Why should @Luzcypher win @quinneaker´s ticket giveaway to attend SteemFest2!?

in #steemfest7 years ago (edited)

Uncle Luzcy. That´s how I call him.


To be honest I never asked if me calling him like that bothers him or if he is fine with it. But for me that´s who he is.

He is the cool uncle with which you can have a few beers and have a conversation about everything and anything, you will always have a good time and enjoy a few laughs together. If you have a problem he´ll give you the best advice he can and, along the way, a quick analysis of the situation so you can asses it correctly.


But how did I get to meet this user who is one of the most active in the platform and engages with hundreds of steemians weekly?



First of all, I made this post to support my friend @luzcypher on his search for an entry ticket for SteemFest2.

You guessed correctly, he is not my real uncle, but I do know him personally and I am going to tell you that story.

I am not going to be thorough on his role in the community because he said it in his own post, I am here to tell you why he deserves to win @quinneaker´s ticket giveaway contest in a personal level because, who´s better to tell how he is in person than someone who spent about 2 months with him in a hostel, seeing him everyday and speaking with him on a daily basis?

Back in February, when BTC was hitting the 1,200 USD level, I was living in Playa del Carmen, México and volunteering in a hostel. A nice small hostel with beautiful people from all over the world. And one of them was Luzcypher - I´m not mentioning his ame in case he wants it to be anonymous -, this full of energy man who was always speaking of bitcoin and this weird platform where you could make money out of it by blogging.

I will always remember his laughs when he was telling me Dude, I just made 40 bucks in one post and 10 more by trading minor cryptocurrencies!! and I still remember my reaction: *Get out of here, that can´t be done!

His way of explaining it to anyone who listened was very simple: It is as if reddit had a child with facebook and the kid turned out to be a genius.

At one point I was reluctant to believe him and to believe in Steemit, life has taught me that when something sounds to good to be true, it probably isn´t.

But he was determined to convince me to join. He told me Hey Eric, how about we sit down for one hour and I explain everything to you, how it works, why it works, how is it blockchained supported etc. Well, to be honest I had spare time - volunteering in a hostel is very chill and you pretty much have the time in the world. I didn´t have a clue about bitcoin except that people were earning money by doing some wizardy in the interwebz so I said let´s do this.


And I never came back. I started to post everyday since that day, it was late April when I opened my account.


Meanwhile, everytime I saw him while I was working at the hostel´s bar, he was speaking to someone new and convincing that Steemian-to-be to join us in this little internet town. I have never seen such energy and eagerness to spread the word about steemit and to get people to join the platform. He has the patience, the people skills, the knowledge and most importantly, the love to the platform you need to make people become a part of Steemit.

When my posts are not making the rewards I hope for, I always remember his mantra about the 80-20 rule: In synthesis, it talks about how 20% of your posts will earn you 80% of your total Steemit rewards, that is why I post on an almost daily basis. He taught me that, and I´m sure he teaches that to everyone he´s able to.

Here we are in the hostel, I took the picture and you can see @luzcypher in the back, with his computer enjoying the good life onf the Caribbean, I guess he was preparing a post about OpenMic because after that, he joined us in the pool and was as happy as always.

So far that I know of, he has introduced to the community the following users (and myself, obviously): @camilomarin, @dcomposing, @mithrilweed, @lizanomadsoul, @anomadsoul, @anamena92, @maxy-hopkins,@solasailor, and he indirectly - because one of us took his example and invited more people to join Steemit - helped making this users join us: @ahauvsart, @networkerdigitale and @beccaroskill.

I can´t say he is the user who´s invited more people to join Steemit but he does not invite random people in Facebook by making a viral post, he engages personally and on a deeper level, hence creating from scratch users like me or @lizanomadsoul - to put two examples - who are fully committed to the healthy growth of the community and made Steemit our second house.

He even organizes Meet-ups with people around Playa del Carmen and most of them are users he invited to join Steemit!!

@quinneaker I just have this to add... You want more people like @luzcypher on Steemit. You want more users like him, getting involved with the community and encouraging wuality posting on a daily basis. You want someone like him on SteemFest2 because, if more people were like @luzcypher, we would already be on the next level, the level where everyone on Steemit considers the platform their second home.


I wish the best of luck to all the entries for the contest.


Disclaimer: @luzcypher didn´t ask me to write this post nor he is aware of what I am writing here. I am just taking the time to write a support post about someone who only cares about supporting undervalued content from minnows on this platform and to encourage them to keep posting quality content - or music :D -. If you want to do your part in supporting his entry, take a look at his post and if you like his entry, perhaps write a comment on @quinneaker´s post about his giveaway to show your support to Steemit´s best cool uncle ever, @luzcypher.

Disclaimer 2: This is not an entry to participate in @quinneaker´s ticket giveaway.

Disclaimer 3: As I am also trying to fund my SteemFest2 plane ticket but the post is about @luzcypher and I will be making a profit with this post, it is only fair to split the liquid rewards of this post with him, so I will transfer half of the post rewards with him.

The last picture is not mine, is from his blog but i guess it is ok to use it :)

Sort:  

Good poste!!

Dude, Uncle Luz here giving you a big hug and a high five for your kind words.

I'm thrilled you took to Steemit so well and are still active. I knew you would like it. Brush up on your Portugese @anomadsoul because I'll be seeing you at SteemFest2! Woo Hoo! Upvoted and Resteemed!

That´s the least I could do for all the support you´ve given my!

See you there my friend! I am really glad things are turning out the way they are :)
By the way, I will be flying on the 24th from Cancun to Brusels (cheapest ticket, 180 euros, if you want I can give you the link) so I might drop by in playa around the 22 to say hi!

Yes, please give me that link. PM me

Upvoted and resteemed for you @luzcypher. Uncle Luzcy! Love it 😂

Yess!!! So glad you liked the nickname, suits him right?

That's why I dedicate my song this week to Uncle Luz. There are people who take affection even without knowing them.!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54