All hugged out from steemfest and before it's even over there's talk of steemfest2

in #steemfest8 years ago (edited)

Update: thank you so much @logic for finding this photo for me! I was having way too much fun to take any pictures of my own!

Very quickly before I get into my thoughts on a steemfest sequel here's how the weekend went for me.

The first steemian I met was @guerrint on my flight from Dublin which was really wonderful as I had been getting to know her a little on steemit.chat and discord and I was so excited to meet her. I met so many wonderful people this weekend that it became honestly overwhelming. Like usernames were turning into real people right in front of my eyes. With the bonus 1900 SP I'm now a dolphin!!

This weekend has been really inspiring and motivational. I'm more confident than ever in the future of steem. I don't know where it will take us in the future, but if it can take us far away from the currently corrupt systems of politics and banking then that's something to be really excited about.

By the end of the festival people were already talking about steemfest 2. @roelandp did an incredible job with this years festival, so good that it's going to be hard to live up to. Here are my thoughts on where and when it should be.

Firstly we were in a tourist haven at a less touristy time of year. Despite the cold weather there were still tourists asking what the festival is about. This is what we should aim to achieve. Bring steemit outsiders in!

Amsterdam was a great choice to have the festival. Tourists are always on the lookout for fun festivals or events they can attend as part of their holiday. November however is not the best time of year to pull as many tourists attention as possible.

The attendees of the festival came from all over the world. People flew for days to get to Amsterdam. I flew 2 hours. It's clear from the number of people who flew across the world that people are invested (financially and emotionally) in the platform, the concept and in the community.

While I would love to some day see an Asian steemfest maybe in Thailand or Hong Kong, I strongly believe the next festival should be either in Canada or America. Places that I think would be great for the next one include Brazil, Vancouver, San Francisco or Las Vegas. Maybe we could do a run-off poll on where we have the next one, nominating only cities where we might have a team of event managers like @roelandp to help pull it together. The payouts from that poll should be put towards funding steemfest 2.

I'm not sure I can wait another year! July seems appropriate to celebrate that first ever payout when everything became real! And it would be great if we could have some brainstorming on what we should do differently with the next festival in order to make it more inclusive for the steemit outsiders.

Don't forget the bounty for that photo of me with ned! 5 steem dollars to whoever finds it for me!

Sort:  

Lets spill the beanz!

How about 2 of them?! ;-)

@guerrint @wingz @beanz @ned @rea

Second one is a bit blurry and keeps uploading rotated but still looks very cool. Must be because it was taken after our round of vodka shots! :-P

And pleas keep the Steem dollars guys! If you send me any, I will transfer back! (-:

Oh thank you so much logic!! You are awesome, I wish I spent more time chatting with you at the festival you're just brilliant!!

He's either really tall or you're really small @beanz. LOL

Well I'm pretty short but I'm also in a small heel there so it's a bit of both really. But he's pretty damn tall and such a gentleman

You are welcome ;-) You are a super cool lady 😁

thanks beanz for the suggestions and analysing... I think next one will most probs be in (northern) America's ... :) :)

I nominate Orlando, FL! We've got Disney World, beaches and golf. Just sayin... :)

I actually have family there and they're on steemit but could never log in with the password. That would be a great place to do it the question is who wants to fill the big boots! Roeland really pulled out all the stops to the very last detail with this. It was superb. I also want to thank all the whales who funded the event. It was worth the money I promise!! All the presentations and initiatives really motivated everybody that attended and people really do believe and want to help make this experiment a success.

Hey Beanz, I love the bounty idea! I'll double it! +5 Steem Dollars. We need to find you that photo!

Wow thank you @exyle, can I put that in the post?

You can of course. Just let me know on here who won the bounty and I'll transfer it to him/her. I hope you find the photo.

Yay!! @logic found it!

that's awesome I just send him the bounty. well deserved!

I would like to see the next SteemFest have an open day or something to get random people into Steemit. Perhaps a small fee like $10 with drinks paid for, a few hours long with optional presentations.

I also think it should be only once a year for now, I'm not sure the Steem ecosystem can burden the cost yet for more than once annually. I'd also be worried about burnout if done more frequently.

it think it was with Oh wen´s, phone and I was taking it? Or maybe not? I don´t remember if it was ned´s on the picture, I do remember taking a picture of you guys with her phone because I remember the flash didn´t work and she asked Tara if she knew how to activate it. "That´s not my phone how am I going to know"

You are an spectacular irish woman Tríona :)

@gargon I don't think I got to say goodbye to you 😢 Make sure to come chat with us in the Steem Pub on discord

It was really nice meeting you! And hanging out with the "Steemit Bar Official Delegation"! ;-D

It was really cool meeting you too! I can't believe the weekend is over lol

Great meeting you @beanz!

It was nice to meet you!

It was lovely to meet you too! I can't believe it's all over. It's back to reality now. I have work in the morning and have much needed sleep to catch up on.

Great meeting you at the fest, @beanz. Was so glad to see the person I was so familiar with thus far only through an on-screen username in the chatroom. Was really a pleasure but I'm sure we'll all catch up on a future meet. :)

Yes! Keep me up to date on any London meet ups and I'll try to be there

it was greating meeting you. happy you find your photos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60500.53
ETH 2341.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53