Blewitt’s SteemFest Photos & Stories Part 1

in #steemfest5 years ago (edited)

My Steemfest Experiences

I was a bit nervous heading to SteemFest. I didn’t really know anybody well enough. There were a few folks that I had a decent relationship with but for the most part, I was flying solo and knew that my nervous palms would be clammy and moist as hell. Early on I dreaded shaking hands and was constantly wiping my sopping wet mitts on my jeans as to not gross out any potential new friends. Nothing screams confidence like the guy in line that looks like he’s creepily scanning the room all bug eyed and rubbing his thunder thighs every 8 seconds.

05C85560-AB65-4DEC-A726-35177DE2D8DC.gif

Anywho, as I walked into the Q to register on Tuesday at around 4:30 pm, I scanned the room and nodded to other Steemians who were there already having drinks and chatting. I popped on line and started small talk with the dude in front of me as we waited to check in. All of a sudden another dude turns, points to me and says “I recognize this guy!” Me being the nervous oblivious tool, could not place the gentleman. Luckily he saw the confusion in my eyes or the wave of gross dew rushing off my fever hands and he gave his name up.

As soon as he said it, it clicked and I felt dumb for not recognizing but also completely relieved as it was my friend @simonjay!!! We’ve been supporters of each other for most of the 8 months I’ve been on the platform. An all around fantastic dude and I couldn’t be happier that the first person I met there was actually one of the few folks I actually knew. So thanks for calming me down fella.

79CF8577-4663-4690-B5E5-B736A476C165.jpeg
@simonjay looking effortlessly dapper while I looked homeless. Way to show me up you handsome bastard!

I will not be going into a play by play of the trip...just wanted to start off with some insight as to where I was mentally when I came in. I will be posting some fun individual stories throughout the next week or so but for now, the rest of this will be very photo heavy.

B8C14C43-33B4-49C4-B91C-3D572AC2356A.jpeg
@anomadsoul taking time to snap a pic with everyone who asked early on. This fella was an early supporter of mine and to have someone of his stature take notice when I was still the equivalent of swimming around in my daddy’s nutsack...that gave me to drive to continue on in the early rough days.

48D2F500-6DD6-44C6-9120-E67791BF8334.jpeg @escapist & @eveuncovered shitting all over my initial Steemit avatar choice. In fairness it was the equivalent of raccoon turd. It’s since been changed after enough badgering from these 2. We were in constant communication and I even took over the overbearing father role and had them text me each and every night when they got into their place. They are true gems...even if they are from the land of no Hugs.

4B8C05AB-3369-402F-B3E7-F315F6DC2A38.jpeg @steevc is another fine fella that I’ve had some discussions with over the past few months. We toasted to...well...uh...to YOU! That’s right human that is reading this right now. You should be honored. Cheers!

82A2575A-FDD8-49E4-AF32-3B78A2A3DCD8.jpeg
@tarazkp is even more impressive in person. He is thought provoking and makes me thirst for more knowledge whenever we were together. As for @eveuncovered ...not so much and made me actually wish I was deaf.

451A7F75-D064-4CE8-B526-A86E874508D2.jpeg
Another fine gentleman who I was too dumb to recognize from the start. The one, the only, @slobberchops who looks just like his old avatar...Opposite Day! We were smiling as we were so happy to find out we shopped at the same shoe store!!!

CE0341B1-7EDA-4BBE-8FEB-EED9F64FD119.jpeg
I absolutely loved meeting @jukatravels even though it looks like the subject from The Scream is about to give Juka a petting. Such a beautiful sweet soul that came bowling and everything!!! Come to think of it...we’re YOU the guilty party in my last post?!?

1A27BF99-F09A-42DE-8CA5-825AA245851A.jpeg

CFA99100-2EA4-4FDF-8578-2C6B93C9965E.jpeg One of my favs in @llfarms. Smart, beautiful, loves red wine, has a great eye for a good shot, and can dish it as well as take it. You are an absolute treasure and were far too kind to me. You also dressed like a Native American Lumberjack which is just the bees knees!

78B263BB-6DAD-44F7-8A26-739C3408D928.jpegChillin with some real mofo’s here. 2 sweet souls in @things & @sjennon who were not only kickass rockstars for all they did to help put this event together...but they also suck at bowling as well!!!

73AA836F-718B-4EA5-95EA-46703B2F6246.jpeg
This Guy...where do I even begin?!? @roelandp is the mastermind behind every smile we all shared, every new friend we made, and every delicious meal and beer we pounded together. This maniac hustles his ass off throughout the year researching and perfecting this amazing event for all of us and deserves every bit of praise and groveling thrown at him. He helped me personally with my accommodations and corresponded with me throughout my booking of this event. He was gracious enough to allow me to pop a comic in everyone’s goodie bags and always stopped to take the time to speak to me whenever I bothered him. It was never rushed. You kicked ass brother and helped create so much joy for so many. You were also super easy to spot everywhere as you were dressed like the Human Torch. FLAME ON!!! 🔥

01D98BDF-97C3-4801-89C4-38CD5D83590D.gif

CC4560BA-FC61-47A4-BED0-B0C534DF8FD6.jpegCan’t forget my boys @zlatan-spielberg & @abh12345. I had spoke a bunch with Asher in the past as I participate in his Engagement league which by the way, if you aren’t in...you are just a bad decision maker. Get with it already! Mr. Spielberg is one crazy bastard that was one of the responsible parties in getting me to do that insane shot on the first evening out. More on that later...Back to that jaw drop...This was Asher’s face after I completely botched the last shot in team pool losing us 5 Steem each. I was totally overconfident in the moment, and I paid the price with humility.

82A383A7-D4B9-4CDB-B7C5-BF2510390E5B.gif

24C24835-9614-43A1-8F09-9CD30AAF7706.jpeg
Ok fine...it was just bad planning on our surprised look pic. Notice how non compliant @zlatan-spielberg is in both pics. What a rebel!

6DDE54F6-8C23-42BB-99D3-42D7681549C6.jpegThis was a fun evening that ended with three of us here envious of the truly selfish actions of one. All we wanted was what any normal person wants when they are wondering the streets in a foreign land with their internet friends...bacon. Hot sizzling bacon...at 2 am. Well we found a random dirty street hut selling warm meats and @crimsonclad bogarted THE LAST PIECE OF BACON!!! She did feel kinda bad and did share a few tidbits and morsels with us commoners that practically salivated over her plate. In fairness, she was pretty damn awesome and made me laugh the whole night. She was quick witted and on her game and let me eat some of her meat!!! What more could I ask for?!? Wait...forget I said that. @derangedvisions and I had a ton of fun this week and I learned a massive amount from his new venture he’s involved with which is @dstors. If you have shit to sell, pop on there and make an account as we need apps like this to succeed for the betterment of the platform. @tarazkp took some truly stunning shots this night that he posted a couple of days back. I miss picking his brain and long for the next time we can NOT eat bacon together, due to the selfish and shitty actions of one. Stupid Canada...

63865B83-8213-4F27-8350-5FEAF16E4836.jpeg I had the pleasure of seeing @yidneth perform one of the evenings and boy did she put on a show! After she performed, I complimented her and asked for a photo to which she obliged. Fast forward a few hours and we met up outside of the bathroom and she took notice of my name tag. “Blewitt?” She said as she pointed at me. I replied with a “I think so!” She went on to explain that Roeland told her to seek me out and even showed me the text message. I was baffled as to why but after a few minutes of Detective work, we came to the conclusion that comic book stores connected us. She used to have one...I currently have one. Pretty badass and once again goes to show the trouble and lengths my man goes through to connect us all. We found out that we have tons in common and have been discussing art since we’ve been back. Gonna pick up one of her albums as well so I can nerd out to it at home.

THAT’S IT FOR THIS ROUND!!! There are going to be a few of these I’ll be posting over the coming days as I have a megaton of pictures so please stay tuned. Feel free to yank any of these that you want if you are in it...or even if ya aren’t. Creeper...

Thanks for looking!

Blewitt

FEEL FREE TO YANK WHATEVER PICS YOU WANT FOLKS!!!

Sort:  

Haha your welcome.. I think lol, nah it was great to meet you @blewitt and I told you from the start everything would be fine once you begin talking. Also I noticed the switch over for the more "business type looking" picture of yourself I thought as much there would be a story behind this change, also I am happy in the end you enjoyed @yidneth performance and thinking of getting her CD, the music is beautiful.

Yeah @eveuncovered and @escapist both within hours of meeting me, basically told me my pic was dumb and needed to be switched. I pretty much ignored them until the following day when like 3 other people told me that they had no idea that was me due to my pic and blah blah blah. Several times in front of the girls. Naturally they nodded in agreement and basically did the “I told ya so” glare. So I succumbed.

Yeah it’s just nerve wracking not really knowing anyone. Ya gotta remember Simon, I’m a stupid American. Lol

I’m totally going to snag one of her cd’s as well.

I dont think your picture was dumb it was funny, are eveuncovered and escapist right about people having no idea that was you due to your picture? YES definitely! the girls are right!.. But I find its really up to to YOU, the beauty of the blockchain is you can reveal how much you want about yourself, there are some people who have done great on Steemit without ever posting a single picture of themselves, regardless you picked a good snap @blewitt. Haha I will keep in mind your a stupid American but I have my doubts if you was that stupid you wouldn't be on Steemit, you wouldn't of made it to Steemfest3 in Krakow, nor would you have made many new friends there.

Thanks Simon! Yeah I totally get it. I popped the initial pic up when I first stated and wanted something dorky and nerdy as the time has gone on I’ve probavly “outgrown” that one here and it’s probably better for the time being to have a clear one. Eventually I’ll probably switch it again down the line.

But we told you so! It is hard work to be right all the time you know!

AC9E518A-EC66-400C-A0C2-83501BFED021.gif

Lol. Yes yes...I’ll give it to ya. You were right ONCE this trip. 😉

Once?! How dare you! Easy to whine when there is ocean between us😈

Um. How about this and you know I’m right about THIS...post more awesome food pieces. You are fantastic at it, and people want to see that. Get cracking! 😉

Yeah yeah. When I have time I will. Not like I have time to do that in work and studio apartment isn’t the best place for cooking...

So cranky...

Fine...a broken clock is right twice a day. I’ll give you bring right twice but that’s where I draw the line. Don’t be greedy.

You said moist and had dad jokes. Solid read!

Moist is a fantastic word that is underused.

Oh my god I love you 😂... native American lumberjack... that is exactly what I was going for!! Seriously.. I have no style and have never claimed to.. so 😜

No seriously though, you are one of the nicest and most hilarious people I have ever met in my life. You are still making me laugh across the ocean.. hopefully we get to see each other again soon because you are hands down one of my favorite treasures from SF 🤗

E5A2BECA-1265-432A-A3B8-446C8AEC8AEA.jpeg

My precious!!!

This is how I read and envisioned your last line. 😆

Same here my dear. Much love to you. Miss ya and love ya tons and I’m sure until we meet again, we will be popping up in each other’s feeds and circles often. Also I still owe ya a beat down on Comedy Open Mic. Jerk.

Oh my god what is that?!? 😂🤣😂 best photo of me in existence... adding to my new tinder profile.

Gollum from Lord of the Rings. You’ve never seen LOTR?!?!?

Lol @ tinder.

Of course I have.. but that face on there 😂😂😂

That was when I was like “let’s make stupid faces”. Lol. I thought it would be perfect. I’d swipe right. 😜

I was going to make a joke about what happens when she puts the ring on, but that'd be a bit too intrusive.

You are hilarious, dude, it was great to get know you!

Btw, I cannot get over how much @abh12345 looks like Jerry Banfield on that picture

Down-vote!

For me or for the one who took the picture?

You for the comparison to JB!

😭

haha :)

I forgive you, are you in Croatia yet or walking to Bangkok?

I forgive you, are you in Croatia yet or walking to Bangkok?

I`m couchsurfing at a Turkish pothead in Kosice, Slovakia.

Just seen the whatsapp, fun times!

Ouch!!!! You are gonna let him disrespect you like that?!?!? 😜

Great post man, thanks for the memories - except the one where you have the easiest shot ever on the black and follow it in with the white!

Can I steal a picture and source you? Cheers!

FFA6A5B6-C9F9-401B-A395-93903CE37465.jpeg

Dude. You aren’t kidding. Easiest shot EVER!!! I do not know what the hell I was thinking. I was such an overconfident cuck. I think I remember the face I was making too as I shot it. Just smug and more punchable than my usual normal face which rates highly punchable to begin with.

Yeah brother. Steal the pics you need. There will be more with you as well that I’ll be getting up in the next day or two when I have a bit of time. I’ll obviously tag you in em as well. I should probably post that people can yank what they want from these. I’ll edit later. Thx brother. Talk to ya later!

It was pretty easier but I guess the excitement of SteemFest got to you for a minute :P

Cheers for the photos!

I’ll be working on my game in preparation for next go around. It won’t help much I assume but I’m going to try.

Yeah I choked. The pressure of the 2 people watching us play cracked me. #notclutch

and for the record, y'all need to sack up and learn some Polish. Meat is for winners. 💪

The only thing that would have made the bacon better is if you fed me yourself. I’m stupid and American...I don’t need to learn another language.

hahaha, yet again another photo where I'm not just smiling happily like a normal human after meeting another lovely person I clicked with, but instead looking like a Poltergeist extra. I swear next year I'm going to be the most obnoxious selfie taker just so I can control the visual narrative. (in my defense if I took my hands off that bacon, it would have gone missing.)

Thank you for introducing yourself to me, shooting the shit, taking my meat like a champ (...) and drinking until all hours. Looking forward to the next time! I tend to do so much work in communities and behind the scenes that many people don't know me, and I try not to intrude, so I always appreciate when someone forces me into being a better human. emot-3.gif

D8B0C951-AAF8-4F02-89E1-34CC9BA5C230.png

Oh stop. Yoooooooou loooooooook liiiiiike a carnivore....
😜 J/K

I do have some lovely ones with you that I’ll be popping up shortly and you are always smoking hot!!!! Just Stop. 😉

holy shit I'm howling right now this is a thing that takes up my whole screen LMAO

screeches at 4k monitor

I’m super happy. I hope it frightened you a bit. 😉

How weird is this world where we didn't know each other before, ended up talking on the first night of Steemfest and then hanged out for the better part of the week togethers, truly awesome❤️

You and @Tarazkp were both such daddies, making sure we get home safe every night, so precious.

You were in luck after I started to loose my voice, didn't have to listen to me anymore. Women are best when they just shut up and look pretty! 😝

Lol. I’m just playing with ya my dear. Our convos were absolutely enlightening and I loved every second of them. Except when you guys were Hangry. You guys do not fuck around when you are Hangry. Lol

I’m so happy that we got to spend a ton of time together. We just met but it felt like we were friends for decades. We were open and honest and shared a ton. I’m super thankful that you guys were so inviting to me and I can’t wait to do it all again.

Lol @tarazkp and I being a pack of overprotective goodie two-shoes. I laughed when you told me he was doing the same. He’s such a Stand up dude.

I should just introduce you both to my parents so they could see that these trips I take are very safe when I have people like you there with me!

Well when I’m in Finland next...or for the first time...I’d be honored to let them know that we got your back. Also I need @escapist to cook for me. Like a lot.

Aww I’m realizing that I don’t think we got any pictures together! How silly of us... what were we thinking?! Hahah

Loved seeing all your photos/write ups in this post! ❤️

Oh my dear...that is where you are mistaken! I was finally able to steal ya away for a few seconds on Sunday at the last and final hurrah!

I will say that besides our initial introduction at Alchemia that one night when we all ate standing outside before heading in for drinks, we didn’t really get a chance to really get to know each other which totally blows. Let’s remedy that!!!

I’ll be tagging ya when I post our pic!!!
😉

Awww yay!!! I’m so glad we got a photo together after all! 😃 If for some reason I miss the tag - send me a link to the post in discord! @Coruscate#6642

Next time we see each other in person - we gotta carve out some time for a real conversation! 😊

Are you thinking of coming to Austin in April?

Will do. Just sent ya a friend request there.

I’m going to try to come out there. I hear it’s an awesome city and it sounds like it would be a great get together. You definitely going?

I’m 100% going. 😎 Austin is suuuch a fun city. Tons of live music and good vibes.

Nice. I’m like 99%. Need to figure out a few things but should be golden. Want to find out a bit more about these. You did Toronto?

This post contained some typos in its mentions that have been corrected in less than a day. Thank you for your quick edit !

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

I sure did robot. Thx for your assistance! Fixed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85