a great idea! What is needed to make it happen?

Approval from @ned, and quite possibly many others.

I like the idea of having Steemfest in the Midwest. I'd propose a bigger city though, so we could draw more people. Pella in the summer would be nice though.

I see why big cities are appealing. I just thought a small town with Dutch culture would offer a unique locale with a lot of character. Thanks for your input!

While a large American steemfest would be great for steemit I think at present there could be many from the steemit community who would have trouble getting a visa to attend.
Border control take one look at my facebook page and I'm screwed for getting in.

Yes, I understand that with a worldwide base of users, crossing borders into foreign countries poses challenges.

A way around it could be to have more than one event running at the same time in different parts of the world with a global link up via the internet.

That is a good idea! Maybe check out Pella's capabilities for that. And for their lodging options.

Thanks for your support!

Looks like a nice little town, but realistically it has to happen somewhere which maximizes potential attendance.

I understand that. It's just a suggestion. Even if Steemfest doesn't occur in my area, I may someday try to arrange one of the regional meetups there.

Personally I think the US should be avoided at all costs. Not everyone can travel there. We won't be able to come.

Would Canada be much better? The US is our largest contingent of users I believe.

sunny South Africa, Cape Town in particular. Besides being a cosmopolitan city (overgrown village) with a multitude of attractions.. the benefit for Steemians traveling here is the exchange rate.... affordable for visitors.
@countryinspired .... looks like a great little town..is that where you live?

No, I live a little over an hour away. But my wife and I seriously considered moving to Pella, considering the low cost of living, great job opportunities, and overall good quality of life.

Sounds like a no brainer :)

Any excuse to travel back to wonderful Cape Town has my vote!

Hey, I'm in Minneapolis, glad to see someone from Iowa here!

Another Midwesterner! Cool!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61986.52
ETH 2406.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65