Quest to Steemfest - Finding A Reasonably Priced Airline Ticket

in #steemfest8 years ago (edited)

Unless You Love Bargain Hunting, Finding The Best Airfare Deal Is A Daunting Task

Untitled-24ad14.jpg

While searching the many possible cheapest roundtrip airfare rates from Buffalo, NY to Amsterdam, I stubled upon an article that may save me hundreds of dollars on airfaire. I guessed the trip would likely cost in the $900-$1,200 range just for flying, but using the "Thrifty Nomads" guide Click Here to view I found a flight for much less money.

for those interested in seeing all the tips in one place, I will do my best to briefly summarize the post

  1. Search in Private browsing or incognito mode. Some airlines will boost prices if you continually search for the same flight in multiple flight search engines. (I had no idea this happened, but it is smart marketing even if misleading)
  2. Use the best flight search engines - Skyscanneris the most highly recommended search and is the one I chose
  3. Identify the cheapest day to fly out - THis can be done with skyscanner with instructions in the original article, but I found the savings to be minimal in my case.
  4. Befriend budget airlines - The thrifty nomads recommend checking some airlines that offer no frills airfare, but the traveler needs to read the fine print so as not to be hit with fees - Again, not as vital in my case.
  5. Book long-haul flights yourself for less - This may be helpful to those who are great at planning their own trips instead of letting the airline pick out the connecting flights.
  6. Find the cheapest place to fly - Kayak Explore -
    Kayak Explore is a fun little tool to get the wanderlust going and save some big bucks. Hop on their site and enter your departure city, then select a month or season to fly. Approximate costs then appear over hundreds of countries around the globe from your departure point, allowing you to see the most cost-effective place you can fly. This tool can also be hugely handy to find out how you can cover the most distance for the lowest cost, even if you have a set destination. For example, maybe you want to go to Berlin, Germany from NYC but flying straight there is pricey. There are heaps of budget airlines in Europe, Ryanair being the most popular, so once you’re in Europe you can fly around pretty cheap. What you need to find out next then is what’s the cheapest European country to fly into first, which is where this site comes in handy.
  7. Use a travel agent - They suggest researching the best price you can find and looking for further deals through a travel agent if necessary.
  8. If you know when and where you’re going, don’t wait to book - Most people know this already, but usually the earlier, the better.

There a few other suggestions, but I feel those were the most likely to give big discounts for those traveling longer distances.

Image77dec96.jpg

I found by selecting nearby airports I can save a bit of money and fly out of Canada. Hopefully others in the Northeastern part of the US can see this and it may allow them to fly, when tickets from elsewhere can be closer to $1,000

ss5184e.jpg

Image759fed4.jpg

This would be my first time out of the country alone, so any other savvy travelers with money saving tips who would like to weigh in would be greatly appreciated.


Credit @beanz for commenting with another great tip!

I never choose return when checking prices. Whenever I choose a return flight I often find either the flight going over or the one coming back is twice the cost of the other, and with another airline it could be completely the other way around.

For example in Ireland there are 2 airlines we fly with, Ryanair and aer lingus. When I choose a flight going out of Ireland either one could be cheaper (usually Ryanair). And when I search for one way tickets coming back home it often turns out that the other airline is cheaper. For this reason I always check the price for one way because return will put you on the same airline both ways which often works out more expensive.

Credit @knozaki2015 for this tip! if you are in north america check miami-oslo or copenhagen with SAS. they were offering flights oneway for 98 Euro!



Sort:  

I think you are on the right path with skyscanner. They compare all flights. You could always try https://flights.google.com to see what they come up with.

Great post! Hope you can make it!

I'm planning on it. :) Have to make sure I can financially, but things look good so far with all the support I have received.

Great advice!! I always use Skyscanner first just to compare prices.

Also an additional tip you might find useful (feel free to add it if you agree):
I never choose return when checking prices. Whenever I choose a return flight I often find either the flight going over or the one coming back is twice the cost of the other, and with another airline it could be completely the other way around.

For example in Ireland there are 2 airlines we fly with, Ryanair and aer lingus. When I choose a flight going out of Ireland either one could be cheaper (usually Ryanair). And when I search for one way tickets coming back home it often turns out that the other airline is cheaper. For this reason I always check the price for one way because return will put you on the same airline both ways which often works out more expensive.

I got lucky this time around as Aer lingus has a sale going on right now so I'm flying with them both ways for once. (Their staff are better trained so you get much better customer service)

These are the type of comments I love that seem to be less frequent and should be highly rewarded. Maybe some sort of curie project for comments should be considered at some point to reward the best comments and encourage thought provoking and engaging/informational comments and responses.

I totally agree!
Though the real solution would be to make a change to the voting system so that there is actually incentive to voting comments.
The sad thing is that because there is no selfish incentive for voting comments people just don't do it because they want to make MONEY.
While it is awesome that Steemit pays $$ for using social media it sucks how drastically money changes peoples actions.
Thankfully we are just still in beta and there is lots of room for improvement!
Thanks for all you contribute to this community~*~

Thank you! I do my best to make thoughtful comments whether or not they receive votes. I enjoy helping people and in life you often help people without rewards. Sometimes you might help people move and in return get pizza or something like that, but the motivation to help is not the pizza, but a desire to use your abilities to make some else's life better.

In a world where people far too often care about themselves first, I find people who look outward to be the most valuable. I vote on comments regardless of whether I get curation rewards from it.

And that's not to say I'm not a selfish person. I try not to be, but it is difficult with almost all advertisements showing us the next best thing we need that we will be unhappy without.

Sometimes it's just nice to give and accept and expect nothing in return.

Oh Yes~
I know all about that. I run the organization with the lowest carbon footprint in the country and feed 40,000+ free meals a year.
I have lived for 15 years without spending more than a few hundred dollars a year. All my time goes to building a better world.
Best Regards Brother~*~

That's awesome! I have visited quite a few great organizations in Africa (Amazima.org being one of them) and they ask that you give your email instead of sending you a receipt, because the cost of a stamp can buy a few meals for children and adults there.

It's good to see that in the midst of major charities that have more than one major money scandals, there are still those that dedicate each dime to helping others selflessly, with an out ward focus instead of an inner, my needs first attitude.

Yes its amazing how much money and resources are wasted in western countries. Whats even more amazing is with all the excess and waste there are literally BILLIONS of people living on less than a dollar a day...
This is all orchestrated obviously and won't change until people start spending money differently. I could write a whole book just on this but will leave it there.
Best Regards~*~

I am also going with Aer lingus , great airline and great prices I'm out of Boston.

if you are in north america check miami-oslo or copenhagen with SAS. they were offering flights oneway for 98 Euro !

added your comment to the post for those who do not scroll through the comments :)

Good luck & have fun! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99