You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A truthful analysis of Steemfest2 - Reflecting and meditating after 48 hours of continuos sleep

in #steemfest7 years ago

I don't know, I think my photo album was pretty profound, too ;)

You know, I think everyone is enthusiastic now in the happy after-math, and surely we give an upvote here and there out of empathy and remembering the good times we had together, but in the end it comes down to connection - not only to people but also to content.

I don't upvote people just because I like them, I upvote content that I connect with; that makes me laugh, inspires me, or gives me a new perspective on things. It doesn't matter if I will ever meet the authors in real life.

There are number of people here that I have had a connection with for some time and that won't change just because they weren't at Steemfest. On the other hand, like you, I did unfollow a few, because I realized I have no connection to them whatsoever. It's very likely that Steemfest highlighted that contrast to me.

I think the only difference is the order of things: on this platform, we connect through content first and the person second. Because I get to know you, the author, through what you write.

On Steemfest of course it was the other way round - you first connect with the person and then find out what they write about (if you care to investigate). But does the order of things matter in the long run?

I agree with the pyramids and all, but if we indeed built another one by attending Steemfest, I think it will only be a temporary one :)

Sort:  

Wow you are so right! Thanks for pointing out your post for me, I thought I was already following you, in fact im nominating that to @ocd (if you are ok with that) because it truly deserves more rewards than what it got. Don´t get me wrong, I love recaps and photo album posts, I just wanted to do something different this time because I also get more replies like this one, very thoughtful and adding value, generating some meaningful dialogue :)

Exactly. Connection, no matter where or how, steemit and human relations are about connections. I have to say, sometimes I upvote people, not posts, but I try to vote because of the posts, but as someone else said on this thread, we can´t help to be a little biased towards people we already met in person. I don´t think that is bad as long as this doesn´t become an "inner circle" you know?

I am really glad I met you and definitely would like to catch a beer if we ever meet again in Germany, let´s have some more meaningful conversations and exchange of ideas, I enjoyed the pool and the last cocktails with you :)

Me too! Keep me posted if your journey takes you to Berlin.
Where are you now?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33